We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the Valley”
Review of Slumber Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Slumber Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Minas
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Slumber Inn in New Minas. The rooms are a great size, very clean and equiped with all that one needs. The Slumber Inn is well located with easy access to the New Minas and Kentville area. The staff are very friendly and do a great job! The beds are more than comfortable for a great nights sleep.The complimentary continental breakfast gives me the start I need for my day. I definately recommend the Slumber Inn!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelAP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear MichaelAP:

Thanks for your comments! So glad you had a great sleep and you found our beds comfortable. We pride ourselves on the quality of the box spring and mattress sets we put in our guest rooms. They are all from Simmons Canada which have a very good reputation for their quality products. We strive very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness in our property. Where Limited Service Hotels do not have optional features such as swimming pools, dining rooms, games area, etc.; it is very important that we try to deliver the best possible accommodation product we can! We hope that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

I recently stayed at the Slumber Inn, New Minas. It doesn’t have all the amenities of a full service hotel but they are very very clean and their beds are so comfortable! The housekeeping staff are wonderful and do a fantastic job! We forgot to bring a corkscrew and the housekeeper overheard our conversation and said she could get one for us. She left and was back instantly with a corkscrew and wine glasses! If you are looking for a friendly, super clean place to stay, I highly recommend the Slumber Inn!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments! We try very hard to think of the little things that are important to our guests such as having a corkscrew on hand when needed. Since we are a Limited Service hotel, the attention to detail is very important! We hope that you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My work takes me on the road three weeks of each month, finding decent lodging in rural NS can be challenging.. the Slumber Inn in New Minas is my stop of choice.. the rooms are well appointed, comfortable, clean and quiet.. but more importantly.. the staff is what makes my stay the most enjoyable. I am always greeted with a smile, treated like a king, and always look forward to staying there. When I arrive, they say "your room is ready" which is no joke.. they've dubbed one room as "My room" so it kinda feels like I'm home.. and I appreciate that.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I am a frequent guest at Slumber Inn, New Minas, NS and highly recommend this property! The central location, great rates, and friendly staff keep me coming back. The size of the room is perfect and I always get a great nights rest (I have been told they have all new Simmons Beautyrest sets). The rooms are very clean and well appointed. They have all the modern amenities: mini fridge, microwave, hairdryer, coffee maker and excellent wireless internet service at no charge. The complimentary continental breakfast gives me the start I need to my day. A home away from home is what I can count on at Slumber Inn New Minas. Thank You!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

A typical wayside hotel. Nothing much wrong with it for this style of hotel, but nothing special either. Don't bother with their free breakfast go next door for a real breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for a rooms as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank welshtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Guest:

The Slumber Inn - New Minas is classified as a Limited Service Hotel which means that we do not offer the services or amenities of a full service property. The Slumber Inn does not have a kitchen so a full breakfast is not possible but we do hope that our guests will be able to make a nice selection for breakfast from the variety we offer: muffins, danish, toast & presesrves, bagels & cream cheese, hot and cold cereals, banannas, juice, coffee or team. But if a light breakfast is not preferred, we can recommend two outstanding hot breakfast choices: Smitty's which is within walking distance or CORA's which is a 5 min. drive from the hotel. Thank you for choosing the Slumber Inn and we hope to be of service again, should your travels bring you to the Annapolis Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I recently stayed at the Slumber Inn – New Minas! I just want to say how great the rooms were. The rooms are spotless….very clean! The beds are especially comfortable! Their rooms have a microwave and fridge which meant that I did not have to eat out every night! They offer a great continental breakfast which is included in the rate. The service was second to none! The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to make my stay enjoyable! I will definitely return to the Slumber Inn when business takes me back to the Annapolis Valley!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Melisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Looked like the beds were plucked from a dorm room, they were so small. We had a room on the second floor. When i picked up my bag to leave it was covered with ants. When I mentioned this to the desk clerk, his response was, I guess we will have to get the exterminator back again. He did not even offer a discount. This will be my last stay at the New Minas Slumber Inn

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEI_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annieweedo, Manager at Slumber Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Dear Guest: Thank you for your comments! First let me say that we are very aware of our "ant" problem. We contract the services of Braemar Pest Control who start with a spray program in late March and continue until October. We couple this with our own efforts. We have posted a letter at the front desk for all the public to see and we have included a letter about the situation in our guest rooms. We are genuinely concerned and are doing everything possible to keep the issue under control and to make our valued guests aware.. One must rememeber that our hotel is situated in the heart of agricultural country. The soil, in itself is the big attraction especially when fertilized. With respect to the small beds, all our rooms with two beds are twin or single beds. Unfortunately, our rooms are not large enough to handle two double beds. Customer demand since the first day we opened in 1989 has dictated we have some room inventory available with two beds. Unfortunately we are not able to change the physical structure of the building. Rest assured our twin beds are all top quality beautyrest box spring and pillow top mattress sets from Simmons Canada. Last but certainly not least, if one were to check the prices of other limited service properties in Nova Scotia: Yarmouth, Bridgewater, Antigonish, Sydney, the results would be that the Slumber Inn - New Minas room rates are very similar to its competitors. Thank you for taking the time to comment as customer feedback is a critical step to improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Minas
3.4 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
337 reviews
23.5 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingston
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Super 8 Windsor NS
Super 8 Windsor NS
#1 of 2 in Windsor
343 reviews
9.2 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
163 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slumber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slumber Inn

Address: 5534 Prospect Rd, New Minas, Kentville, Nova Scotia B4N 3K8, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Kentville > New Minas
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in New Minas
Price Range: $93 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Slumber Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slumber Inn situated in New Minas, Nova Scotia, has the perfect, affordable hotel room for you and your family. Slumber Inn offers you a warm, inviting atmosphere, where you'll feel welcome the moment you arrive. You'll love the relaxing feel and our friendly personal service during your next family getaway, weekend escape or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Slumber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slumber Hotel New Minas
Slumber Inn New Minas, Nova Scotia - Kentville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing