We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food everytime”
Review of Irving Big Stop

Irving Big Stop
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in New Minas
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
346 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best food everytime”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We love coming here and by the line-ups ,so does everyone else.
Homemade dishes with huge portions. LOVE the Liver and onions!!!!!
They say truckers know where to eat...this place is no exception!
Save room for dessert...another amazing experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    36
    19
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lack of service in Restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I arrived at 2:50 pm (not during the lunch rush). We were advised to sit anywhere. Five waiting staff on the floor. We took a booth and waited a full 20 minutes and were not even acknowledged. The waitresses walk passed us several times. Other customers who arrived were greeted by the waitresses by name and given water and menus.

We have been to that location many times in the past, and it seems the service is continually getting worse.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best lobster roll ever!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were on the search for the best lobster roll and after a few disappointments received a tip to head here. Wow. I ate this lobster roll as slowly as possible because it was so good I didn't want the experience to end. Lobster roll nirvana!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a Truckstop”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

You need to gas up, fill up and move on? The Irving Big Stop is a great place for the local yokels who want economy, carbs and caffeine, in that order. Fill up your tank and your cooler, and get on going!

Helpful?
1 Thank SRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always good food!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Reliable for excellent food, value and service!~ Irving Big Stops continue to provide travelers excellent excellent value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irving Big Stop also viewed

 
Coldbrook, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Coldbrook, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Irving Big Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing