We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & great service”

McGill's Cafe and Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
McGill's Cafe and Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in New Minas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: International, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
653 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Food is tasty but portions are small. They do a nice take on traditional items. McGill's has a daily quiche. Service was excellent.

Restaurant is small, but nicely decorated.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tshep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share for thoughts with others with regards to your experience at McGill's.

We are always very happy to hear that our customers enjoyed their experience with us, as well we promote their feedback, with that said not often do we have reports of putting out small plates. We pride ourselves in using the freshest and finest of ingredients offering a reasonable portion for a reasonable price.

Hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    30
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Food in the area!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for the first time visiting the area from California. It was recommended by the owners of the Bed and Breakfast we were staying at in Centerville. We had excellent food and service. It was so good we came back again for another meal. The seafood chowder was really good as was the turkey chili. We loved the onion rings and they had some very nice wines. It is definitely one of the better dining experiences in the area. They are only open for dinner Thurs,Fri and Saturday. Lunch and breakfast daily.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onthegoallthetime57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time after your holiday to share your memories with others.

If you travel back to Nova Scotia please stop by!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canning, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunch Experience and Excited about the Cooking Class!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a most enjoyable birthday lunch with a friend - the ambiance was perfect, the service was fast and friendly and the luncheon chowder was the best I have ever tasted. A good part of our lunch was raving about the food (which we just had to share to prove how good it was). The restaurant is extremely clean and tastefully decorated. It is truly "the place to go" for a delightful lunch. I am looking forward to going back for dinner (of which I have heard great reviews by people in this area).

I have learned that culinary classes are available. I have already contacted them to organize one with friends. A class taught by a chef with this caliber of cooking is one not to miss.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NSValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with regards to your experience at McGill's, Hope you plan to spend your Birthday with us again this year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Have been to McGill's 3 times now over the last year and every time they severed a great meal
Service is friendly and professional, meal seems to always be very good.
We will keep coming back and suggesting to our friends what a great place to eat it is

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your continued support!!! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good choice!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We live in the Valley and like to dine locally. Although McGill's was in an unlikely location, the restaurant was warm and inviting, the staff were exceptionally friendly, and the food was fresh and good tasting.

I ordered the tourtiere, and was told, quite apologetically that the last piece had just been sold. I had schnitzel instead, which was fine, but somewhat "ordinary". In hindsight, It was "Mexican Night", and I should have ordered from that menu. The potato and leek soup was very flavourful, and my companion's onion rings were hot, fresh, and not the slightest bit greasy.

Dessert from the Mexican menu was VERY good.

More choices in the mid-price category would have been nice.

Wine list and drink prices were great. Overall value was great. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert S, General Manager at McGill's Cafe and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at McGill's.
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGill's Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

New Minas, Kentville
 
 

Been to McGill's Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing