We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best fish and chip meal in central ontario”

Captain's Corner Fish & Chips
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Meaford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Victoria Harbour, Canada
1 review
“best fish and chip meal in central ontario”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

the potato smockey bacon soup starter or any of the soups/salads is hearty and tasty (a friend who dosen't eat cream soups now insists on it) the fish halibut, haddock or fish of the day is lightly breaded and not over cooked. the desserts are off the chart (i'm type 2) but i love fruit pies. you have a choice of sides and i prefer mashed potatoes. there is a complete menu of foods other than fish and chips, tho in honesty never been that route, i go for the fish. the owner is a great gal and service is friendly and attentive the portions are great (i got half my buddies girlfriends portion of halibut) me and my friends have been coming back for a couple of years and all roads lead too Meaford

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 345boomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carey S, Owner at Captain's Corner Fish & Chips, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hey we love having you guys ride in! Awesome bunch of guys and gals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average food, Poor service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

As I have lived in Nova Scotia I think my fish rating-o-meter is out of whack. You obviously can't compare the fish there to here....but you should at least try. The fish is undercooked and the portions for the price are small. Nice fresh cut fries - though one day I can in to get fries to go for one and it was over $5!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyturtle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funtimesmommy, Owner at Captain's Corner Fish & Chips, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience. That is not typical of our establishment. Weactually do have many people who compare our fish to out east as good as or even better. Feel free to contact us to further discuss the matter. ccfishandchips@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“YOU SHOULD TRY THIS ONE!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

A group of 4 of us enjoyed lunch at CAPTAINS CORNER FISH & CHIPS in Meaford today. If you're passing through, you should give this a try. At our table we ordered Seaford Chowder, Carrot Soup, and two Fish and Chips. We were all very pleased with the meals. Chowder and soup were, obviously, home made. French fries (chips) were, obviously, freshly cut and cooked in fresh oil. Next opportunity we have, we're going to try this place again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kytrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funtimesmommy, Owner at Captain's Corner Fish & Chips, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for stopping in. We are so happy you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Food portion more than enough, fries to die for everything hot and fresh. Wish I had room for deserts. Very clean and waitress the best. Cooked to prefection

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funtimesmommy, Owner at Captain's Corner Fish & Chips, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed and stopped in! We hope to see you agsin...maybe for dessert next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fly in salad”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Last week we visited captains corner with our neighbors. My wife ordered salad with her grilled halibut. She discovered a small fly in her salad and therefore would not eat it. When the owner came to clear our plates away she noticed the salad not eaten. My wife told her at that time that there was a fly in it. That is why it was not eaten. The owners reply was sorry about the fly. The salad is washed twice. There was no offer for something in place of the salad or reduction in price. When I paid the bill she stated again sorry about the fly.

We have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past. After this incident we will be giving second thoughts before returning again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Colonel_Larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funtimesmommy, Owner at Captain's Corner Fish & Chips, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear sir,

As stated during your visit with us we again apologize regarding the salad. Our lettuce as is all our vegetable prep is very thoroughly washed and cut fresh daily. We also spoke to our produce supplier regarding the lettuce to ensure that there are no further issues. Perhaps you did not notice on your cheque as ours are hand written but there was a credit on the bill that brought your wife's entree to 1/2 price. If you did notice and still were unhappy with the remedy please in future speak to whomever is serving you regardless of if it is the owner or another employee. We can better resolve any issue if we are aware that you are not satisfied. We do hope that you will return and if you speak to the owner upon your return we will be happy to further remedy the situation to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Corner Fish & Chips also viewed

Meaford, Grey County
Meaford, Grey County
 

Been to Captain's Corner Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing