We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver Anniversary Treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westover Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Westover Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 St. Marys B&B and Inns
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Silver Anniversary Treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only had 2 nights to get away and the Westover Inn was perfect! The staff was very helpful, the grounds are romantic, (and slightly mysterious). What was that old abandoned house used for and what does the old chapel look like inside? Why isn't it used anymore? The breakfast both days was very nice! Dinner was lovely! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Like a breath of calm, cleansing air (despite being just down the road from St. Mary's Cement), this inn is the ideal setting for actors (Christopher Plummer is no stranger) and critics (myself) alike.
While not soundproof, the rooms are beautifully appointed. The deceptively "soft" mattresses provide just enough support to ensure deep, restful sleep.
Of the two breakfasts I had (both served up with the customary attentiveness of all the staff), the western omelet took the gold while the "Westover" (the pork seemed a tad greasier than I would have otherwise expected) was a solid silver.
When peace and quiet to contemplate some of Canada's finest theatrical productions is wanted, it's hard to imagine a better location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S. James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were two couples coming for theater in Stratford, and had rooms #1 and #5 in the main house. Both rooms were large, comfortable and well-appointed with delightful linens, fluffy towels, and nice soaps and shampoos. Everything was just right. Breakfast is good, dinner, however is another matter. See separate restaurant review.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vpoleshuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our recent visit to see the theatre in Stratford. We could not find a room in Stratford, so we stayed at the Westover. We were very pleasantly surprised with the Westover. The grounds are beautiful and fairly well maintained. Our room was in the Terrace building and on the backside of the building. The rooms are on the small side, but adequate. Bathrooms were functional and clean. The bathroom had a window which was nice to be able to let fresh air in. The locks for the rooms are keys, and not key cards. The rooms felt very private since the area behind the building is wooded. We had breakfast at the Inn one morning and it was wonderful. Very good service, quick coffee refills, and great food. It is a short drive to Stratford so it worked out well for us. The Inn is in a residential neighborhood, so it is very quiet at night. I would recommend the Westover Inn as a good place to stay that is close to Stratford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed many times in the Westover Inn. It has small but very clean rooms and the staff is wonderful. The food is great and the outdoor pool is nice to relax in after a long day at the office. Keep up the good work. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here while we were in town on business and were thrilled with our stay. We didn't have high expectations, but our room (in the cottage) was very comfortable. We travelled with our two year old and the staff were extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we need. Beds were very comfortable and while the comforter couldnt be classified as brand new, it was certainly not shabby or threadbare as some of the complaints mentioned. The rooms were incredibly quiet, so we had a wonderful sleep. Location was beautiful we were able to go on some walks by the river. We will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whereinthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a wonderful weekend away with my mom and sister. We visited the Stratford/St. Mary/Bayfield area. Our weekend provided us the opportunity for our Mom time with us her daughters. My Mom is a spry 81 and she was excited and enjoyed every bit of the weekend away. It was her little summer vacation. Our country drive to St. Mary’s Ontario was enjoyable. We stayed at the Westover Inn (http://www.westoverinn.com/). Our stay at the Westover Inn was outstanding. A great and central location, wonderful and comfortable rooms, great service, friendly and accommodating staff, scrumptious breakfasts and gourmet dinners. My mother has some dietary restrictions, and accommodated her without issue. The chef/cooks went our of their way for her. It was my mother and sister's 1st time at the Westover Inn and they loved it. I have been there many times and always return because it always provides us with a consistent stay, rest and well deserved pampering. From the Westover, we ventured through Perth/Huron country to Bayfield Village (http://www.villageofbayfield.com/) and then to Grand Bend on a lovely sunny Sunday. Once again our evening dinner at the Westover Inn was scrumptious, tasty, and outstanding. We went for a walk on the grounds after dinner to help our digestion. The food was that good! The next morning we had our last Westover breakfast – good ole fashion oatmeal. We stopped by the local shop – The Hitching Post and bought some to take home. Their oatmeal is tasty, well priced, natural and hearty. It was a great mini vacation weekend with my sister and mother. Westover Inn was the place to stay and enjoy.Yahoo!

Room Tip: Have never been disappointed with any of the rooms at the Westover Inn. We enjoy the rooms in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntMGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
20.0 mi away
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Parlour Inn
The Parlour Inn
#2 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Arden Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Mercer Hall Inn
Mercer Hall Inn
#8 of 18 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stone Willow Inn
Stone Willow Inn
#6 of 6 in St. Marys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blanshard Bed and Breakfast
Blanshard Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 6 in St. Marys
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westover Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westover Inn

Property: Westover Inn
Address: 300 Thomas Street, St. Marys, Ontario N4X 1B1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Marys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westover Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Westover Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westover Hotel St. Marys
Westover Inn St. Marys, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing