We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy + Relaxing + High Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy + Relaxing + High Quality”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Although I've been there before, I'm still amazed with the attention to details. It is a B & B that offers everything from ample parking at your arrival. A continuous comfort with spacious grounds, relaxing hot tub, an incredibly inviting back yard, lots of areas to work, play, visit or relax, homey and elegant rooms. Rob and Laurel are dedicated to accommodating their quests. Their hospitality is above expectations.

Room Tip: Safari Room - romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiraz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
41
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We filled Evergreen Gate during a family gathering event and I would certainly go back to relax some day. It's a beautiful setting and Laurel & Rob's only concerns were the quality of our stay. The house afforded us the space to get together and strategize until the wee hours after a pleasant soak in the hot tub, and it was so nice to awake to the smell of Belgian Waffles and fruit and the sounds of Rob singing as he cooked.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSMLovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Sumptuous accommodation and a beautiful setting! You are such gracious hosts -- intellectually stimulating, knowledgeable about the Selkirk area and its history, and willing to accommodate special requests. We loved exploring the yard, the hot tub and the high tech swing. Next time I will curl up with a favourite book and a glass of refreshment and stay put longer. What a wonderful way to de-stress! Thank you, Laurel and Rob, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Taking a room on the lower level will allow easy access to kitchenette, books and movies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dailaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The location of Evergreen Gates is beautiful - a lovely home and gorgeious grounds. We had the "Safari Room" -spacious and nicely decorated, a large ensuite with all one's needs seen to. The use of the inviting common room and kitchen/dining area was appreciated. And the yummy breakfasts were something to look forwad to. Rob and Laurel are the perfect hosts, warm , friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Pros: First I'd like to say this was the best place to stay in Selkirk, MB. It has a lovely location on a quiet road by the river. The yard is extensive with a gazebo and hot tub. The breakfast was very good and plentiful and vegetarian as per our request.
We stayed in the Asian room which was very nicely decorated. The Safari room had it's own private bath and tub, the Asian room had a shared bathroom. The common room was between the two. It featured a shared fridge, tv, microwave,books, complimentary water and sitting room.

Cons: Both the Asian room and the Safari room were in the basement and thus the light and view were limited. The shared bath was extremely small with a small shower and no tub. Location is a good few kms from town, so pick up beverages, etc prior to checking in if you want to relax. The hot tub was through the owners kitchen and dining room, so you felt as though you were intruding in their space to get to it.

There is no individual air conditioning, so the basement was a bit cool for our tastes. There is a small gas or electric fireplace that would be lovely if you're staying here in the cooler months.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenever, Owner at Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We appreciated the positive comments, but need to point out a few things about the "cons"...

1) The bathroom for the Asian Room is a private bath! Always! The reviewer has made an error here, plain and simple. Moreover, if the reviewer had wanted a larger bath with a tub, she had the opportunity to choose the Safari Room, but did not.

2) The hot tub is outside, and is accessible through an exterior door which does not involve going through the owners' quarters, particularly in the summer time, which is when this guest visited. Wish that she had looked around a little, or asked.

3) Yes, the lower level is cool when the air conditioning is on ( isn't this what we want in super-hot weather?) . Had we known that there was a problem, we could have suggested a variety of solutions. The easiest is just to open a window and let the hot air in. There are also a baseboard heater and an electric fireplace which can be used ( individual room controls for these) if needed. Once again, we wish that she had let us know that there was a problem, as we are very mindful of our guests' comfort.

We thank the reviewer for taking the time to post a review, but regret that she chose to comment without having full information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We had a pretty long stay and really enjoyed every minute. Our room was wonderfully decorated and we had a bathroom with a jacuzzi.The breakfast had an elegant style with a wide variety of food. The family helped us with any aspect of our trip and we would really love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safari2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Tucked along the high banks of the Red River, near the historic town of Selkirk, The Evergreen Gate is a sanctuary to rest your soul and free your spirit.

The home owners Rob &Laurel do everything to make your visit as pleasant as possible without ever being intrusive. The rooms are clean, the food delicious and if you desire to talk, the conversations are always enjoyable.

Our first visit started us as strangers and now we consider Rob & Laurel friends. We have returned for the last 5 years and it only gets better.
- Jim and Colleen Baldrica, Stillwater, Minnesota

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaldrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
Canalta Selkirk
#1 of 2 in Selkirk
41 reviews
Canad Inns Garden City
#42 of 63 in Winnipeg
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
759 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1138 River Road, Selkirk, Manitoba R1A 4A7, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Selkirk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high above the Red River on the Trans-Canada Trail, Evergreen Gate offers peaceful and private accommodation in a unique modern home surrounded by park-like grounds Private baths, a guest lounge and kitchenette, screened porch, deck and hot tub complete the experience. Delicious full breakfast with accommodation of special diets. French spoken. Tourist information available. Children welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evergreen Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Gate Bed And Breakfast Selkirk, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing