We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desserts to stare at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BArney Gargles

BArney Gargles
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Selkirk
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manitoba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Desserts to stare at!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been going here for years usually in the winter time when I'm in the area icefishing. The coffee here taste different but in a good way!
I like the fact that their chicken fingers are made with their own batter recipe ....not something that came out of a box. (frozen).
Another hit is the homemade fries.
Now usually, I've made up my mind on the desset I will try but usually too full to have any. So, I order my dessert as takeout!
Never been disappointed here. I've taken friends and family here too and never heard a complaint. It's a busy place no matter when you go so sometimes you have to wait for a table. Service is fast too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tobahunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    52
    23
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Little Black River,mb.
2 reviews
“homemade food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

the best homemade food in selkirk you have to try the chicken fingers and fries ,,i liked them so much and like the friendly staff
,

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank janis w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Excellent food, excellent prices.
Be sure to make reservations or you'll have a really long wait once you arrive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining here recently. We made a reservation for 8 and were sat quickly. The service was excellent, all food ranging from fish and chips to perogies and clubhouse sandwiches were first rate. Furthermore, the bill including 1/2 litre of wine and 5 other drinks worked out to less than $20.00 a person with tip. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Ambiance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Located on the main "drag" of Selkirk, 1/2 hour north of Winnipeg Barney Gargles is one of the best places around for fish and chips. "City living, country style" is one of Selkirk's mottoes and
this restaurant lives up to that reputation. The food is good, the service is fast and friendly and their homemade desserts are "to die for". They are so popular that there is often a line-up during the lunch and supper hours, so phone ahead to make a reservation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BArney Gargles also viewed

 
Selkirk, Manitoba
 

Been to BArney Gargles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing