We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always return”
Review of BArney Gargles

BArney Gargles
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Selkirk
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“always return”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have to be honest...a group of us have been regulars for a few years now and "yes" the sisters can be crusty and sometimes downright rude. The staff are usually very good and hard working...if you have been in the service industry then you can understand that sometimes you can have a bad day.
Having said that, the food is very good, large portions, consistant and the prices are very affordable. The deserts are to die for...much better than Baked Expectations.
So for the most part it is well worth the trip

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank streetglide01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    56
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE service!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good is okay, service.... expect to be terrible... at least it`s consistent?

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank JerseyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly RUDE owner! Will never go back”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I recently went to Barney Gargles with a girlfriend and our children and we were kicked out!
Our nice afternoon catch-up over coffee and desserts was VERY rudly interrupted by the owner who told us we would have to leave because we hadn't spent enough to stay any longer! She was incredibly rude, and when I told her that she didn't have to be so rude about it, she shouted at my "YOU are the one being rude! Thinking you can stay here without spending more!" - infront of the whole restaurant!

Then when we paid our bill at the front, she sarcastically asked if we wanted our "BIG BILL" split up.

What a rude mean woman! What kind of family restaurant treats a young family in that way!
I would never tell anyone to spend one penny in that place, EVER

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Miss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We love this place! Food is delicious and very reasonable prices! Lots of variety too. Only problem is it's usually extremely busy for supper and that can affect the service. They do take reservations so I highly recommend this to avoid a half hour or more wait to get a table . Great restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovinbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An Interesting restraunt”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Barney Gargles is a Selkirk tradition. The desserts are worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Explorer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BArney Gargles also viewed

 

Been to BArney Gargles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing