We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scotch selection”
Review of Hobby Horse Arms

Hobby Horse Arms
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Uxbridge
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For the past 18 years the Hobby Horse Arms has been a family run business operating a Restaurant on two floors in a Provincially Designated Heritage Building. The main restaurant is as close as you will get to an English pub, without the travel. We have a large beautiful fireplace, sit down table service, extensive scotch and beer list, plus a full menu. Our food is prepared in house for your dining pleasure & food restrictions. A highlight of the Hobby Horse Arms is our patio and gardens. A backdrop to many weddings and social events, the gardens in addition to being beautiful, also provide our kitchen with fresh herbs. Come to the Hobby Horse Arms for excellent service, ambiance and outstanding cuisine.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Scotch selection”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

If you like single malt scotches and good food, then this is a place you want to be. Definitely worth the drive if you have the time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Uxbridge's Hobby Horse Arms - A Culinary delight”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A Sunday drive to Uxbridge turned into a delightful luncheon experience with the friendly owners and staff of the Hobby Horse Arms. There is a restaurant on the first floor, a pub downstairs and a cosy flower bedecked patio, where we installed ourselves, overlooking the street front. This is a family owned and operated establishment.The menu is extensive for a pub. Our competent and knowledgeable waiter is the owner's son and we enjoyed the best of service. My companion had the generously sized starter of calamari which she declared "the best ever". I enjoyed the light and fluffy golden battered fish and chips - outstanding! We followed up with an order of the Arms' sticky toffee pudding and loved it!, while we were finishing our very drinkable house Sauvignon Blanc. We are looking forward to returning for dinner in the restaurant next month and will report further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PJMJ091539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I went in with my 92 year old mother. She loves fish and chips, and some told me that this was a great place. The fish was fried, and it was dripping in oil. Yuk!! we left the place very disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hobby Horse Arms is located in a older house that has a great ambiance . The arms consists of a dinning room upstairs and a pub in the lower level that can be reached by wheelchair . It has a warm atmosphere and and a fireplace in one wall . There is a menue of pub favorites and dail specials where the chef can use his imagination . we always pck from the specials list and have not been dissapointed .
On a Friday or Sat. night it is best to call for reservations .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 67cosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobby Horse Arms also viewed

Uxbridge, Ontario
Uxbridge, Ontario
 

Been to Hobby Horse Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing