We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You’ll love it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Nolah

Bistro Nolah
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Nolah is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: rue Blue Haven
Description: We named our restaurant Bistro Nolah, an acronym for New Orleans, out of a love for the style of comfort food they serve down south.This style of food will be the inspiration behind some of the dishes we will be serving at Nolah.
Lachine, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You’ll love it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Johanne & Kennis – We had the pleasure of having dinner at BISTRO NOLAH last evening. Please understand this is not the first time we’ve experienced the wonderfully prepared food at BISTRO NOLAH, we eaten there on several occasions, however it is the first time I’ve chosen to write about it. Our appitizer was quaintly prepared Hushpuppies. Johanne loves fish, but she had never tried Catfish. Owning Partner Richard Taitt suggested she try it, having never been steered wrong by Richard, Johanne tried it and in her own words...”it was delicious”. I had a special dish we will call from now on, “The Ken Sampler”. It consisted of three (3) portions of three (3) separate items. The first was a sampling of delectably prepared Southern Grits, the second was baked Macaroni & Cheese and the final item was Richards famous Jambalaya, all presented in separate bowls on a rectangular plate...It was just prefect... So if you are looking for a great meal complemented by a handpicked wine or your choice of Beer/Mixed Drinks, BISTRO NOLAH is the place for you...Remember, ask for Richard and tell him you would like to try the Ken Sampler. You’ll love it...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    57
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal qc
Level Contributor
169 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really good place on the West Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We used to go to this location when it was Bella Vita.Finally there is a great restaurant in this quaint location. At the far end of a strip mall, there is an outside terrasse shielding the road by cedars. The service was Excellent and attentive. There was three other groups eating. One quite large. 2 servers and 4 people in the kitchen. The high ceilings meant that it was louder that we we would prefer.
The food , all of it was excellent and excellently presented. Our guest for the night was the mother of a chef in Nancy France. A former caterer herself, she knows food. She had the Gumbo and the Shrimp and Grits. I had the flank steak and the mushroom soup.My husband had the Scallops.
Everything was perfect.
This is not a family restaurant and it is not cheap. So save it for special occasions but don't bring the kids. Macaroni and cheese will set you back $18.00

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great chefs & food in the west island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We arrived @ 7:00 on a saturday night, my friends & wife was surprised how beautiful the dining room was, high sealings, blackboard menu special's ,musical instruments painting, and earth tone decor. We started with cocktails they were great.Lea was very nice explaining the whole menu to us, she was professional & very attentive to us.started with wonderful muse Bouche brought by owner christopher they were esquesit The cauliflower soup was perfect, also the salad with fresh apple & figs in season. We ordered a wine from BC Lea decanted it and served it in the right big glasses that was great for me without asking , as a wineny.Now for our main dishes, the girls ordered Crevette a la Creole, Jambalya,perfectly spiced and delicious,we both order the Braised short ribs with parsnip & BBQ sauce, they melted in my mouth,and lots of flavor, we recommend these main dishes. I meet the owners Richard, Christopher & the lovely Isabelle, they were very friendly, even thought they were being creative, very professional.dessert a must even thoght your full, all 3 of then beignette, bread pudding, chocolate cake. We had a wonderful dining experience.Can wait to go back, best Resturant in the west Island by far. Outstanding job guy's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quattr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
“Pat Tafel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

You can hardly find another Bitro in Montreal or the West island, that has such great food, perfect service, and very friendly staff. Would highly recommend it to any of my friends and family.Great, Great, place to dine

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pausitraction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bistro Nolah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The food the place the chef everything still fantastic at Bistro Nolah, you miss something if you don't try Bistro Nolah

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Nolah also viewed

Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
 
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Quebec
Pointe Claire, Quebec
 

Been to Bistro Nolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing