We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent New Year's Eve Celebration!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Restaurant

Terra Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Terra Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 210 Restaurants in Thornhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy. 407 or Hwy. 7
Transit: Kirk Drive
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year's Eve Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellente on all fronts! Terra is a classic spot in north Toronto that continually re-invents itself so as to provide a fresh, tantalizing dining and evening out experience for its existing and new partons! A must visit regardless of where you are in the GTA!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    45
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful for Special Occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is our "Go To" restaurant for birthdays anniversaries, and special occasions. The service is excellent and often you feel as though they anticipate your requests. The menu is creative and varied to all tastes. The wine list is thorough. They typically have a good selection of fresh oysters, which for me is a treat.

Its definitely pricey, but worth every cent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thornhill Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I went here for the first time for my birthday, and I will definitely be going back. The food was fantastic, and the service was wonderful. We went on a Sunday and experienced the Prix Fixe Sundy-licious menu, which made the experience much more affordable - this restaurant is definitely higher - not a place for people on a budget (except, maybe, for special occasions). Now that we know how yummy it is, we will be going back, but based on our budget, probably just for special occasions.
To start I had the caesar salad - fresh, good real bacon, and they got my order right of "light dressing". This was followed by the Sea Bass - cooked to flakey perfection. My only complaint - it came with pineapple salsa... there was less than a teaspoon on the plate - that was too little. The wonderful flavour was a tease - a wanted a lot more to go with the fish. For dessert - perfectly crusted creme brule.
I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scarlett_atom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 790 helpful votes
“...for special occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We celebrated a birthday at Terra and unless you are made of money, this is an establishment for special occasions.
The food was absolutely outstanding....everyone in our party was thrilled with their meals and the chef even accommodated a couple youngsters who are finicky eaters. The only downside were the oysters, delicious as they were, had to be the tiniest little things I've ever eaten.
The service was top notch....our hostess was absolutely outstanding. It really was lovely evening and it has been a very long time since I have experienced such fine food and remarkable service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service for birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Went here with 3 girlfriends to celebrate a birthday. The food was amazing. We ordered the oysters which were very fresh and the accompaniments were very good. I ordered the seafood spaghetti which was a great portion and very flavourful. The scallops ordered by my girlfriends were good, but the portion size way too small. Service was fantastic and seamless.

We did not inform the wait staff of this as my friend wanted to keep things low key. Our waiter noted all the gifts and asked if we were celebrating someone's birthday. They surprised her with a special dessert as well as a free round of after dinner cocktails for us all. NICE!

I would recommend that the restaurant beef up some of their smaller portions with a hefty starch so that the diner doesn't feel like they need to stop by McD's on their way home after spending $70 on dinner.

But all in all, excellent experience other than the portion size.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpaC509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Restaurant also viewed

 
Woodbridge, Vaughan
 

Been to Terra Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing