We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sofra's Grill

Sofra's Grill
Ranked #15 of 213 Restaurants in Thornhill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fair food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Visited during the week the fish was dry and over cooked the vegetables were under cooked
Service was fair
There is a lot of Mediterranean type restaurant in the area which are much better

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jondeb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    33
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An okay restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not the best Mediterranean restaurant in town, but better than average in quality.
good for small gathering every now and then, or for pickups or delivery.
chicken schnitzel is probably the best thing on the menu, the atmosphere isn't too nice and if you're looking for some extra ordinary service, then look somewhere else!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ZRS_2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Middle Eastern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We lived 5 minutes away and that was our go to for middle eastern for 4 years. We've now moved 60 km away and have tried many other places to get our fix, and none came even close. Amazing appetizers: freshest home made hummus and falafel, best baba ganoush, amazing Turkish salad. For main entrees, the positions are huge, we always got 1 chicken kabob and shared and still had leftovers. The house salad and dressing are the best too. Service was not the greatest for sit down, and yes, for pickup, if ordering on a busy night, you may be out in hold for a while before you can order. But that just shows how busy/in demand they are and that's a good sign - you know you're getting fresh quality food. Miss them dearly and I hope they would open up a location in the west end :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CURIOASA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple, Canada
1 review
“love the food, love the service, love the atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Best food ever, i love new salmon filet salad.
food came so fast on table.
service was amazing, girls were friendly,fun and so helpful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
733 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Too busy to care”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been regularly picking up take out food from this restaurant for the last 5 years and generally have been happy with the quality of the food and the take out process. However, lately it has changed. Last month, when we arrived home with our takeout, it included dry, hard, old pita bread. When I called to complain, they claimed that they have run out of the regular ones. Today’s pick up was a nightmare. I was on hold for ten minutes until they took your order. I was told it will be thirty minutes. When I arrived thirty minutes later, there were about 20 people picking up, and it took another thirty minutes until the order was ready. She was extremely rude throughout. I got the impression that she felt she was doing you a favour letting you buy their food! To complicate matters more, she charged my VISA for someone else’s takeout, which was twice the amount of my bill. Getting her to fix it was like pulling teeth, as though I was expected to pay twice the amount just because she made an error! Not even a minor apology for the mistake. Hopefully, when my statement arrives, it will not have both bills on it.
Sofra has gotten so busy that they really do not care anymore. It is time to find a new place for Middle Eastern food take out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofra's Grill also viewed

 
 
Thornhill, Vaughan
Thornhill, Vaughan
 

Been to Sofra's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing