We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singen Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singen
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Singen
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Singen Holiday Inn”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel when in Germany in June 2012. Nice, clean, comfortable and fair price. Great breakfast, and nice bar in evening. Close to the Bahnhof, near the Hohentwiel (which is a must see) and many nearby restaraunts and shopping. Near lake Konstanz also, which was good for us, and a quick drive to Luzerne, Switzerland to Mt. Pilatus. We are going back in October this year, and will be staying at this same hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasAnnie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    102
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
39
58
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here while visiting the nearby area (Stein am Rhein, Rheinfall, etc) as the room was about half the price of those over the border in Switzerland. My 'priority club' room on the top floor was simple but functional with double bed (*not* queen size - if you are a larger/tall person, it would be tough to have two people sharing!!), small couch, desk area, shelves for your things and a tea/coffee maker. Room and bathroom were very clean and everything was in excellent condition. Only English channel was BBC News - as there is not too much to do in the area, bring a book or computer for entertainment! The free breakfast in the morning was pretty decent - cereal, hard boiled eggs, bread, meats and cheeses, yogurt and fruit. Staff were young and friendly.
It's an easy 10-12 minute walk to the train station and the town center. Singen is not really the most scenic town, but there were a couple of decent small restaurants close to the hotel and the normal array of department stores/grocery stores/etc in the town center near the station. The hotel also rents bikes for a good price.
To sum up, if you are visiting the Bodensee or Rhein areas, or just driving through on the main north-south route from Germany to Italy, this is a great value place to stop for a night or two, especially to avoid the high prices of Switzerland. Staying and eating in Singen can save you quite a bit of money and the transportation links make it easy enough to see the nearby sights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
601 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I've been there a couple of times when doing business in the area. The hotel is new and very modern and stylish. The rooms have the typical European Holiday Inn Express style: not too large and without any luxury but modern and functional. I had a "priority club room". I'm not sure about the differences to ordinary rooms but it had free LAN and free coffee/tea. For business travellers just about right if you don't expect much comfort.

The free breakfast is ok but is reduced to a minimum. Don't expect too much. There is no gym but you can go jogging along a small river 2 minutes from the hotel. The river runs along a nice green area close to a small volcano (called "Hohentwiel"). Close to the hotel there is a nice restaurant with a beer garden. The hotel is built on a public parking garage with direct access to the hotel. The parking fee is reasonable (10€/day).

I noticed some weaknesses when I was there this winter:
- Your key card does not open the door from the parking garage to the hotel. You need to press a button and wait and wait and wait.... Not too nice if it is ice cold.
- If you come to your room after a long day it will be cold. The heating turns off when you leave the room and take your key card from the slot.
- My key card did not work the other day when I came up to my room after breakfast and I had to go down to the reception again.
- The LAN performance is very bad, most of the times not usable.
- The AC/heating in my room made a low but constant buzzing noise even when turned off. This will be disturbing when you go to bed and everything is quiet except the AC. I reported it to the reception but nothing happend.
- There is just one elevator which is terribly slow and you need to be very patient. Many of the hotel guests prefer to use the stairs.
- During breakfast the staff seemed to be overburdoned and often were not able to clear the tables and top up the buffet.
Bottom line: Nice and stylish looks but that's it. Don't expect too much and some of the problems may by annoying.

Room Tip: The rooms are probably very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We had some issues with the charges for the hotel when we made our reservation. It took a lot of work to get the charges corrected.
The staff were very pleasant and professional. The rooms were roomy, clean and well appointed.
The breakfast was buffet style and had a wonderful selection. It was monitored closely and replenished promptly as necessary.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
1,008 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for two nights with our teenage daughter. The room was nice. A good variety in teas, coffee and hot chocolate to brew yourself in your room. Very nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Good value for the money! The hotel is locatetd only 15 km from Stein am Rhein in Switzerland, which can be easy access by car or by bike. The stuff is very good. I would like to come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kragulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Three friends and I stayed at this hotel to explore Mainau Island, cross the Swiss border and walk along the lakefront. The staff is friendly; the room is clean and the breakfast buffet is sufficient. There is free internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singen
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Lamm
0.4 mi away
Hegau Tower Hotel
Hegau Tower Hotel
#5 of 8 in Singen
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#8 of 8 in Singen
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Alte Muehle
Hotel Restaurant Alte Muehle
#1 of 1 in Rielasingen-Worblingen
10 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bora HotSpaResort
Bora HotSpaResort
#1 of 9 in Radolfzell am Bodensee
279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Jaegerhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singen

Property: Holiday Inn Express Singen
Address: Am Schlossgarten 5, 78224 Singen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Singen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Singen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Singen 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the trendy, fresh and uncomplicated Holiday Inn Express in Singen at the lake of Constance.Modern equipped hotel rooms and a friendly service at a fair price are waiting for you. And the best: We invite you to our complimentary breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing