We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy and well situated place”
Review of Hotel Pelikan

Hotel Pelikan
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pelikan
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was there for 3 nights, 4 days. The hotel is among residential/semi-commercial area. It is very close to the market place, bars, pubs and eating spots.

It's first impression is as if you have entered a guest house, but that works well with the overall feel of the place. Rooms are nice, washrooms are well stacked with amenities, room has mini bar. It looks more like a family run hotel.

At this point, i would also like to point out, the management (reception, house-keeping and serving staff) are like models out of a magazine. This is good because you see so much beauty around you, at the same time, you end up doing a lot of stuff that you might want to have done for you.

Breakfast is very basic, enough to keep you going, but not many options, just eggs, cereals and bacon. Of course selection of dairy is there and salads/fruits.

The astonishing this is there is no laundry services over the weekend as the laundry is done by another shop near by, hotel does not have the facility. ironing, again, if you can do it yourself, you can get an iron and ironing board (which i had to bring myself as i didn't want the ladies to do it for me) from the reception downstairs.

Management goes away at 2300 hrs. Then you can open the door only with the room-key provided to you, otherwise you are either locked out or wait for someone coming back at that time. You still won't be able to get in your room

I did not try anything there except for breakfast, but the restaurant smelled nice so it should be good.

I prefer aircon or at least a fan, basically something that is airing the room, but it wasnt available, maybe they dont need it, but since i am used to it, i had trouble the first night, then got used to it. It's a personal interest so i cannot deduct any points for that. The city anyways is very pleasant, temperature wise.

personally, it is a very relaxing spot, close to everything and nice clean housing. I am back there in January, and will definitely be staying here only!!!

Room Tip: Plan your flights accordingly, No reception staff between 2300 hrs to 0600 hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Az_Ispahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in, and I've stayed in a few! Arriving late on Sunday I was appalled to discover the restaurant wasn't even open so a supper of peanuts was my only option. The hotel guide is not accurate and I had to go all the way down to reception to get a code for the (useless) Internet service - definitely mug high speed! The room was dark, no A/C and no extractor in the bathroom. Don't waste your time with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AncientEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

the carpet was dirty, the room o.k., it was loud until 11pm, people were chatting outside unitl 1 am, loud noise from a bar at 3 am, the internet did not work, the breakfast was o.k., I can not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Accompanied my husband here on his business trip in this town. It was snowing and just so beautiful. The reception staffs were awesome - so friendly, so warm. All the 3 of them. The housekeeping and breakfast staffs were wonderful too. Not every staff speaks English but their smiles, patience and help eased the language barrier.

The room was adequate and bathroom was complete with toiletries and bathtub. The heater and water heater worked very well. There was a chiller but no kettle for boiling hot water (important for winter!). There was no safe to put our passports and other important belongings so we took care of them ourselves.

There was a tv in the room but no English Channel. It was okay because the surrounding area was worth seeing and kept me occupied when the husband was at work. Our room on the 2nd level overlooked the snow-covered hills and beautiful neighboring buildings. Sunrises and sunsets were a sight!

Overall, our stay was pleasant and room was clean, although the carpeting looked old. Bathtub was huge. I enjoyed breakfast which was at 4euros daily. Cereals, juices, cheeses, fruits, fresh German breads and pastries. The omelets were wonderful too!

The trip to the hotel was about 5euros from the train station by taxi. And there is shopping around the hotel.

We really had a wonderful stay! Thank you to all the staffs!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_orange13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of a beautiful town. The church and other town attractions are walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are basic, no coffee maker etc. The reception can get busy because of only one person manning it and hence check-in/check-out may take time in the morning. But having mentioned all this, this hotel is still a nice place to experience the old town and if you get a good deal, stay here

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have stayed here on numerous occasions. I found the staff to be extremely nice and accommodating. The hallways need some updating and the carpet is slightly stained, but the rooms are an adequate accommodation. The breakfast buffet is quite nice. This is definitely the best choice in this area, you can walk down to the Marketplatz.

Room Tip: If in summer, ask for a room with a breeze when window is open. I stayed there once last summer in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troutcatcher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I staied in this hotel for two nights on business. The reception was ok and I was checked in even the reception computer did not work. Nice and friendly. The first surprise was when entering the room. The carpet was dirty and the curtains were torn. Ok, i workarounded this by having my own slippers. At least the bathroom looked acceptable.

Next morning the new surprise. On the entrance to the restaurant the was a barrel under a burning light with electricity and water was dropping out of the bulb!!! I had to ignore that. Breakfast was good except for the coffee. Not only that it tasted like dirty water, but also the coffeepot was broken ...

In the evening there was some loud music near the hotel. Thank god it stopped until midnight

Overall a not so pleasant stay. On checkout they also charged me 3,5EUR for parking on the hotels car park. This is a absolute no-go!

Avoid this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pgtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schwaebisch Gmuend hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel am Remspark
Hotel am Remspark
#1 of 6 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Einhorn
Hotel Einhorn
#4 of 6 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rosengarten
Hotel Rosengarten
#2 of 6 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#6 of 6 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel am Brunnen
Hotel am Brunnen
#3 of 4 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Hirzel
Villa Hirzel
#1 of 4 in Schwaebisch Gmuend
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelikan

Address: Tuerlensteg 9, 73525 Schwaebisch Gmuend, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schwaebisch Gmuend
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Schwaebisch Gmuend
Price Range: $80 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pelikan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pelikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pelikan Germany/Schwaebisch Gmuend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing