We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dan's Creek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dan's Creek Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port-Salut
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were on a tight budget so we chose the cheapest room. It was small, but spotlessly clean and everything worked (unusual for Haitian hotels!).

The hotel is right on its own private beach which is small but very beautiful. The swimming was great. There is also a clean swimming pool and a water slide off the top of a cliff into the sea - we weren't brave enough to use it.

The service and food were absolutely excellent and portions were generous. The food was much less expensive than we expected. The rum sours were to die for.

An absolutely beautiful escape from the city for the weekend - and not a particularly difficult drive from Port au Prince. The best hotel we've stayed in during a month long visit to Haiti.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGB501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksim0872, Manager at Dan's Creek Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dan's Creek Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we are so glad your time with us was relaxing and enjoyable!

We hope to see you again soon!

Shannon
Dan's Creek Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
43
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

My fiancee and i went for my BD , first of all we were received by a huge dog at the reception if ur scared of dogs dont even think going. second the standard room was so small we couldnt even breathe so we had to change it to a suite which was better. the place is amazing but the service was just horrible we spent 3 hrs in the room without watter to drink nor to shower when we went to the reception the one charge said we will have to wait when they'll clean it will hav the watter > the restaurant the food was ok but ive never been to a hotel where i had to share the restaurant with 5 huge digs walking around , when we went to the owner explained it to her she said the dogs were here before the hotel so she couldnt do much about it , it was a nightmare walking into this thing with doz dogs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendelson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksim0872, Manager at Dan's Creek Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Dan's Creek Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

If you come back to our hotel I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Shannon
Dan's Creek Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich CT
Level Contributor
330 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

A real surprise. The food is fabulous although overpriced if you are not staying. Drinks quite pricey but the location, comfort, beach (do agree that water shoes would be wise) and staff are worth it. Highly suggest the grilled fish. Some of the best I've had in Haiti.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The food is great, the property is very clean even by first world standards and the view is amazing. The wait staff are very nice and accommodating. Bring your water shoes... this is not a sandy beach and the pebbly/rocky beach can hurt your feet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_real_Jenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not much competition in the area. I didn't stay here on my first visit to PS and probably prefer Dan's over the other location. Dan's is the most developed property in the area, worth the stay, and probably worth the price. Definitely a comfortable visit. Great atmosphere, good beach, nice staff, they even organized a bonfire party complete with Ra-Ra band and a tour to nearby caverns for our group that booked the whole place one weekend. Rooms are comfortable and the property has many nooks to hide away with a good book or to soak up the rays. Parking is tight, so consider carpooling. Food is well-prepared, but not excellent. You'll enjoy your stay though a little competition could really maximize Dan's Creek's potential.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakleysTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was there with my entire family for 5 days, it was a vacation of a lifetime. The panorama is breathtaking, the rooms are clean, the food excellent and the service remarkable. Perfect for couple or family getaway. We could not have it any better, the hostess was always nearby, polite and ready to attend to everyone's needs. Thank You Katia for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pap, haiti
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dan's Creek is the perfect spot to stay at in Port Salut. Nice rooms, great food and service & staff amazing! Perfect for couples and kids. We had a blast. Right by the water and very relaxing. Will go back with the kids for sure:)
Thank you Katia & Daniel for a great stay!:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-Salut
15.9 mi away
Abaka Bay Resort
Abaka Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
16.4 mi away
Port Morgan
Port Morgan
#3 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
97.3 mi away
Hotel Cyvadier
Hotel Cyvadier
#1 of 5 in Jacmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
L'anse a L'eau Beach House
L'anse a L'eau Beach House
#2 of 3 in Ile-a-Vache
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
112.1 mi away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
99.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Indigo Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dan's Creek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dan's Creek Hotel

Property: Dan's Creek Hotel
Address: Port-salut, Port-Salut, Haiti
Location: Caribbean > Haiti > Sud Department > Port-Salut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port-Salut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dan's Creek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dan's Creek Hotel is located in the beautiful southern coastal town of Port Salut, Haiti. The hotel boasts ocean views from every room, private beach, swimming pool, restaurant, charters for exploring the ocean, and more. Dan's Creek is a boutique hotel that offers a variety of room sizes and flavors all with an emphasis of your comfort in mind. We look forward to your next stay in the beautiful south of Haiti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Dan's Creek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing