We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, hot room. Impossible shower. Free lobby computer.”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Contrary to a previous reviewer, I enjoyed my veg lasagne in the pub - it had chunks of vegetables which I was craving after so long on the road. Now to the nitty-gritty: the noise from the main street, plus the banging of hallway doors, plus the reverberating, creaky sound of people walking on the stairs all combined into 1 night of interrupted sleep. The shower was a joke: very little water and a very high nozzle with scant pressure, which made it impossible for a woman to rinse off soap. Don't even think about a shampoo! Even my taller husband said that he would hold his hands high in the shower to collect enough water to carry down to the soap on his body. This is a family-run hotel and they seem serious about collecting evaluations, but I didn't see much money re-invested in their rooms. I also agree with another reviewer that the breakfast was a disappointment: little choice, no oatmeal/porridge, 1 cup of bland coffee. We paid 90 euros for 2 adults, which I think was only 10 euros off their quoted rate. OVER-PRICED for messing up the basics of a good night's sleep and a decent shower.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AtlantaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMoate, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us but since April 2011 we have completely revamped our Barfood menu and lowered our prices in line with the V.A.T reductions. Our Prices for accommodation have also dropped to €42.50 per person based on 2 adults sharing. Our Barfood is prepared fresh and we still have our home made vegetable lasagne you'll be glad to hear!! In regards to the shower pressure, I cannot understand why you experienced such a low pressure in the shower, as our system is pressurised and the showers run at over 20 litres per minute, which is 5 litres more per minute than a domestic pump shower. And we are very serious about improving our service to all customers and have recently conducted a complete customer evaluation of all areas of our hotel. Our breakfast now has an extensive selection of fresh fruit, porridge, croissants, vegetarian breakfast, traditional full Irish, yoghurts and much more to suit everyone’s tastes. The Oakleaf is launching its brand new Á la Carte menu and Table D’hôte Menus on Saturday 23rd of July. In September we are opening the first of our newly refurbished rooms and we hope we can include you on our guest list to show to you how much we have invested into making The Grand Hotel a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards Cathal Claffey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 101 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

stopped off in the carvery for lunch on the way back from the west. food was awful - would rather suck eggs from an ebola pit if offered a choice again. am shuddering at the memory of the place to be honest

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank eddiepunchclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMoate, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Dear Guest
I am very sorry and disappointed to see such a harsh review. But if you have experienced such bad service from us I would like to know how and why this happened as I have never heard or read such a bad review of our hotel or any hotel in my experience. Firstly can I ask what you had and what was the problem with your dish? Again let me apologise to you for receiving food of such bad quality as to warrant such a review. We pride ourselves on delivering great quality food stemmed from over 30 years experience. Since April of this year we have conducted extensive customer evaluations and a minority have come back with small problems such as overcooked vegetables and other similar complaints but none match the sheer disaster as which you have experienced and I can at this moment and time only apologise to you. We have since changed our menus both for our carvery and Barfood services and have also lowered our prices by up to 17% from reflection on customer reviews. These reviews we in more detail than yours and if you have the spare time or if you can remember I would really appreciate you to send me an e mail or to even post on Trip advisor what your overall experience or problems were at the Grand Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you and to repair any problems which you experienced with us.

Kind Regards and Best Wishes

Cathal Claffey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Very disappointing stay. Rooms were clean but very dated. The set-up for breakfast was more like a transport cafe and service very poor. I have stayed at many hotels throughout Ireland and this just did not meet the high level of service and value I have experienced in the past. Very noisy on the Saturday night due to a Rock Band playing in a nearby pub. This went on until gone midnight and believe me when I say there was no way you could sleep through it.
Overall, very expensive and poor value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wideloadKent_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandHotelMoate, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2011

Dear Guest

Sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay with us back in 2009. Firstly let me apolgise for your interrupted sleep from the music next door. I'm afraid this is a situation which is out of our control but we try to accommodate guest where and when possible to insulate them from the music by moving them to a quite location away from the bands. Secondly the service which you say was not up to scratch is unacceptable and since 2009 we have spent a lot of our time and effort to train staff to the highest levels expected and we have changed our breakfast to include vegetarian options, fresh fruit, cereals, poached and scrambled eggs, porridge, yoghurts and much more. And finally we have reduced all of our prices for accommodation by 15% and we will be unveiling the first 4 newly refurbished rooms in September 2011. Thank you for your review as it helped us to amend our faults and gave us an insight into customers experience with us. Since then we have launched a full hotel customer evaluation which prompted us to cut all our carvery prices, completely change our Barfood menu and prices and we are now preparing to launch our brand new restaurant menus.
Kind Regards Cathal Claffey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndreasL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Sabine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,973 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.8 mi away
Temple Lodge & Spa
Temple Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Moate
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,191 reviews
11.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
9.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Main Street, Moate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range: $88 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a family run,14 bedroom hotel in Moate, County Westmeath. Situated in the heart of the Irish midlands, only 12km from Athlone, and only an hour's journey on the M6 motorway from both Dublin and Galway, the Grand Hotel is the perfect stop off location. We are just 2 minutes off both exit 6 and exit 7 on the M6. All of our bedrooms are en suite and we offer an extensive bar food, carvery, and A la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Ireland/Moate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing