We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good:)”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Very good:)”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As I arrived to the hotel I thought that the service was great we were showed to our room and I was very happy as the man was very nice he said if we had a problem with anything to tell them. The staff were so polite and when we went to get food down at the bar I thought the pricing was a bit expensive but overall it was worth it the food was delicious. I was very happy there and I would definitely go there again:)

Room Tip: No tip everything was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    30
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
22
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had lunch today at the grand hotel. I am a coeliac and I found that the menu was very limited. I was hoping to have curry but it wasn't gluten free. I asked if I could have a sandwich but was told that they had no gluten free bread. I asked if I could have chips but again was told the chips were not gluten free. I decided to have the turkey dinner. For the €10.95 that I was about to pay I was expecting a decent meal. The selection of veg was very limited - carrots and cauliflower, and looked a little limp, so I opted to give them a miss and of course I couldn't have the stuffing as it wasn't gluten free. Therefore all I got for my €10.95 was two slices of turkey and three small scoops of potato! Unfortunately I wasn't able to eat any of it as it tasted terrible. The mash must have been kept warm for hours as it had that funny taste that over cooked potato gets and the turkey was dried out. As I was dining with two other people I didn't complain as I didn't make a fuss. No member of staff checked on us or asked If everything was ok so I left the full dinner behind me. I think that as a hotel more of an effort should be made for coeliac customers. I certainly will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MARION H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a meal on a car journey from Mayo to Wexford.
We ate in the bar as the carvery was finished.
The bar had a very tired look about it and looked like it seriously needed a good clean.
The menu was very promising looking. I ordered the Garlic Mushrooms which were edible but poorly presented and the Golfer's Grill which mostly was fine apart from the steak which was very well done (and for me inedible) and I wasn't asked how I wanted it.
My companion had the soup which was good and the chicken and ham which tasted good but not well presented.
After tea and coffee the bill came to €39 which, considering my local 4-star hotel offers 4 courses for €49, is very expensive for poor presentation in a bar.
The young man serving was very pleasant, he seemed to be stretched in duties as I saw him leave the bar to check some one into the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsionnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really smart staff who made sure we had everything. looked after my nephew by getting his food really fast, they brought an extra table to us when one was available so we'd have more room.
clean and tidy hotel and staff looked sharp. they even said bye and thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Grand Hotel is centrally located in the town and indeed the country. The rooms are large and the beds comfortable. The hotel is well maintained and visually clean. My wife and 2 children ages 14 and 12 stayed here for a family reunion in the hotel. We found the room rates reasonably priced which included a very nice breakfast. The staff both at the hotel and funtion we attended in the hotel including bar tenders and waitresses in the restaurant to be excellent. We have stayed here about 4 times now over a 15 year period and it always seems to improve each visit which in my book is a very positive sign. I highly recommend this hotel for families or indeed anyone looking for a high end hotel at an affordable price. You won't be disappointed. They also have a nice cozy bar with an excellent pint!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 which was large and comfortable. My brothers family stayed next door in 23 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryBrowne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal C, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much Gerry. We were delighted to have you and your family stay with us again for your family function.

We are very fortunate to have a great team of employees working at the Grand Hotel & Oak Leaf Restaurant. Our staff are always highly praised by customers for their efficient, friendly and polite service.

We are always trying to improve and recreate aspects of the Grand Hotel and we are delighted to hear that this is evident from your visits over the years.

Looking forward to seeing you and your family again. Many Thanks

(The secret to our great pints of Guinness is a great cold-room located directly beside the Guinness taps!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had some food in the Hotel last night.. I really enjoyed it.. Its very relaxing too.. The staff are fantastic especially Michelle.. She was lovely and really looked after us.. Ye provide a great service and keep up the good work..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaronfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moate
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely fabulous family run hotel. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Cleanliness is superb. Food can exceed any of Irelands high end eateries, Would highly recommend it to my friends and family. Prices are so keen for the services offered. Delighted to see that this establishment is doing so well in the midst of this recission.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathal C, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad to see that all of our hard work is paying off and that you enjoyed your recent visit to our refurbished restaurant.

Being a family run hotel we take our customers very seriously and are very fortunate that all of our members of staff work towards that same goal.

We lowered all of our pries in July 2011 when the V.A.T rate was reduced for the hospitality industry. In other words we passed those savings onto all of our valued customers. Same great product, but a lower price.

Looking forward to your next visit. Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moate
0.1 mi away
Temple Lodge & Spa
Temple Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Moate
147 reviews
9.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,881 reviews
9.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
260 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
9.7 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Property: The Grand Hotel
Address: Main Street, Moate, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Moate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Grand Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is a family run,14 bedroom hotel in Moate, County Westmeath. Situated in the heart of the Irish midlands, only 12km from Athlone, and only an hour's journey on the M6 motorway from both Dublin and Galway, the Grand Hotel is the perfect stop off location. We are just 2 minutes off both exit 6 and exit 7 on the M6. All of our bedrooms are en suite and we offer an extensive bar food, carvery, and A la carte menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Ireland/Moate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing