We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not good”

Motte & Bailey Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Moate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food not good”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Food didn't taste good at all.
Had Turkey didn't liike it at all. Staff very mine and place was clean enough

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fatharta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Less than comfortable dining”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our most recent visit (last week) was less than comfortable. As usual the staff were warm, welcoming and friendly. However, the dining-room was cold and draughty and far from busy. Waiting staff never bothered to close the doors.
The menu was good, but some favourite items were off (e.g. Mussels). The food that was served was less flavoursome than it might have been, with a liberal lacing of sugar or sweetener. I passed on a comment via the waitress, but got no acknowledgement.
By contrast, there was a lovely fire in the lounge bar, with a fair number of friendly locals having a drink or a few and driving arrangements were discussed.
Tell the truth, we enjoyed the night out, but it could have been better.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mardyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful little gem”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place is a bar with adjoining restaurant and is located in a tiny village called Mount Temple. I met friends for a pre Christmas Sunday lunch. Thought it must be good as the restaurant was booked out so we booked a table in the bar. The service was very good and the food was simple fare but so tasty and well presented. It was reasonably priced and we will definitely go there again. This is the type of business model that many other Irish country pubs should follow in these times of recession. Good food and service will always attract diners

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding mouthwatering food with staff that make you feel special but as relaxed as if you where in your own home .”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I've just had my second christening party here in 18 months each time having around 30 guest the service which we received was outstanding the same as if we where a table of two with the waiting staff having time to have a word with children and adults of group we also had a guest in a wheelchair and we could not have asked for anymore help to make her comfortable . The food was out of this world delicious with everyone still raving about it the beef was melt I'm your mouth and could have been cut with a spoon we got plenty of veg chips and potatoes which was good as there was a few hungry men and when it came down to paying bill we where pleasantly surprised at value for money looking forward to going back but not to host another christing party !!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Loves2munch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Perfect irish pub to sit and enjoy an evening of music with family and friends. Had a fabulous time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ultravioletrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motte & Bailey Restaurant also viewed

 
Moate, County Westmeath
 

Been to Motte & Bailey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing