We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul
Ranked #1 of 8 Annascaul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We just returned from Ireland and spent 2 nights of the several days at The Old Anchor Inn. The setting was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Having a restaurant attached was very convenient, especially the first night after having driven several hours to get to Annascaul. The Irish stew was great.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FerrisTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 419 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2009

If you ever pass through Annascaul The Old Anchor is the place to stay in or eat in.
It's very different to most of the places I've stayed in (and believe me I travel a lot). It's a very clean, lovely and fab. The young couple who runs it is very helpful and warm. They can organize everything you want and need. They will make your stay as pleasant as possible. And probably at the end of your stay they will become your new best friends.

The interior of the guest house is very stylish and comfortable. My room was very specious and clean. The bathroom was newly renovated and quite big. I really liked it.
I loved to sit in the living room and have a cup of tea. It had old styled furniture, big flat screen tv and the shelf full of books.
The Old Anchor is located 6km from the beach and very close to the mountains. It is not possible to be bored there. I will definitely come back there in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

This affordable guesthouse is nestled in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland and on arrival I was warmly welcomed by the couple who run this small yet cosy business.The rooms were airy and well decorated with a beautiful view of the heart of the Ring of Kerry.The food was of an excellent standard and I found that the owners were very approachable in assisting me in information on the area, places to see, and pubs to visit.Overall I would say this is one of the best places I have stayed on my many travels and without a shadow of a doubt the best in Ireland.I highly recommend it for anyone who wishes to visit the South of Ireland.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanjohnmcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

On my recent trip to Ireland for the first time I stayed at the Anchor Inn in Annascaul, Kerry. My partner and I had only visited cities before deciding to hit a quiet spot for some chilling time...and it was the best decision of the holiday. We loved the town of Annascaul and loved the Anchor Inn even more. Our hosts were Brian and Beata and they went out of their way to make us feel at home, relax and advise us on the best local spots to visit. They were friendly without being too pushy and we throughly enjoyed our evening chats with them after a long day exploring the local countryside.
The Old Anchor Inn itself was both comfortable and clean and it was a pleasure to sit about relaxing with a good book and enjoyable conversation. Our days exploring started off with possibly one of the nicest breakfasts I have had. Who knew a 'full Irish' could be so good? I will be frequenting Irish bars and restaurants more often to try and find something that resembles the Old Anchor Inn's mighty breakfast.
All in all it was a wonderful weekend of new friendships, relaxation and good food. I will definitely be returning to Ireland if only to get a chance to revisit the Old Anchor Inn. I highly recommend it to all who visit Kerry.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and I undertook a walking trek around the Dingle Peninsula this summer of 2008 and had the great fortune of staying at the Old Anchor Inn in the village of Annascaul. We were greatly impressed by the owner, Brian Lucy, and his warm reception to us and our every need.

Our room was clean, well kept and also quiet. The bed was comfortable and sheets were fresh. The en-suite bath was also very clean and functional.

We took advantage of the attached restaurant for dinner as well as breakfast. Again, Brian and his staff were charming and very helpful. We were surprised that Brian doubled as the main chef, and even more surprised about the quality and taste of all the meal courses. The food prepared by Brian, especially his fish chowder, was the best we had on our entire two-week trip in Ireland.

For anyone visiting the Dingle Peninsula and Annascaul, we would strongly recommend choosing The Old Anchor Inn as your place to stay or eat.

Thank Bogtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

The rooms are very clean and very nice - although it is very basic (no television in the rooms for example). The bedroom had a really comfortable double bed, a wardrobe, mirror and an en-suite bathroom.

Breakfast was included and was about the most beautiful food we had in months!! There was a nice buffet with fresh fruits, bread, different fruit juices etc and in addition to that they had full irish breakfast.

During the nights it was partially extremely noisy as it seems some of the guests staying there came back drunk and took a while to say good night to each other, but that is not the B&Bs fault and we could have said something the next morning or even got up and tell them to keep it down but we didnt.

This B&B is in a very nice area, central to explore the Dingle Peninsula and the north of Kerry and we had a great time there! Also everyone was really friendly and helpful. If we come back to Annascaul for another weekend we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa-Donal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unser Zimmer lag nach hinten raus und war recht ruhig, zumindest hat der Verkehr kaum gestört.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chips2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annascaul
9.2 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
9.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annascaul House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
3.1 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#6 of 8 in Annascaul
54 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul

Address: Main Street | Annascaul, Annascaul Dingle Peninsula, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Annascaul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Annascaul
Price Range: $77 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Anchor Inn is a cozy B&B in the heart of the picturesque village of Annascaul in the centre of the Dingle peninsula in County Kerry. The Perfect place to stay while visiting County Kerry & the Dingle Peninsula.All of our 8 rooms are en suite with tea & coffee making facilities and tv/DVD player. Choose from a wide selection of books and DVD's in out lounge, and enjoy in the comfort of your room. A full Irish breakfast and selection of fruit, juice and yogurt is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Old Anchor Inn B&B Annascaul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Anchor Hotel Annascaul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing