We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical, delicious, friendly”
Review of South Pole Inn

South Pole Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Annascaul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Historic public house, named by the Antarctic explorer Tom CreanTom sail to the Antarctic three times under the command of Captain Robert Scott and Sir Ernest Shackleton and received the Albert medal for bravery on Captain Scotts ill fated Terra Nova expedition.Tom retired from the Royal Navy and ran the pub until his death in 1938.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Historical, delicious, friendly”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a lovely lunch on our way out of the Dingle Peninsula. The fish and chips and Irish Guinness Stew were really good, particularly the stew, it was the best we had. There was a fire going and the staff were attentive and friendly. We walked around the pub reading the various newspaper articles and looking at the memorabilia from Tom Creane's adventures, it was fascinating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    125
    21
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a great little spot. We were on the way to Dingle and stopped off for lunch at the South Pole. We had wonderful service and a fun menu to choose items from. It was perfect for lunch! The atmosphere and decorating in the South Pole is wonderful. It was cold and dreary outside but our table inside was located right near a warm cracking fire. All four of us were pleasantly surprised with this restaurant as it didn't look all that inviting from the outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food good. Nice atmosphere. Cannot understand why previous comments about waiting. Its a pub - go to the bar!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anselm1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Waitress needs a personality”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for a drink on way to dingle. Nice pub and it was clean but the bar lady needs to learn to smile and engage with people a bit more. Now I've been I won't rush back

Helpful?
5 Thank cacosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ambiance galore”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you want a great spot to drink a pint this is the place. If you're a climber or adventurer, you'll love it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaWheelsTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Pole Inn also viewed

Inch, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Annascaul, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to South Pole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing