We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”
Review of Paddy's Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annascaul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paddy's Palace
Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't say I spent much time in my room, but it was a clean and decent place to spend the night. I stayed in a 6-person room during a Paddywagon tour, with four other girls. The room had an en suite; the shower had hot water and decent pressure. The two staff members at the hostel also doubled as staff at the Randy Leprechaun, the pub connected to the hostel. Honestly, our group spent most of our time in the pub, including dinner, so I didn't get a chance to explore the town itself. The dining room was dark and cold, the kitchen was buried through a series of rooms and difficult to find. The common room was spacious and cozy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpursell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
1
3
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlantis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a shame. Annascaul is such a nice little village and this hostel is situated in such a nice little house. But it's is so rundown and so dirty. The kitchen is a health risk, the stove is covered in old dirty grease, also the floor was full of oil and grease. You can't use the dishes, because they are sticky and dirty. The kitchen window is surrounded by hundreds of dead flys and never use one of the tea towels – you could end up in hospital.
The rooms are spacious, but when i lay on the bed I noticed an old chewing gum swinging from the the bottom of the top bunk. The bathroom is also rundown and rotten and full of mould. Such a place is a shame. Paddy's Palace seems to be one of those rip-off hostel groups, that take your money but spend as little as possible in their houses.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wobbobbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Annascaul hotels

Arras, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in this hostel as part of a Paddy Wagon Tour, it was the last hostel of the trip and definitely the worst : the rooms were ensuite but the bathroom was really dirty, there was even some mould on the ground and inside the shower. Moreover, it was noisy as the walls were really thin. The kitchen was a bit dirty but the common room was quite nice.
If you decide to come to this hostel, take something to eat with you as there is a pub just next to the hostel but they stop serving food at 8pm, and there is nothing else in the street but another pub (which is nicer but does not serve food in the evening).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here as part of a paddywagon tour. Staff were fairly helpful. Great common room. Our shared room was pretty basic, getting a bit old and shabby and the power socket was hanging out of the wall, someone had tried to tape it all back together, but beds were clean and comfy. Had an ensuite bathroom but no other toilets available to use if someone was using the shower. The bathroom door didn't really fit the frame....had to really shove it to close it!
Our heating was turned on but we didn't realise and we were roasting in the morning!
Kitchen and dining room were at opposite sides of the hostel which was strange, but seemed clean.
The pub next door was great, it was just our group so we had a great karaoke session :-)
They do great meals but we were sad when we got kicked out just before midnight!
The hostel common room is great. I do feel sorry for anyone trying to sleep as our group was quite noisy and the walls are quite thin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKateWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

I stayed here in Aug 2010. It was awful. I stayed with a friend in a room with 1 double bed and 1 single. There was mould on the walls, no curtains on the window, no socket in the roomand stains on the pillows to mention just a few problems. It was 24 euro for the room each which was expensive . In the morning every guest in the premises used the only shower in the building which was next to the room! Not an enjoyable stay. Staff were nice and friendly though!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I was stoked with this hostel. The room was spacious with a clean bathroom. Great location on the main street of the village. To make it even better there is a pub attached that serves yummy food for a good deal. Did not get disturbed by pub next door at all...had the best sleep in a comfy bed. Would easily visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-Gedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

The hostel in Annascaul was a great place to have a fun night. The entertainment at the pub next door was worth the visit, and the food was tasty and reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again. I appreciated the ensuite room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annascaul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
Harrington Hall
#86 of 151 in Dublin
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paddy's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddy's Palace

Property: Paddy's Palace
Address: 5 Beresford Place, Annascaul, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Annascaul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Annascaul
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hostel in the charming village of Annascaul. Very good location for walking, close to Anascaul Lake, Minard Castel and Inch Beach. Free continental breakfast and WI-FI. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing