We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A Pleasant stay but staff generally uninterested and verging on unfriendly'”
Review of Ceann Sibeal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'A Pleasant stay but staff generally uninterested and verging on unfriendly'”
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The hotel was fine and I would stay there again for the great location but we both found the staff very uninterested in us. We went down to the bar for a drink after we arrived and were basically ignored by all the bar staff and restaurant staff until the barman was free to serve us. There was no welcoming glance or even acknowledgement that we were standing there. We were waiting a good ten minutes at the bar to be served. This was pretty much how it went for the duration of our stay. Dinner was served in the bar because the restaurant was closed during the week which we did not know until we asked. Our carvary type dinner was pretty much handed to us in an abrupt manner by the middle aged waitress without any kind of smile and definitely no small talk. We had dinner in the bar yet we paid full restaurant prices for our meal which was only very average carvary food. The young female waitress was friendly but she stood out for us because she was the only friendly member of staff working that night. No other staff member would even make eye contact with either of us, Breakfast was 'functional' in that it was just delivered to our table by another female staff member who I think was a foreign lady. Again no 'good morning' no 'how are you today' no smile no nothing just a feeling of 'here it is eat it or not i could not care less about you'. As we were checking out the receptionist struck up a conversation with us and we were stunned because it was the only conversation any staff member had with us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watchta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    40
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night in this hotel. while checking in the man at the desk mentioned that the lift was making a funny sound all week, so we stayed clear of it,

Next morning we had just got out of bed when the electricity went out. We came down to breakfast was greeted by the waitress with "there's a power cut, we can't do eggs or toast". The only other choice was a fry which was pre-cooked. It was landed on our table as we were starting our cereal.
The man at the table next to us was looking for bread, he had finished his meal before the bread was replemished. People at another table had some issue with the service also as I heard them talking about it. The woman serving was not friendly and was very functional in her manner. Nobody came to explain about the power cut. The emergency lighting was very limited.
We returned to our room to find both our key cards would not work. A man down the corridor had the same problem, but his wife arrived and hers worked. My husband went down to reception and was given another key. He found the receptionist (she was actually the Manageress) unfriendly and unapologetic.
Then we discovered there was no water in the taps. This meant you could not brush your teeth, flush the loo, wash your hands, or have your shower. I rang reception (the Manageress) to find out what was happening, she told us the water supply was connected to the electricity supply so there was nothing they could do. She kept saying this (power cut) never happens .. it just did ! .There was no alternative. We were not happy . she rang us back a few minutes later to say the power would be back in half an hour. We told her it was too late as we were leaving. She got very defensive and in an abrupt manner said "well it's not my fault".
We send an email to the hotel when we got home, complaining about the uncaring, unapologetic and rude manner of the staff, but of course got no satisifaction.. how could we since the manager herself was the main culprit.
So beware, this hotel depends totally on it's electricity for it water ( which is totally stupid for a hotel), it has no generator, no alternative for cooking. It is unhygenic that one cannot wash their hands if the power fails, and I would hate to get stuck in the creaking lift. But most of all shame on the attitude of the Manageress. Oh, and we were charged the full amount, although we did not get the full service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkHoudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We enjoyed 3 nights stay here , with one dinner. Room was comfortable. Food was fine. Would stay again. Love this part of Ireland.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paddyhomeandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

this hotel has to be the best value hotel in ireland. it is a small hotel with great staff and very spacious well decorated rooms. there is lots of great food at good prices to be had nightly. we booked a special offer and this gave fantastic value. i will definately go back and reccommend you check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Ballyferriter is a small charming town with friendly people and great atmosphere. The hotel was great - clean, excellent food, helpful and polite staff. Also an ideal central spot on the Dingle Peninsula to explore from. We will be back in Summer!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robroyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend. Nice rooms and nice restaurant and bar. Breakfast was very good and so was the food in the restaurant and bar.
We were very happy with the service and the friendly staff so we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bannerman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2009

I stayed but one night - good quality hotel,beautiful views from room 14,spotless clean ,very nice staff , good breakfast - will go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treatystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyferriter
6.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
5.9 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ballyferriter
34 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dun Chaoin Hostel
Dun Chaoin Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ballyferriter
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceann Sibeal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceann Sibeal Hotel

Property: Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Address: Ceann Sibeal Hotel Bhualtin, Ballyferriter, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ballyferriter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyferriter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the middle of Ballyferriter village on the Dingle Peninsula, halfway the Slea Head drive with its breathtaking views, the newly built Ceann Sibéal Hotel opened its doors in July 2004. Nestled amidst an idyllic scenery, a walking distance away from the beaches of Smerwick harbour, you can enjoy a visit to the local museum or nearby heritage sites, have a round of golf on the nearby links golf course (2 minutes drive), enjoy angling, cycling, horse riding, visit the inspiring Blasket Islands and other activities, to finish your evening with a delicious meal and even a night of traditional music in our bar or in one of the three pubs across the street.Our charming, 3***, family-feel hotel has 26 bedrooms, which are all equally spacious and comfortable and are decorated to create a most relaxing atmosphere. Some of the rooms have commanding views of Smerwick harbour, the Three Sisters, Sybil Head, Mount Brandon or spectacular sunsets over the ocean.We hope to be welcoming you to the Ceann Sibéal Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ceann Sibeal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing