We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighful Dingle”
Review of Ceann Sibeal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceann Sibeal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 days in August. Small, cosy atmosphere with warm, friendly and helpful staff. Clean, fairly spacious room and reasonably priced. Food was good and sometimes excellent especially the pan fried plaice! Great location to see the amazing sights of the Dingle Peninsula and visit the Blaskets. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CeannSibeal, Manager at Ceann Sibeal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in Ballyferriter.
Thank you very much for your kind review.

Kind regards
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Ceann Sibeal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay,the staff has to be the best in the country,each and everyone of them are the most friendliest of people one could ever meet.The food was fantastic,the brown bread is the best you will ever eat.It is a very quiet place,not a sound to keep you awake,but has the most beautiful scenery from room 15. To Helena and her staff a huge thank you and keep up the fantastic work you do,will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doneraileanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for two days in August. The hotel itself used to be a pub many years ago but extensive renovations and extensions have made it in to lovely hotel.

The rooms are very spacious and I would recommend a coast facing room on the top floor which have spectacular views of the Atlantic coast.

The food is typical for the area with traditional Irish fayre mixed with some family favourites. The bar itself is a lively spot for dinner time but gets very quiet once food service stops as punters wander across the road to one of the other three pubs in the village.

My only reason for not giving the establishment a 5 star rating was the attitude of the staff other than the manager and Eileen, they could not have done enough for us. However the bar staff seem to find it a chore to serve you in pleasant and prompt manner.

Breakfast was wonderful the next morning with plenty of choice on offer and all served in a pleasant environment.

Will definitely be back but may week sup our late night drinks in another establishment.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room facing the coast
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobtageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

OMGosh! What a delightful find, in Ballyferriter! We were driving the Dingle Peninsula for the day and came into this little village which was as quiet as a mouse at noon-ish. We chose the Ceann Sibeal resturant and found the staff and food a real treat. The brown bread & Seafood Chowder were the best we had in Ireland. Not that others were not good, but this was VERY good! The addition of pumpkin seeds to the bread and a bit more honey taste was the perfect compliment to the rich well stacked seafood chowder. I believe a touch of fennel or tarragon? Was the difference in making this so good. If we make it back to this area we would consider staying here as well now that I have read the reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

stayed here for one night recently. surprisingly gorgeous inside pictures on website didn't do it justice! very homely feel to it, receptionist very friendly we asked her to speak As geailge to our daughter as she is fluent in Irish and she did for the duration of our stay! room was gorgeous really really big 5 of us in the one room and we had loads of space! food was delicious and reasonably priced! wasn't any entertainment in lounge or bar which was a bit disappointing but we were told was no rush to take the children out of the bar which is great when traveling with children! only one shop in the town closes at 930 and no ATM machine nearest one is in dingle but everywhere does take laser and visa! beautiful views of the coast and mountains, overall good experience !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

THANKS TO HELENA AND ALL THE STAFF ,We had a lovey three day break.The hotel is perfectly wheelchair accessible. The room,bathroom and bar all had plenty space.Beds were very comfortable and food was basic but top class. The area is spectacular. It is lovely to get a genuine welcome and the service that is advertised. We will be back again.

Room Tip: ROOM 19 is wheelchair accessible and has fab views of the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed last Saturday night, its is a lovely hotel, our room was very big and even though it was a very warm day, once we left the window open it was very airy and comfortable in the room. There was a double and 2 single beds, and still loads of room to move around. The room and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was lovely. The receptionist, who perhaps may be the owner or manageress was lovely and very helpful. I needed to use the internet and she allowed me use the computer at reception even though she was going to be busy with people checking out. It was lovely to hear Irish being spoken around us. All in all a lovely hotel to stay in and I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette48Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyferriter
6.3 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
6.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
780 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
869 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
Dingle Peninsula Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ballyferriter
58 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glaise Bheag
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceann Sibeal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceann Sibeal Hotel

Address: Ceann Sibeal Hotel Bhualtin, Ballyferriter, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Ballyferriter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyferriter
Price Range: $94 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located in the middle of Ballyferriter village on the Dingle Peninsula, halfway the Slea Head drive with its breathtaking views, the newly built Ceann Sibéal Hotel opened its doors in July 2004. Nestled amidst an idyllic scenery, a walking distance away from the beaches of Smerwick harbour, you can enjoy a visit to the local museum or nearby heritage sites, have a round of golf on the nearby links golf course (2 minutes drive), enjoy angling, cycling, horse riding, visit the inspiring Blasket Islands and other activities, to finish your evening with a delicious meal and even a night of traditional music in our bar or in one of the three pubs across the street.Our charming, 3***, family-feel hotel has 26 bedrooms, which are all equally spacious and comfortable and are decorated to create a most relaxing atmosphere. Some of the rooms have commanding views of Smerwick harbour, the Three Sisters, Sybil Head, Mount Brandon or spectacular sunsets over the ocean.We hope to be welcoming you to the Ceann Sibéal Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ceann Sibeal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing