We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 days in January. The rooms are big, have comfortable beds and almost everything you need. The only thing, that lacked was a bidet. Although we didn't have the lake view, the view from our window was magnificent. We could see a broad valley with some mountains behind.

The service is almost perfect. We mostly appreciated the service of a new women in reception and a waitress during the breakfest named Maria and Lenka. They were very kind and did everything with smile on their faces. We also appreciated the service of somelier who advised us really tasty Slovak wine.

Dishes in the restaurant were tasty, but quite expensive in comparison to their quality. I found a bullet in the pheasant during the dinner. When we told it to the waiter, there was no reaction, apologise or something. Maybe he didn't understand what we said..

Hotel has a very nice swimming pool with jacuzzi and saunas with comfortable deckchairs. You can relax there drinking pina colada and looking at strbske lake nad tatras. If you don't like children there's a special zone only for adults.

We took special package with skipasses included, so the price of the hotel was a real deal! The ski conditions in Strbske Pleso or Tatrzanska Lomnica are not like in the Alps or Dolomites, but definitely better than in Poland, so you can ski with pleasure for a few days.

Overally the hotel is really nice and it's a good idea to go there for a weekend or a few days to relax thoughoutly.

Room Tip: The view in "not-lake-view" rooms is also very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

What an absolutely amazing hotel. From the second we arrived my colleagues and I were treated so well - like royalty!
Unfortunately I didn't have a room with a lake view, although that was fully compensated by the HUGE SIZE of the room! It was seriously big enough to be someones flat! And the lake could be seen from the pool or on a walk/jog around and about anyways. What a stunning view it is too - it is the poster view for the Slovakia tourism campaign.
The beds were soooo comfortable. The bathroom was so clean and I had the best bubble bath with the really nice bathroom products they provided. The building itself is stunning, too.
All the staff were really helpful - I was there as part of an event with work, and everyone who was involved with us was a huge help.
The piano in the main bar was beautiful and the pianist was really good.
The food and wine in the restaurant was to die for - I think I put on half a stone after indulging in everything they had to offer! Oh and the breakfasts! Amazing!
The pool and spa were HEAVEN. The wall of windows showing the lake view whilst swimming in the pool is just perfect. Every little detail in the pool/spa area has been covered. I tried all the little things you could do - like walking on hot and cold stones, jumping into an ice pool and the sauna etc. I had a full body massage in the spa which was sooo relaxing, recommended.
I'd definitely go back to this hotel. Fantastic place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in Kempinski High Tatras with my fiancee. Upon arrival, we found our place in the car park outside the hotel. Receptionist gave us a pleasant and warm welcome & gave us sparkling wine & juice as a welcome drink. Then we were led to our room. It was beautiful & luxurious! Had a bath & a shower! Everything was well placed. We tried the Grand Restaurant for dinner, it was unbelievable! Beautiful desserts & very friendly & professional staff. The best part though, was the ZION SPA! Large pool, jacuzzi, 3 saunas, massages, relaxing areas, Kneppel's walk, Arctic & Tropical showers, etc. Plus, breathtaking views on Lomnicky Peak & the rest of High Tatras! All in all, the best hotel I have stayed so far, with all the amenities a demanding customer would look for! Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sirupook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We drove through narrow roads from Hungary across the Low Tatras where we met few deers and stags along the way. Upon arrival the fireplace in the lobby gave us a warm welcome as well as the staff. As we've arrived late, it was only in the morning when we realized how beautiful the view was from our room. The lake reflected the gorgeous snow-topped mountains like a mirror. No better start for a great holiday! We've enjoyed the walks around the lake, the tasteful elegant spa (also with a lake view) and the excellent, rich breakfast.
This hotel can be highly recommended - however if you prefer avoiding the croud you should stay there on weekdays as on weekends it is usually more busy.
It can be great any season - from spring to fall for great hikes and relax and in winter the slopes are just a stone throw away.

Room Tip: Lake view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I traveled to High Tatras for four days to ski in the nearest ski resort. The hotel is located in one of top class resort in High Tatras. The front desk as usual very welcoming and polite, no welcome drink. we got the room on 5th floor of five, the room is very space , the bathroom with heated floor is very nice specialy during winter. The interior is reflecting the mountains style. The bed is comfortable and I slept whole night. In room WiFi for free, very good conectivity, which is all over the hotel, even in SPA. We had one small maintanence issue, TV in room did not works during whole stay. The maintanence informed us that this happens if the hotel is fully book. The breakfest are ok , but I had better in others Kempinski hotels. The options of meals is just ok but nothing on top. The service during breakfest are sometimes little bit chaotic, we waited long time for cafe orders, no proactive offers of aditional meals. The facilities are perfect, we had fun in play room with billiard. The SPA is amazing, the pool and saunas with breathtaking view. I spended there five hours daily and we had not enough. The slopes are connecting by skibus which goes from hotel every 15 minutes. Overall the Kempinski is my most preferable place to relax and enjoy myself.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zdenek_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a fantastic place, which gets 5 stars on all points. The experience is sumptious, luxurious, warm, nostalgic of the grand old times of grand hotels, relaxing, and just memorable. I find it hard to say anything bad about this place - there is just so much attention to detail and so much good will on the part of the staff, that even if there were any minor inconveniences (not that there were any) they would have been excused.

Honestly this one is on the top 3 of my favorite hotels list, along with The Palace Old Town, Dubai and the Lake Geneva Kempinski (Mirador).

The style is "old money" where three beautiful old buildings (of the 19th and early 20th century) have been really respectfully restored, and added to with a fantastic SPA to create this dream montain retreat.

The resort (Strbske Pleso) itself is rather smallish, but still very well maintained and not overcrowded. The scenery is beautiful. There is also a very nice restaurant along the encircling path next to the lake, called "Koliba Patria" (15 min walk from the Kempinski along the shore of the lake). You can also do a half-day trip to Levoca (a beautifully colorfull Slovak/Hungarian town) and to Spis castle - an imposing, grand a somewhat eery castle ruin.

Overall kudos to the owners for the brilliant restoration of this place and to Kempinski for maintaining the highest level of service.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside room with a balcony (room 215 is great).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneNightTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent hotel. These five stars. Large rooms with expensive furniture and accessories. The bathroom has a large bath and a large shower, branded cosmetics "Kempinski". Very comfortable and large beds. Throughout the hotel offers high-speed wi-fi internet. Helpful personal. Especially liked the area SPA. In hotel large swimming pool with Jacuzzi. Huge windows overlook the lake basin. We were at the hotel in the winter and it was pleasant to watch the blizzard outside, swimming in the warm pool. Also in the area SPA has two types of saunas, contrast douches, salt room. All of these services are included in the price (free). Luxury breakfast also included in the price.
The only drawback of the hotel - it is the high price of food and drinks at the restaurant. In the village Strbsko Pleso you can dining is 2-3 cheaper than in the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms in hotel is very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcmaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strbske Pleso
0.4 mi away
Hotel Patria
Hotel Patria
#2 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wellness Hotel Borovica
Wellness Hotel Borovica
#4 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
73 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fis
Hotel Fis
#6 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Grandhotel Praha
Grandhotel Praha
#1 of 9 in Vysoke Tatry
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#3 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solisko
Hotel Solisko
#5 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras

Address: Kupelna 6, Strbske Pleso 059 85, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Strbske Pleso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Price Range: $221 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a fairytale at Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras – an exceptional grand hotel where traditional values are combined with modern services, exclusivity and luxury.Behind the doors of 98 rooms and suites guests are engulfed in luxury and get carried away from everyday life by the most breathtaking views on the surrounding mountains and the legendary alpine lake Strbske Pleso. Even the most seasoned gourmets will be amazed by the culinary delicacies of international and local cuisine at the Grand Restaurant. The elegant Lobby Lounge & Bar invites you to unwind in the cosy atmosphere of cracking fire while you enjoy your favorite glass... or two. And nowhere else do guests feel more pampered then in the unique and heavenly Kempinski The Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing