We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Patria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Patria
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Cadca, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

great hotel....beautiful location....a bit ordinary breakfast for 4star hotel...
good location, walking distance to the lifts. a bit quiet area.
nice and pleasant wellness, with a lot of Russians - I don't mind, but anyway...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prevadzka, Manager at Hotel Patria, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at the Hotel Patria. It is rewarding to read that you had a wonderful stay. Thrilled that you like our wellness. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.
Warmest regards,
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    43
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
32
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel during our summer trip in High Tatras and didn't disappointed.
The hotel is in ideal romantic location in all of the High Tatras - near the beautiful mountain lake, walking distance to the lifts (for skiing in winter or hiking during summer time).

Of Course the hotel is a little bit old fashioned, but very tidy and have almost everything You need it (free wifi in the room, mini bar, spa center, restaurant, small souvenir shop etc.)
If You want to stay in luxury hotel so better choose Kempinski High Tatras or Hotel Solisko (just these two hotels are also near this lake), but I`m recommend Hotel Patria as normal 4 stars hotel.

Tip to choose a good room: ask the room with the lake view (all these rooms have balcony and amazing view). Also if You will book this hotel through Germany travel organizator like TUI or Dertour - You probably get the better room than if You will come with the booking.com voucher.

Room Tip: Ask the room with the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGNESSSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were in this hotel several times over the past 10 years, especially during the Christmas holidays.. Surprisingly, very little, besides the prices, has changed at the hotel Patria in the intervening years.
Hotel Patria is located in the highest village in the High Tatras in Štrbske Pleso at an altitude of 1355 meters above sea level. The hotel is situated on the banks of alpine lake at the end of Mlýnická valley . Directly from the hotel Patria is a view of High Tatras Mountains and Lake Štrbske pleso. Hotel Patria is one of the spa hotel with a wellness Patria Aqua Paradise.
Sufficient accommodation, typically Slovak service and staff, breakfast buffet, dinner menu with salad buffet, half board included Christmas menu. The food in the restaurant is typically Slovakian -- sufficient , but not memorable.
Wellness Patria Aqua Paradise is brilliant, so many different treatment rooms - salt steam bath - Herbal inhalation - Eucalyptus steam bath - Roman steam bath - sanarium - tepidarium - whirlpool - Massage pool, cooling pool - Waterway, ice cave - Scottish showers, Finnish sauna, log cabin - Indoor Swimming Pool, but very expensive !
The nearest ski resort: Štrbske Pleso-Solisko about 500 m, track about 200 meters - ski lift 300 m - ski bus to ski resort,ski stadium.
Excellent location on a pretty lake, with nice mountain vistas. During Christmas fewer people on the slopes. The beautiful surroundings and maintained trails for cross country skiing.
We can recommend this hotel.
The negative things : payment to stay well ahead of
expensive parking at the hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors-better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Antonín M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountnBiker
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I've been to this hotel twice in the last 20 years. The first time was right after the break-up of the communist bloc and the second quite recently. Both times it was to visit my wife's distant relatives in a nearby town. Surprisingly, very little, besides the prices, has changed at the Patria in the intervening years. In the early 90s it was a bargain, as was all of Eastern Europe. But now it strikes me as being overpriced. From what I was told during the communist period this was THE place for well connected party types,and one gets the impression that it is still feeding off this past glory. By western standards this hotel is quite run of the mill, despite its impressive facade. The front desk staff speaks very poor English, but if you know German you are in luck as that is almost a second language in Slovakia. As has been pointed out there is no wi-fi and the internet connection is unreliable. The food in the restaurant is typically Slovakian -- pork, sausage, potatoes, cucumber salads, etc. Filling, but not memorable. The real draw here is the breathtaking scenery of the Tatras. There are many great hiking trails and some lovely vistas. But, these these not the Alps or the Canadian Rockies, this is a bite sized mountain range by comparison.

One word of caution, if you are darker complexioned, say Italian or Spanish looking, you may be refused service at first until they are certain you aren't Roma (gypsy). The anti-gypsy prejudice in Slovakia is extreme and pervasive. I experienced a taste of this myself because I have dark hair and brown eyes and because I live in the American South I often sport a tan. On my most recent stay at the hotel I was initially treated very brusquely by the desk clerk who told me in German, "We have nothing for you! Leave at once!" It was only when I patiently explained to him that I had advance reservations and was from the USA that he saw that he'd made an error and processed us. But he never apologized or ever made eye contact with me. It was only later that I learned from my wife's relatives the probable reason for his initial hostility. It may have been done in error, but I still did not appreciate being treated that way. It was an eye-opener into a very ugly part of the Slovak personality.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the mountain side, otherwise you are overlooking the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountnBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradea, Romania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 days vacation at this hotel and I am happy to be home.
It is too bad that the owners don't make an effort to give quality services to foreign clients.
First of all nobody speaks english here so there was no way to talk to the staff.
Nobody smiles or tries to help you in any way.
The rooms are clean but horribly decorated something like the 90's hotels. Definatly not a 4 stars hotel.
The slopes nearby are only for advanced skyers so if you are not a pro go to Tatranska Lomnika.
Not to forget that the temperature in the room was somewhere Round 20 degrees which is not great with a 10 months baby. We almost have to draw a heather so that they understood what we wanted but than it was so hard to give us one.

Only nice thing is the wellness area that is 4 stars but you have to pay for it 16 euros.

Never returning here again. Too bad!

Room Tip: Be carefull when choosing a apartment because there are 2 types one with 2 separate rooms one with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1DIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The good things on the hotel are: spa, staff, good food, good location, nice view, good value for your money.
The negative things: smaller rooms which are sometimes not so quiet, beds.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borisporosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Hotel is great value for money. Breakfast buffer is great. We appreciated high quality wide food selection using quality ingredients. Service at restaurant and hotel bar is friendly and professional.

Swimming pool and wellness center is convenient and functional. Includes small pool for kids. In Wellness you don't have an option to visit just sauna for short time. You must pay entire entrance fee which is 16 EUR per person - bit too much. Parking at garage is 5 EUR / day.

Hotel includes fitness center, hair dresser, kids corner, hotel bar and excellent authentic Koliba restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Strbske Pleso hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Kempinski High Tatras
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#2 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solisko
Hotel Solisko
#4 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fis
Hotel Fis
#7 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama Resort
Hotel Panorama Resort
#8 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wellness Hotel Borovica
Wellness Hotel Borovica
#5 of 8 in Strbske Pleso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Patria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patria

Property: Hotel Patria
Address: Shtrbske Pleso 33 | near the shore of the tarn, Strbske Pleso 059 85, Slovakia
Location: Slovakia > Presov Region > Strbske Pleso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Strbske Pleso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Patria 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Patria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing