We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Delight”
Review of Karriview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karriview Lodge
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Last weekend we used our cudo voucher to have some r&r. I had read some of the reviews and quite frankly was NOT looking forward to our stay. But to my delight as we arrived to see the stinning outlook I started to relax a little. I explained to the lovely young lady at reception about what I had read and she seemed to a bit taken back. We were escorted to our room which was governors wing 4. To our delight as the door was opened to a beautifull room with all the carpets new, stunning views through our windows and on our balcony. We had a modern ensuite with towel walmer all the usual shampoos etc. The kingsize bead was very comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets and plenty of pillows.
The staff were so friendly and NOTHING was to much. We spent 2 wonderful days there and I was really reluctent to leave. I would certainly recomend it to anyone that needs a peacefull break.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dot a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 163 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Like many others we had a Cudo voucher and stayed two nights - we had Bear's Retreat and found it a spacious and clean room. Reception was unattended on our arrival but our key and instructions had been left out for us so we could get settled. Might have been nice to have a follow up phone call to make sure everything was ok - but we had no problems finding things with the instructions. We shared a deck/balcony with 3 other rooms and it might have been even nicer to have a room with our own balcony but our deck was still amongst the trees and very peaceful as there weren't too many other guests. We loved our bathroom with its spa and heated towel rails - and we enjoyed our antipasto platter very much - definitely enough for the two of us with our bottle of wine. Our only 'down' on the trip was the noise from the television next door - we actually had to ask the person in the next room to turn it down - this was after midnight. The spacious rooms mean that the TV is a little distance from the bed - and is actually closer to the bed in the next room and penetrates if even a little too loud? Luckily for us the next night we didn't have anyone staying right next to us. A few little things could be improved - milk wasn't replenished and only one soap when the shower and the basin are so far apart isn't really enough - but all of our requests were speedily dealt with and in a very friendly manner - which we find so important to the quality of our stay. Liked the rechargeable torches in the room and the flyspray, the breakfasts were divine and the stars at night were just amazing. The restaurant was closed during our stay and thoughtfully the resort contacted us to let us know. Next time we'd like to give the restaurant a try.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Stayed recently at Karriview with my wife. Absolutely stunning region and a great property. The staff were all very nice and the rooms spacious and clean but we love our food and this part of our stay was very ordinary. If they fix this then they have a beautiful resort and food that will match it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ooost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed for two nights, using a Cudo voucher. Bella welcomed us and we were shown to Olive's Retreat, 1. The room was comfortable; though carpets were worn. We had a balcony to ourselves and we relaxed with our welcome drink and three small serves of dips with three grissini sticks and three tiny pieces of bread.
The bed was a pleasure to sleep on and the spa was great!
We enjoyed the walk down to the nearby beach.
Some strange occurrences! We attended the restaurant for breakfast, the first morning where we had a selection of fresh fruits as well as cereals and yoghurt. At another table, a family sat. The male member of the family ordered an omelette and he claimed to be staying in our room. Despite the fact that we showed the key to our room, when we left, the omelette had been booked to our room. I reiterated that it was not our omelette, and it was removed form our bill. I just felt that, as we had shown the key and the other patron had not even showed a key at all, that this should have been sorted out at once.
We dined in the restaurant, the second evening. The food was delicious and the prices were reasonable. We were the only ones in the restaurant, for dinner, but there was a group meeting in the adjoining room. We appreciated the service, given that there was a separate function there. (We had been asked to nominate a time for dinner when we agreed to dine there, that night.
The second breakfast was delivered to us by the Receptionist on duty. It was surprising to see Muesli without milk. When I rang and requested it, the Receptionist brought UHT milk in sachets. We had run out of coffee, too, so she brought us some instant coffee sachets, also.
I dislike UHT milk and it doesn't go well with delicious muesli.
The staff is friendly and we enjoyed our stay immensely. We thought it was an excellent cudo deal.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We recently had the pleasure of 2 nights stay in the Governors Wing (with our Cudo voucher). The setting was tranquil, with our own balcony amongst the tree tops. The suite was spacious and had heated towel rails. Dan, the new manager, went out of his way to ensure everything was in order, including trying to stop a persistent magpie from swooping on us, whilst having an alfresco breakfast. However, the highlight for us, was definitely our evening meal at the restaurant. My hubby ordered a fantastic steak, and my braised pork belly was simply melt-in-the-mouth divine. Absolutely amazing. As was the ice cream. The pancakes at breakfast were also terrific. The walking trail was great fun and a good workout. Our stay here was fantastic and we're looking forward to coming back and eating in again. Thanks Dan and the Amazing Chef!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaNJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in olives retreat with a fantastic balcony looking out to the trees room was clean and tidy and received a very adequate tasting platter on arrival..the staff were very helpful and accommodating and couldn't fault them.....I do have a few suggestions tho.....a small work top over fridge would help to prepare coffees....proper table and chairs on deck (a spa out there would be nice!!) and replenished toiletries...we had no soap for washing hands. We did the walk to beach which was ok to get to and did take 45 mins as advertised however coming back up that steep hill was a killer...decided to go via ridge(mistake) as no signs and got a bit lost thanx google maps and G network for getting us back
All in all tho a great place to stay and would go back

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulnlorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I purchased a cudo voucher and spent 2 nights at Karriview in a Governors Wing suite. The Managers were very friendly and inviting.... Service was great! Continental breakfast was always fresh and tasty - Plus you must try the Pancakes!

The location as a whole is breath taking. Beautiful walk to Gracetown Beach is a must.

Can't really fault a thing :) Maybe the spa's need to be a bit bigger.... thats about all :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaNAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowaramup
1.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
Grand Mercure Basildene Manor
#1 of 10 in Margaret River
714 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
252 reviews
3.5 mi away
Edge of the Forest Motel & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#6 of 10 in Margaret River
552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Vintages Accommodation
Vintages Accommodation
#2 of 10 in Margaret River
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
Margaret River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Margaret River
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karriview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karriview Lodge

Address: Lot 66 Caves Road, Cowaramup, Western Australia 6285, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Cowaramup
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cowaramup
Price Range: $174 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karriview Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to idyllic Karriview Lodge, a renowned haven of relaxation in one of Australia’s most beautiful destinations. Nestled in the heart of the Margaret River wine region in Western Australia, Karriview is set amongst a magnificent karri forest and walking distance to majestic white beaches, providing the perfect base from which to explore the region.Our luxury lodge is the perfect location for your wedding celebration, business retreat or special occasion.We pride ourselves on removing those modern-day stresses allowing our guests to really escape, relax and enjoy the south-west.We look forward to taking care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Karriview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karriview Lodge Margaret River Region/Cowaramup, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing