We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautifully located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taunton Farm Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautifully located”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Whilst it is promoted as a kid-friendly location, it is graet out of school holidays. Large campsites, nice views, freindly and helpful staff, and with a cheese factory one side and a winery on the other, you dont even need to drive !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSaunders, Manager at Taunton Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Taunton Farm is glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    63
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
91
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This camp ground was really very good on all accounts and although we were there as a couple, we can see how it is very family friendly. There's a huge jumping pillow (even big kids like us can have a jump), plus there's feeding of the farm animals by park guests at 6 every evening.

The toilet and shower facilites in this park were immaculate and possibly the cleanest we've seen in Australia (we've driven over 15,000km in Australia already on a touring holiday, so we've seen a few). We got there in the evening and that's the time that these facilities are usually the most unclean in other parks, but this wasn't the case here. They even had an arrangement of fresh flowers next to the basins.

The park wasn't too full, so we were able to get a site that was shaded and grassed. I looked around and a majority of the sites were mostly grassed, which was good to see.

The camp kitchen is set up in a large open-air structure, to resemble a work shed we guessed. All the usual facilities were there, as well as some pots/pans/cutlery, which is becoming rarer to see in camp kitchens. This camp kitchen has a bare-earth floor, which was a little unusual, but again we though that it was all part of the 'outback kitchen' look they were going for. In saying that, the kitchen floor was impeccably racked/swept, so it didn't appear messy at all.

In addition, we were cold in our tent on the first night we were there and after mentioning this in passing to the lady at the front desk, she kindly offered us a big blanket, which really saved us the following night. As they say, it's the little things that make the difference and it's this sort of stuff that really complimented our time here.

A minor concern was that the camp kitchen and toilet/shower facilities weren't centrally located in the park, so ask for a site close to the amenities if this is important to you (we requested this when we booked and the staff were happy to oblige).

Room Tip: If you're tenting, bring warm clothes as it gets cold in the south-west of WA year round
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FootFalcon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSaunders, Manager at Taunton Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are glad you had a lovely stay with us. We do take pride in our shower facilities and BBQ shed and really appreciate your positive feedback. Hope you strike some warmer climate as you head north.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have just spent the weekend camping at Taunton with our 3 kids. Our powered site was clean and shaded and just across from a beautiful green grassed area and jumping pillow that our kids absolutely loved and spent nearly every waking minute on. Hubby and I got to kick back and actually relax while watching the kids. Amenities where spotless, and the staff where very welcoming and friendly. Close proximity to wineries, breweries and Margaret River for supermarket, cafe's etc... We had a fantastic time and the kids are already asking when we can return...and we definitely will be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason and Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieSaunders, Manager at Taunton Farm Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we look forward to welcoming your family again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We camped at Taunton over Australia day weekend. Family friendly: kids jumped on air pillow as much as possible in the heat. The sites left when we got there did not have much shade, but the ladies at the office tried to help with an alternative to what we were given. (the temp soared above 39 deg C, so it was extremely hot). The tree we ended up under was fine for shade, but it did loose a branch on the last night that ripped our tent. Personally I would not want to camp under the big trees again. Ablutions were fine, always nice hot water for a shower. The BBQ barn was handy in the wind and homely, but I would recommend it gets a dust or wash down and the sticky jumping pillow too! Location was super as we managed to visit a lot of attractions from there. We might try a cottage next time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We camped there for the Cold Chisel concert. Great ablution blocks very clean and tidy. Excellent camping facilities (powered and water) including shared microwave, BBQ's(clean), heaps of chairs and tables. Sites were clean and shady. Management was extremely helpful and friendly. We did not take children but a great playgound, lots of grass areas to play in and a animal farm. Very close to all wineries and Margaret River town. Just a lovely place and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The farm premises was serene and tranquil. Stayed in one of their lovely little cozy farm style cottages for 2 nights. Farm animal feeding in the evenings. Animal Caravans & camping area available on site too. The owners were very friendly and helpful!

Location wise, not very easy to find. 15 - 20 mins drive down Bussell hwy from Margaret River town center (they have a Coles supermarket there).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertaleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was our second stay at Taunton farm, and the kids loved it everytime and can't wait to go back. We stay in a family cottage which is very well equiped, clean & tidy with a queen bed and 2 sets of single bunks it even has a tv with great reception & a dvd player. The kids just love love the jumping pillow and the playground, feeding the animals at 5.30pm everyday was also a great treat. The relaxing country atmosphere is great and the location is ideal for visting family friendly places nearby. They also have a great set up for BBQs and a small outdoor fire that can be lit to toast marshmellows which the kids love. Some places we visited while we stayed that were great and very child friendly were Palandri Estate next door to Taunton we had nice breakfast there they have a great play area inside for kids with playstations etc and they give a discount to guests. The new ice cream farm called Millers was fantastic best playground and awesome ice cream. The cowramup brewing company is a favourite to with good food & beer and a playground outside for kids which makes for a relaxing parents lunch! The candy cow is good very friendly staff and kids love the lollies. The Hedge Maize just past Margaret River is great also you can also take your own picnic or BBQ food here they have a huge grass area with loads to keep kids busy thats if you can find your way out of the Maize! I think its the great loaction of Taunton Farm and the Family Friendly affordable country atmosphere that they provide for your holiday that makes it a great place to stay. We can't wait to go back for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwifamily0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowaramup
19.0 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
9.0 mi away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#10 of 51 in Margaret River
140 reviews
9.9 mi away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#12 of 51 in Margaret River
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
RAC Busselton Holiday Park
RAC Busselton Holiday Park
#3 of 19 in Busselton
383 reviews
14.6 mi away
Margarets Beach Resort
Margarets Beach Resort
#5 of 10 in Margaret River
523 reviews
15.1 mi away
BIG4 Beachlands Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taunton Farm Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taunton Farm Holiday Park

Property: Taunton Farm Holiday Park
Address: 8113 Bussell Hwy, Cowaramup, Western Australia 6284, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Cowaramup
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Cowaramup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taunton Farm Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taunton Farm Holiday Park is located just north of Margaret River and Cowaramup, Western Australia, and is a unique genuine farm style holiday accommodation experience.We offer friendly service in a relaxing, peaceful, rural environment with private & family friendly features including farm style cabins, large caravan sites, bbq and camp kitchen along with playground with Large Bouncy Pillow! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taunton Farm Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taunton Farm Holiday Park Margaret River Region/Cowaramup, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing