We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is amazing”
Review of Elephant Hill

Elephant Hill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Te Awanga
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elephant Hill is a stunning and innovative wine estate and restaurant located on the idyllic Te Awanga coast, in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand. Stylish, warm and inviting, Elephant Hill is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy delicious food and stunning wines whilst taking in breath-taking views over the Pacific Ocean and vineyard towards the iconic Kidnapper Cliffs. As a producer of premium Hawke's Bay wine, our vineyard enjoys the spoils of a temperate, dry climate and an extended growing season. Our vineyards and winery are proudly 100% accredited by the Sustainable Winegrowers of New Zealand. Elephant Hill is your place to relax and enjoy great wine and food.
Paradise Point
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The view is amazing”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We came across this winery on the way to cape kidnappers. We thoroughly enjoyed the view and dining facilities which are ultra modern, but unfortunately the person who was running the wine tasting part was very limited in knowledge and really does need lessons in greeting and customer service, she lets the business down as being first point of contact this doesn't really help.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParadiseCoffeeDrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    101
    35
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Great 50th Birthday”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

12 of us went to Elephant Hill for a 50th Birthday late lunch. We had booked a Balcony room upstairs, so had access to the huge deck with amazing views. The service was great. We had picked a 3 course set menu where we had 3 choices for each course. The food was amazing and so was the presentation. Everyone was just so happy with their choice of each course. We would highly recommend it . Weeks later everyone is still talking about the amazing food. Beautiful wines as well. Thanks Elephant Hill :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Second to None!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Easy to see why this place has been awarded the top winery restaurant of NZ! The service was very professional, the views amazing, and the meals were absolutely stunning. They were so beautifully presented. The wine matches were spot on. I highly recommend this establishment, especially if you want World Class service and devine meals. Most definately a place to entertain guests.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality food with a great view”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had seared tuna for lunch, was cooked perfectly and was accompanied by great service which was attentive and professional. Five stars all round.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kapitikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mammoth experience at elephant hill”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We received a gift voucher for elephant hill, not a place we would normally visit as a little to expensive for us. But the service and the food was out of this world, we had a bottle of wine and 3 courses each.

Deconstructing the unique combinations of flavours and taste sensation was an impossibility, they were so enter woven. Words cannot explain how amazing the presentation, taste and service was. Was a very expensive meal, but made us realise that it is worth going out once in a while for an incredible meal instead going out often for an average meal.


Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant Hill also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Elephant Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing