We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
2
7
13
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2
7
13
5
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 27 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located on one of the main drags through town, it is near the night market and bus station and a number of local attractions. It includes a free trip to the Seri Thai Museum historical museum which is part of the hotel. A nice Thai style breakfast comes as part of the package. The wifi service was spotty for me but otherwise ok. The staff was super-friendly and helpful. On a reasonable low-end budget, (300 baht per night), it was a great value and a good place to find my way around the city. They provided me with both the local city map and the old antique house map when I checked in.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zjbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is situated right on the old 101 road in the middle of Phrae, ie not the new by-pass road, also called 101. It is a fair sized budget hotel with both fan and air-con rooms, we had two air-con rooms. The rooms were a decent size and although unfortunately fairly minimalist did at least have one picture. The rooms had high ceilings so gave a good impression of spaciousness. The twin beds were good size singles but unfortunately were extremely hard so not at all conducive to a good nights sleep, and indeed bad for one's back unless you are a fan of hard mattresses. However, I have slept in hotels with worse mattresses and I did eventually get to sleep. Lighting was reasonable though the one wall light above the bed had a tiny shade so shone a bit too much into one's eyes. The room had 2 spare electrical sockets for guest use as well as a shaver point in the bathroom – great. TV was a decent size and there was Cable TV though I couldn't find any English language channels on it. We were on the 2nd floor in 308 & 310 and the view was of the main road below and a building opposite so not great. Also it was fairly noisy at times when some of the bigger lorries passed. The rooms on the opposite side of the corridor overlooked the car park which whilst not great either would have been at least quieter. The rooms and hotel in general were fairly clean, no issues there. Free internet access was available, get the ten number password from Reception. Connection speeds in our room were slow and sometimes failed but it was OK for checking e-mail etc.
The bathroom was a decent size with a shower, toilet and washbasin. The shower was typical old Asian style without a shower curtain or shower stall so one had to make sure anything liable to be affected by water was removed from the bathroom before taking a shower. Water pressure was OK, no hot water tap in the washbasin so you had to use water from the shower if you wanted warm/hot water. No toiletries apart from soap.
We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and although we were the only customers there, service was friendly and the food quality perfectly fine. Menu was nearly entirely Thai but there were a few European & Japanese dishes available. Prices only about double what you would expect to pay in a local food shop, so for a hotel meal that was perfectly acceptable. Breakfast however was very poor, with the only food being provided buffet style was Kow Thom (Thai rice soup) and 2 fried rice, one egg and one chicken I think. There was also some slices of pineapple and watermelon but nothing else, not even any bread/toast which is so common in most Thai hotels. Also available was the usual jars of coffee, coffee-mate, tea and sugar plus hot water.
Service was generally fine with the staff being polite and helpful. English understanding though was very limited so don't expect to get an answer to any complicated questions - or better still, bring a phrasebook. Parking was plentiful and accessed from either the main road or the side road which goes past the side of the hotel at the traffic lights. Although reasonably central, there was not much to see within easy walking distance of the hotel apart from a few temples, and for the main sights one needs a vehicle, or else really enjoy walking. There were a few food stalls and food shops nearby but there wasn't a great selection close by. The hotel is handy though for the main road in or out of Phrae!
One interesting fact is that in the hotel car park is the Museum of the Free Thai Army, which operated from their bases in the Phrae area during WWII. It is open 0800 to 1700 and although small, is interesting to visit to learn about this little known aspect of the war in Asia.
Although there were some drawbacks, the hotel was very good value for the price that we paid and if we came back to Phrae for a short visit we would probably use it again.

Room tip: Although we didn't look inside any, the rooms at the book of the hotel would probably be better as they would be quieter. Always check whether the room has just fan or has air con as the hotel has about half half of each and it would not be good to have the wrong one.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I chose to stay at this hotel as it was inexpensive, near to the bus station...but most of all because it was recommended as 'our pick' in lonely planet. For 300 baht a night, I was expecting a simple but clean fan room. Clean it wasn't. There were lizard droppings everywhere. The sheets had yellow stains and when I lifted the toilet seat, there were stains of dried urine which I had to wipe away. Did they bother to check the rooms before assigning them to the guests? Since I was tired and was staying in Phrae for only 1 night, I decided against asking for another room. The last straw came when I had to take my shower. The water heater didn't work. They offered me another room, and this was one on the side facing the main road. All other fan rooms were taken. It was really noisy, and I had a sleepless night. I learnt my lesson...always ask to check out the rooms before making payment. It is NOT enough to look at the photos provided at the reception counter....and definitely not take advice given in guide books as gospel. To its credit, the location of the hotel was really close to the bus station. Needless to say, I will never stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

A nice clean and friendly hotel close to the bus station. The rooms are quite large but the beds are hard.

Date of stay: January 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelleper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews