We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than meets the eye”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoom Thai Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Phrae
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Phoom Thai Garden Hotel. The hotel, which was quiet and great for sleeping, is well located and within easy walking distance to the centre of town, restaurants and coffee shops. The entrance, lobby area and garden are spacious, lovely and inviting. Breakfast was very good and consisted of a number of Thai dishes, fresh fruit as well as freshly made pancakes and omelettes.

We had a superior room and though it was supposed to have been recently updated, it seemed to be only in part. Also, the bathroom did not seem to be updated and the cabinetry was old. The water pressure wasn't great and you did need to keep the spray at low volume in order to get hot water. Apparently, we learned from an English couple who were also staying there, that these kind of hot water systems are still in England and they were quite familiar with it. We did not see a mini bar or coffee making facilities in our room though they may have been in other rooms. Despite these things, the bedroom was very clean and spacious, and the bathroom was satisfactory and we would give it a 3 1/2 out of 5 though we would rate our treatment at this hotel at a 4 1/2 and a 5 for Too..

There is not a great deal of English spoken by the staff (except for Mrs. Saowalak Wisutthiphon, the owner (calls herself Too) who spoke good English) but enough so that we were able to get all of our needs met and all of the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Too arranged for the hotel's Tuk Tuk (with a lovely fellow who drove it called Suk) to take us on a very interesting 4 hr. excursion where we took in some very enjoyable local sights. We felt the charge of 1000 B was very reasonable and we were gone at least 4 1/2 hrs. and charged nothing extra. Later that day when we returned to the hotel, Too suggested taking my husband and I to the local market where she kindly bought us some local fresh corn and peanuts. We then discovered that our bus tickets to Chiang Mai needed to be changed due to an error by our hotel in Chiang Mai, and Too came to our rescue and kindly brought us to the bus station and did all the communicating in order to get us new tickets.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, General Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Carol,

Greetings from Phrae!

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Phoomthai Garden Hotel and for rating us on trip advisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your husband here.

Please accept our apologies for all incoveniences during your stay, we will improve for future guests.

We wish to welcome you and your husband to Phrae again.

Your Sincerely,
Saowalak W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    37
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
32
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had VIP rooms which were spacious but not comfortable. The air con was noisy, there was no soap in the bathroom, the slippers provided were old and dirty. The mattress was hard and uncomfortable. At first sight the hotel looked pleasant but with a closer look everything looked dirty, floors had not been washed for a while in the front foyer area or in the room. The balcony was closed in with no fly screens if you wanted to open it up and very grubby. The food. Was excellent and reasonably priced, the breakfast was ok. There was no written information about the hotel or the area.
Staff were generally friendly but spoke no English much. There was a gift shop which had a girl working in it who was silent and unsmiling, quite rude.

We loved the city of Phrae, seems most of the hotels are run down. There seems to be no transport of any type so unless you have access to a car there is no way of sightseeing. We were there to see family so were lucky to have been shown around sights which are kms out of town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing PhoomThai Garden Hotel during your visit at Phrae, Thailand. Also, thank you so much for your comments on Tripadvisior. We are really appreciated.

Please accept our appologies for all incovenience during your stay. We are now investigating the room including air-condition, amentities and bedding in order to improve for future guests. In addition, our English information and guide will be provided together with our English speaking staff in order to facitate for foreigner guests .

Please kindly let us know for your next visit in Phrae so, we will try to do something for your pleasant stay. We wish to welcome you and your guests in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Saowalak Wisutthiphon
General Manager
PhoomThai Garden Hotel, Phrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phrae hotels

Wuhan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Phoom Thai Garden Hotel for its location and for the garden setting with individual balconies. It met our expectations on both accounts. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, even on a very busy day. It consisted of mostly local items. The Wifi worked well throughout the property.
We disliked the noisy construction site right next door (not a problem at night), and we think the rooms could do with a bit of renovation. Our water heater was too small to handle regular water pressure. Only at very low pressure did the water get pleasantly warm.
On the whole we found this hotel attractive considering its room rates.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
330 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I did stay here for 1 night in a standard room. Although I did sleep well and the breakfast buffet was surprisingly good I would still rate this hotel as average because of the quality of the room with a very small old bathroom. If this is a renovated room then I wonder where it has been renovated.

Still not a bad hotel for Phrae and for a little bit lower price it would be acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangNoi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, General Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing PhoomThai Garden Hotel during your visit at Phrae, Thailand. Also, thank you so much for your review for us on Tripadvisior.

We would like to express our deeply apologize for your disappointments about our room. As mentioned earier in the previous review that we are now under renovating for all rooms which will include our toilet and bathroom. We have done all Deluxe rooms and PhoomThai Luxury rooms since early of this year. Hence, only our Standard room that haven't done renovation yet.
Ee will start renovating some of our Standard rooms on September 2013. The renovation process will be continued room by room since we would like to avoid noise to disturb our guests. We expect to finsih all of our rooms within next summer 2014.

Please kindly let us know for your next visit in Phrae so, we will try to do something for your pleasant stay. We wish to welcome you and your guests in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Saowalak Wisutthiphon
General Manager
PhoomThai Garden Hotel, Phrae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Phrae and side trip from Chiang Mai. We stayed here for 3 nights.
It was a step up from the year before ( see previous review ) The bathroom needs renovating.
They also have functions on the front lawn, in our case it was some sort of awards ceremony that went on and on and on complete with PA announcements every 5 minuets well into the night. We will try another hotel next time. We may find a good one in Phrae sooner or later.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nosaj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, General Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing PhoomThai Garden Hotel, Phrae during your visit at Phrae, Thailand. Also, thank you so much for your review for us on Tripadvisior.

We would like to express our deeply apologize for your disappointments during your stay at PhoomThai Garden Hotel. We are now under renovating for the new room which will include our toilet and bathroom. We have done all Deluxe rooms and PhoomThai Luxury rooms since early of this year and we will start renovating some of our Standard rooms on September 2013.

Moreover, we had our guest's wedding ceremony on the night of your stay and we tried to ask them for the limited sound. Unfortunately, it was over our control. However, we will strict to our guests on the noise restrictions for future venues.

We wish to have a chance to welcome you and your guests again next time.

Yours Sincerely,
Saowalak W.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
283 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Arrived at reception which is housed in a building which looks like a cross between a Thai house and an Egyptian temple but it is very neat and clean. The receptionist didn't seem to be expecting me and asked if I was staying for 1 night (I had booked for 3) also I tried to explain that my partner would arrive the next day and could he be collected from the airport-took a while to get this across with my limited Thai and their limited English. As their whole web-site is in English I was surprised that they couldn't speak english (but I did find a lady who spoke a bit the next day).
Anyway I was then taken to my room. The first impression was that it was small and dark and emitted a mouldy/musty smell. It did have a nice balcony with a view of the garden but otherwise: The bathroom was cramped with a crappy dorr that hardly shut, mould on the tiles the shower water was only lukewarm, smells intermittently came from the drains and during the night when it rained, water dripped through the ceiling onto tthe toilet. In the room the light over the bed didn't work and the bedside lamp barely worked, the TV was old with poor reception (no english channels anyway), the room slippers were worn and grubby, there was no tea/coffee making, no safe, no hairdrier, no information in the room about the hotel or Phrae, the beds were hard, there was however a fridge and enough cupboards and 2 nice towels. The corridors were also noisy.
Anyway apart from the room, the breakfast was very nice with a good selection, even the Northern speciality of Khao Soy was available as well as freshly cooked egg dishes. The staff at breakfast were very pleasant and helpful.
The staff at reception tried to be helpful but the language barrier made it difficult. I asked for a map of the town and they had one but it was unintelligible, not just because it was in Thai it was also wildly inaccurate with major bits missing! The only thing the girl could point out to me on the map was "Big C" (yes I really came all the way to Phrae to see BigC!) I guess that was the only english she knew. Anyway the Hotel is less than 1km from the old town, there is a 7/11 just a few minutes away and a few open air restaurants across the road where they serve OK Thai food and lots of drinks! They also play music at night and although we could hear it in our room it wasn't intrusive.
When the time came to collect my partner from the airport the staff had no clue what I was on about, so we had to start again and they quickly got the hotel tuk-tuk fired up and went out to pick him up immediately, so no problem. Transport options in town are rather limited for those without a car but the hotel said they had bikes: well 2 to be exact (small & pink, suitable for an 8 year old girl) with flat tyres, no brakes, soggy seats, moving parts that shouldn't be. Well beggars can't be choosers so we set off to see the old town. Well at least they were complimentary. The town is lovely to cycle around and traffic isn't too bad.
The next day we wanted to find out about getting transport to see sights further afield. The hotel simply had no clue what to suggest (strange since the web-site is called "phoomthaitravel"). After we said we wanted to go to the "Mor Hom" village they phoned the boss and said the tuk-tuk could take us for 500B return, quite a lot considering it's onlya few kms out of town. We had no option and even asked at the TAT office about transport but they had no ideas except for the bus station. Anyway we paid but they didn't charge for the airport pick-up and drop-off which was good.
One the day we checked out a lady who spoke fluent english was at the desk. Overall the staff were pleasant and tried to be helpful, the common areas of the hotel a very nice and it's not too far from the old town. The price is a bit high for the standard though. There are limited options in the town and there are quite a few old run-down looking hotels, so this may be one of the better ones. There seemed to be a lovely hotel being built next door so that would be a great choice when finished.

Room Tip: Don't go for the standard room but not sure if other rooms would be good value for money, so loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, General Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing PhoomThai Garden Hotel during your visit at Phrae, Thailand and thank you so much for your review for us on Tripadvisor.

We would like to express our deeply appologize for your disappointments during your stay at PhoomThai Garden Hotel. We are now on process for room renovation which especially focused on our bathroom and room equipments. We have done all Deluxe rooms and PhoomThai luxury rooms since early of this year and we will start renovating our lead-in room type; Standard rooms on this September 2013.

Moreover, we ran 100% occupancy and had 2 functions during your stay. The hotel was very busy due to abbsence of some staffs which might cause a dissatisfied service. Your kind understanding is much appreciated.

Please kindly let us know for your next visit in Phrae so, we will try to do something for your pleasant stay. We wish to welcome you and your guests in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Saowalak W.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Rai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

... and certainly not the best either I sadly enough have to add.
But I'm sure that it must have been the most elegant hotel of town when it opened its doors for the first time, whenever that was.
I love the charm of old hotels, but charm is something that has to be preserved.
When antiquity expresses itself in 'wear and tear' even the illusion of faded glory gets lost.

I must say that my wife and I arrived after dark and just wanted to rest a night.
But looking television for a while is my way to get distracted.
I noticed a very old television with an abominable bad reception. And no, we were told, the hotel was used to accommodate guests that even didn't want to look television ...
There we were standing, tired, feeling rumpled after the long trip in the car, and realized that we barbarians were not the kind of guests that fit in the concept of 'small town chique'.
We were offered a room with a good functioning television but for that we would have to pay 400 Baht more. It wouldn't surprise you that we checked out again, so we sadly enough can't say anything about the 'cereal breakfast' that was included in a price, much too high in proportion to what this hotel has to offer.
So if you might choose for this hotel, see that you shine your shoes and comb your hair before entering.
It is guesthouse quality level and as such above average, but the prices suggest multiple stars.
And if you consider the fact that it is six or seven hundred meters from a Big C Supermarket as a Big Plus, this is the place for you to be. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hillbobilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoomthai, General Manager at Phoom Thai Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all, we would like to thank you for chossing PhoomThai Garden Hotel, Phrae during your visit at Phrae, Thailand and thank you so much for your review for us on Tripadvisor.

We do apologize for your disappointments and a dissatisfied service during your stay at PhoomThai Garden Hotel. Further to the review, we are now on process renovation for rooms and equipments partculary our TV. We have done all of Deluxe rooms and PhoomThai luxury rooms which are our premium room type since early of this year. We will start renovating our lead-in room type; Standard rooms on this September 2013.

Please kindly let us know for your next trip in Phrae so, we will do something for your pleasant stay here. We wish to welcome you and your guests again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Saowalak W.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phrae hotels
1.9 mi away
Maeyom Palace Hotel
Maeyom Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Phrae
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Huern Che Ta One Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nakorn Phrae Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huern na na Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Come Moon Loft Hotel
Come Moon Loft Hotel
#1 of 14 in Phrae
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mee Bed and Breakfast
Mee Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 17 in Phrae
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoom Thai Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoom Thai Garden Hotel

Property: Phoom Thai Garden Hotel
Address: 31 Sasibutr Road, | Amphur Muang, Phrae 54000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phrae Province > Phrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Phrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoom Thai Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Phoom Thai Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing