We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse & Farrier Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

As a family we have stayed in the village of Threlkeld for many years. We returned in June for what we hoped would be another wonderful stay and were so disappointed. The pub itself is still lovely with a nice ambiance in a beautiful setting. The standard of food however has dropped dramatically and the service from a blonde haired lady behind the bar was certainly not with a smile. The worst service was from what we assume was the owner, an incredibly arrogant and rude gentleman who was also rude to the staff on duty. The background music was anything but background and if you dont like Jazz then oh dear me. Both pubs in the village are owned by the same people. We were so disappointed with the Horse and Farrier that we decided to eat the following night at the Salutation. This was a big mistake. The menu was like something you would find in an Italian restaurant and so terribly expensive. For a childs ice cream we paid £4.50!!! Absolutely appalling that a pub would even consider to charge this. We chatted to some locals at the bar who also said that both pubs were extremely over priced and that standards had dropped. They said that they were also much quieter and that not many of the locals actually frequented them anymore. This is never a good sign. On a positive note, the young man behind the bar was extremely friendly and we felt very sorry for him listening to the number of complaints he was having to deal with. Its a shame, these are two delightful pubs and it seems they are just going downhill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jooles H, Owner at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, however I feel so saddened by it. We have been at The Horse & Farrier now for a year and 4 weeks and our reviews have just kept on improving. Our staff are wonderful and work extremely hard, the service they give is exceptional. Your comments about our food standards slipping is totally unacceptable to me. The chefs are exactly the same as they have been for years and the recipes haven't changed at all. We had a very tough year last year with The Salutation Inn when we took over it had been closed for some time and when it did open would be closed early evening because it waspoorly supported by the locals and very quiet. It then flooded after the heavy rains last July. We made the decision to change the menu and give the pub it's own identity and not to be a poor relation of The Farrier selling the same food but a shrunken menu. We have lots of choice at The Sally with great bar food and the additional offering of homemade Pizza's plus many daily specials. I admit it is difficult keeping two pubs running in the same village in this financial climate and The Sally certainly would not be a sustainable business with the local trade alone, we have to try to cater for a wider clientele. You were very personal about my staff and my partner so I hope you will accept that I can also make personal comments back to you, customers are not always right, some albeit very few, infact a tiny minority, are rude and arrogant themselves. It is impossible to please them whatever we do. Feedback however unpleasantly written from the privacy of your own home always gives us the opportunity to reconsider and your comments about the child's ice cream are quite correct, this price was obviously a mistake and has been rectified. As for the Jazz music, we have a passion for music and it is a fundamental part of the ambience of both pubs.... Jooles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Horse & Farrier Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate here one evening. Atmospheric pub with good choice of cask ales. Only reason I did not score higher is the quite pricey food and Wine and a slight suspicion that not all the food is prepared on the premises.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

In some ways this is the modern concept of an Inn. There is a restaurant and there are rooms. There is a tiny place you could squeeze in just to have a drink but that is not really the purpose of this place. After some confusion of having booked and received a confirmation we then received a further email 'acknowledging' our cancellation! There was a slight hiccup when we arrived that they had lost our reservation for dinner (luckily the place was not full and we were fitted in). However the reception (in the middle of the restaurant) was very friendly and the room excellent. The food was also varied and good. You could spend a bit more and have the specials or eat quite cheaply. Wine list reasonable and varied selection (again you could spend serious money). Service again was excellent and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with locally sourced sausages, bacon and eggs. All in all a very enjoyable and relaxing stay and a good base for walking in the Lake District. Little in Threkeld but Keswick is very close.

Room Tip: They have an excellent two bedroom cottage which if there are 3 or more of you is ideal. 50 yards do...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is great. We had a warm and friendly welcome and were taken to a lovely room in the main pub. Jooles had phoned in the morning to say that she was able to swap our booking from a twin to double and this was much appreciated. The room was clean and very comfortable with a lovely view. Given that the room was above the bar area it was also surprisingly quiet. The bathroom was small, but clean and adequate for an overnight stay.

Dinner was good - hearty, tasty pub food, with really friendly and efficient service. There was a great, buzzy atmosphere too. Just what you want from a country pub. My husband thought the full English breakfast the next morning was excellent and I was more than happy with the vegetarian choices. The yoghurts were particularly yummy!

This pub is a model in getting service just right. There's a great balance of warm friendliness and professionalism. It's an example that many places could learn from. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A lovely old Inn, date over the door states 1688. Warm and friendly reception. Our rooms turned out to be in 'The Sally' over the road. As with most buildings of great age, the rooms are not of a uniform size, (as in modern hotels), and the shower rooms were tiny, but there is a limit to what you can do with old buildings. The beds were king sized and very comfortable. Also very clean.
Dined downstairs in the restaurant, the cheese burger was a great hit, obviously home-made, and the beef balti from the specials board was to die for. Superb. After a drink there we went over to the main building, every table was taken, with diners. The atmosphere was great, local accents everywhere, which I always think is a good sign. Enjoyed our drinks in there. Can't fault anyone .
Although my room overlooked the kitchen area(someone has to have it) it was quiet after the kitchen closed at 9pm, and as breakfast is served in the main building there was no early morning disturbance, a goods nights sleep. Breakfast in the main building was very good, quick and efficient service, and again, friendly and pleasant staff. A good start to the day. No complaints, would be very happy to stay again and probably will.

Room Tip: Apparently, the rooms in the Sally are bigger than those in the main building.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandbachRonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First time visit to the horse and farrier, but hope it wont be the last! From the moment of arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Jooles and her team, we were efficiently booked in and taken to our room, very comfortable with a lovely view, very clean too. Lunch and dinner exceeded all expectations, very hearty meals indeed. Jooles and staff are exceptional, cannot do enough for you, found it very heart warming that we were remembered by our Christian names and not simply as guests, made us feel very at home. The horse and farrier is delightful, traditional old charm, immaculately kept and maintained. location is superb for a variety of high and low level walks, we ventured up blencathra on this occasion. We must thank Jooles for Andrews birthday cake and for making a fuss, it was a real treat. The sister pub "the Sally" is across the road, more modern but still a delight. Both pubs have very happy and friendly staff who look after you so well. One thing to be aware of, the pubs cannot charge to your room, so for dinners etc you need to "pay as you go"- a minor inconvienience. Fantastic gem in the lakes.

Room Tip: room 5 is quiet, excellent king size bed with a good view and en suite bath and shower.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our 5th visit to the area but first to stay at the Horse and Farrier. We stayed in the annex which suited me and 11 yr old son perfectly . Every single member of staff - from the first minute to the last could not have been more friendly and helpful. Food great and we has to do more cycling and walking due to the huge breakfasts. Location can not be beaten for walkers, cyclists -serious mountain biking to gently flat rides into keswick
Recommended to all
The only downside to our 6 nights was when we had to leave :(
Ken and Jamie

Room Tip: Annex or cottages may be for anyone wanting a quieter stay
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threlkeld
3.7 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
762 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#14 of 17 in Keswick
466 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
529 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Farrier Inn

Address: nr Keswick, Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Price Range: $125 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1688 this traditional Lakeland Inn with its slate flagged floors, beamed ceilings and open fire retains all the character you would expect from this popular village pub. Situated at the foot of Blencathra in the beautiful village of Threlkeld with views towards Skiddaw & Helvellyn this really is the place relax and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Lake district. The Horse & Farrier is committed to serving food and drink of excellent quality amidst informal surroundings. We have an excellent reputation in the Lake district for serving home cooked Fayre either in our intimate restaurant or cosy bar. Our menus are interesting and varied with vegetarians well catered for. We have two pubs in the village which cater for every occasion,two cottages and 14 well appointed bedrooms. Jooles & the team look forward to welcoming you to The Horse & Farrier & The Salutation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horse & Farrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Hotel Threlkeld
Horse & Farrier Inn Threlkeld, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing