We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and good night rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Horse & Farrier Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
carlton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and good night rest”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a popular stay for walkers and cyclist and is still bustling in October. We (3) stayed here on night one of our C2C cycle trip to Sunderland.
We arrived in the dark but having passed here before we new were in for comfortable surroundings. The slight mix up with our room (should have been twin and not a double) was quickly rectified as we sat down to a glorious pint of 'Cocker Hoop' and an excellent hearty meal. All of the staff here know what they are doing and are very good at what they do.
Thanks for a great stay.
Darren, Chris, John

Room Tip: The accommodation is over 3 venues so make sure you know where you are staying. Our keys to the Salu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DezParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    111
    51
    25
    14
See reviews for
91
180
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have twice recently eaten at the Horse & Farrier. One evening meal with a friend - both he & I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Lemon Sole was beautiful.
I have also had lunch there with my partner. I haven't seen sandwiches so big, for ages !
We were so impressed, that we have booked a weekend break, in January 2013. So far, everything is to be recommended !

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stepping into the Horse and Farrier you have a real sense of entering an old Lakeland building. The beams and low ceilings together with the mellow interior all feel authentic and help to create a great atmosphere. Over the years the H and F has changed gradually - the restaurant side of things seems now to dominate - with more tables set for meals. They do however still have a wide selection of locally brewed ales.
There is an extensive menu and the meals we had were tasty. The service was friendly and efficient especially considering how busy they were.
Because of the age of the building the bedrooms vary in size I don't think any are huge but the one we had was comfortably furnished with crisp linen and had a bright airy en suite. We were originally given a room in the Guest House but it had several drawbacks, possibly a very tired old bed being the worst of them. However the new(ish) owner accepted my criticisms and quickly arranged for us to move.
The Horse and Farrier is well placed for the energetic to clamber up Blencathra - which also provides a stunning backdrop to the pub. For the less adventurous there's a pleasant walk along the disused railway into Keswick. You can then return to the H and F using the local bus.
All in all an interesting old Lakeland pub that I hope maintains the balance between serving food and providing a place where people can feel free to drop in for a drink.

Room Tip: In future I would avoid having a room in the Guest House. The building felt pretty chilly and the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elljay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have incorporated the H&F into some of our walks - it's a lovely pub with good beers, attentive staff and nice food. The pub is geared up for eating and is often busy at peak times. Very atmospheric, interesting, unspoilt and characteristic uneven floors. A proper pub!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a great weekend staying with a group of 12 friends. Good food and a comfortable room. The staff could not have been more helpful. This was especially noticeable at dinner where they managed to seat and serve us all together despite the fact that the bar and restaurant were very busy - in itself a testimony to the popularity of the hotel. The location offered great walks straight from the car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrChips186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Freshly Cooked Food... I mean really Fresh. Scampi was bursting with juices... so crispy ... and the chips were served in the skillet of the chip pan. With stunning views of Blencathra and its location being only 8 minutes out of Keswick Town Centre (towards Penrith on the A66 - take the first Threkeld turn off on the left, carry on up the charming lakeland street, dont turn off until you see the pub around half a mile from the turn off on the left).
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My fiend and I dined at the Horse & Farrier on two occasions during our recent visit to the lake district. The food was excellent.. The lamb so succulent and my fellow gentleman diner had high praise for its taste and generous portions. ... The staff were helpful and friendly ( the female waitress especially attractive and comely, really took my eye ) .... We found an excellent choice of fine wines and wonderful local traditional beer.... I would highly recommend a visit and I shall return... ( if only to see the waitress once again ;o) ... )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtKeswick, Owner at Horse & Farrier Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
We have a fantastic team here at The Horse and Farrier and also at our sister pub The Salutation so it is really nice to be able to show them your lovely comments.
Once again thanks.
Jooles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Threlkeld
3.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse & Farrier Inn

Property: Horse & Farrier Inn
Address: nr Keswick, Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1688 this traditional Lakeland Inn with its slate flagged floors, beamed ceilings and open fire retains all the character you would expect from this popular village pub. Situated at the foot of Blencathra in the beautiful village of Threlkeld with views towards Skiddaw & Helvellyn this really is the place relax and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Lake district. The Horse & Farrier is committed to serving food and drink of excellent quality amidst informal surroundings. We have an excellent reputation in the Lake district for serving home cooked Fayre either in our intimate restaurant or cosy bar. Our menus are interesting and varied with vegetarians well catered for. We have two pubs in the village which cater for every occasion,two cottages and 14 well appointed bedrooms. Jooles & the team look forward to welcoming you to The Horse & Farrier & The Salutation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Horse & Farrier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horse And Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Hotel Threlkeld
Horse & Farrier Inn Threlkeld, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing