We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant in all respects.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Cottage

Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink. Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Sunset view towards Keswick enjoyed from your lounge and patio.
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
View out of the living room on the the Helvellyn range and down St Johns in the Vale.
Modern cosy living room
Patio doors leading out on to the roof terrace
Kitchen/dinner with with view up to Blencathra range
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for four
View from master bedroom
Master bedroom, bed configuration can be one queen bed or two singles.
2nd bedroom with views up  to vBlencathra mountain range
Modern bathroom
Full bath with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Threlkeld, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Juliet H
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant in all respects. ”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Fabulous cottage. Absolutely spotless and equipped with everything that you need for a break. The linen and towels were luxurious and the bed was supercomfy. Could not have found a better location. Just at the foot of Blencathra with amazing views from the living room and patio. Within walking distance of two excellent pub restaurants (although a steep walk back). Last but not least, the owner Val is one of a kind. Could not have found a better host. We will return without a doubt. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2017
Thanks Juliet for your amazing review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about Val, she's still walking around with towels! Sorry about the up hill trek back from the pub, I think it's just a good excuse for another glass of wine before setting back! We hope to see you again.

The Sunley family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lyle47
east coast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

i'd give it 6 stars if i could.

nestled at the foot of Blencathra's southern slope with a view out the back patio across the valley opposite (to include Valerie's very pretty, well-maintained garden), you could just stay there and sip tea or wine and look out the double glass sliding door and see everything the Lakes has to offer from your seat!

of course, we did more than that, but we definitely enjoyed some rainy down-time doing just that. the cottage is well-appointed to keep you warm and provided-for should you choose to remain inside, with Valerie nearby when you needed her or fancied a charming chat!

my navigator didn't seem to want to make me stop halfway up the hill. don't do that! continue up to the top and turn left when you see the little car park on the right, and you'll see Sunnyside Cottage on the left, with a row of off-street parking.

even though you are a minute away from the A66 giving you quick access to Keswick and Penrith, you are far enough up the hill that you can't hear any motor traffic.

highly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to visit the Lake District!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Wow!! Thanks for the amazing review, Val is still working hard in the garden and having her little chats to our other guests. We hope to see you again.

Thanks
The Sunely Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deano51
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a wonderful long weekend at Sunnyside Cottage.
Stunning views, faultless accommodation. Lovely walks around Threlkeld. Two great pubs. Close to Keswick.
Would definitely recommend, and will look to book again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we would like to welcome you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H
1 review
“Brilliant stay at Sunnyside cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My partner and parents stayed here and absolutely loved it. Amazing views from the cottage of some of the fells in the Lake District. Well placed for getting to some of the less touristy lakes and only a 10 minute drive from Keswick to go for meals out in the evening. I could not recommend it enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us, and had an opportunity to explore the local area. The view is still amazing even after living my whole life here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopoli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean assessible home from home”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The three of us wanted a comfortable, assessible place to say - one of the couple I was with uses a wheelchair though walks with a crutch indoors. Valerie welcomed us despite our 9pm arrival and showed us around. The place was clean, the beds comfortable and we had all we needed. Off-street parking for 2 cars at the front-door was a bonus.

As others say, the view from the lounge is panoramic and priceless.

Many thanks. Certainly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, and we are glad the bungalow worked well for you all, with the bonus of the view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
1 review
“wonderful views, great base for hiking”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely few days here. The view is stunning, flat is clean and comfortable and it's a great place for walking right from the doorstep. We enjoyed some lovely walks, including challenging hike up Blencathra. A shame the sofa in the flat faced the wrong way but we turned it round so that we could see the view from the lounge! We enjoyed eating out on the terrace with the beautiful view of the garden and the mountains. We'd love to come back and it would be great for a family holiday with several adults as we could also rent the larger flat next door, sharing the terrace!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with and took the challenge of Blencathra on! Thank you for you comments and the layout of the living room is one we are considering and trying to adapt so everyone can take full advantage of the view. We hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for the amazing review, it was lovely to meet you both. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday in the UK and if we are ever in your neck of the woods we may just take you up on your kind offer and let you show us the sights, although I don't think we could fit the view in our case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing