We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Cottage

Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink. Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Sunset view towards Keswick enjoyed from your lounge and patio.
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
View out of the living room on the the Helvellyn range and down St Johns in the Vale.
Modern cosy living room
Patio doors leading out on to the roof terrace
Kitchen/dinner with with view up to Blencathra range
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for four
View from master bedroom
Master bedroom, bed configuration can be one queen bed or two singles.
2nd bedroom with views up  to vBlencathra mountain range
Modern bathroom
Full bath with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Threlkeld, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deano51
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a wonderful long weekend at Sunnyside Cottage.
Stunning views, faultless accommodation. Lovely walks around Threlkeld. Two great pubs. Close to Keswick.
Would definitely recommend, and will look to book again next year.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay and we would like to welcome you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H
1 review
“Brilliant stay at Sunnyside cottage”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My partner and parents stayed here and absolutely loved it. Amazing views from the cottage of some of the fells in the Lake District. Well placed for getting to some of the less touristy lakes and only a 10 minute drive from Keswick to go for meals out in the evening. I could not recommend it enough!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us, and had an opportunity to explore the local area. The view is still amazing even after living my whole life here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosmopoli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean assessible home from home”
Reviewed August 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The three of us wanted a comfortable, assessible place to say - one of the couple I was with uses a wheelchair though walks with a crutch indoors. Valerie welcomed us despite our 9pm arrival and showed us around. The place was clean, the beds comfortable and we had all we needed. Off-street parking for 2 cars at the front-door was a bonus.

As others say, the view from the lounge is panoramic and priceless.

Many thanks. Certainly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, and we are glad the bungalow worked well for you all, with the bonus of the view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine...
1 review
“wonderful views, great base for hiking”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely few days here. The view is stunning, flat is clean and comfortable and it's a great place for walking right from the doorstep. We enjoyed some lovely walks, including challenging hike up Blencathra. A shame the sofa in the flat faced the wrong way but we turned it round so that we could see the view from the lounge! We enjoyed eating out on the terrace with the beautiful view of the garden and the mountains. We'd love to come back and it would be great for a family holiday with several adults as we could also rent the larger flat next door, sharing the terrace!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with and took the challenge of Blencathra on! Thank you for you comments and the layout of the living room is one we are considering and trying to adapt so everyone can take full advantage of the view. We hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thank you for the amazing review, it was lovely to meet you both. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your holiday in the UK and if we are ever in your neck of the woods we may just take you up on your kind offer and let you show us the sights, although I don't think we could fit the view in our case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Thanks for the review, it was lovely to see you both again, Val enjoyed e catch up.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
814SarahT
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, cosy, clean, well equipped”
Reviewed April 26, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 3 night stay over the Easter break with my two teenage daughters. The bungalow is neat, clean,cosy and well equipped. Val was very welcoming. Threlkeld is a lovely village in a great location, within an easy drive of Keswick and Penrith. The view from the lounge is superb. We ate for 2 nights at the Horse and Farrier in the village, good pub grub and welcoming. We also went to Penrith for a fantastic curry at India Gate. This was our first trip to the Lake District and we did a walk up to the Castlerigg stone circle which broke us soft city types in to do the 10 mile circular walk around Derwent Water the next day. We were blessed with great weather and we were all overwhelmed by the amazing views at every turn. Felt very lucky and have vowed to return. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Hi Sarah, thanks for the fab review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have that amazing view out of our window after all these years we never tire of it. You must have taken the sunshine with you as we've seen little of it since. Please bring it back when you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing