We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect position, beautiful views”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sunnyside Cottage

Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink. Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Sunnyside with the stunning Blencathra mountain quite literally on your front door
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
Breath taking view down St Johns Vale from your lounge and master bedroom.
Sunset view towards Keswick enjoyed from your lounge and patio.
Have a barbecue or simply relax and enjoy the gardens and surrounding views with a drink.
View out of the living room on the the Helvellyn range and down St Johns in the Vale.
Modern cosy living room
Patio doors leading out on to the roof terrace
Kitchen/dinner with with view up to Blencathra range
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for four
View from master bedroom
Master bedroom, bed configuration can be one queen bed or two singles.
2nd bedroom with views up  to vBlencathra mountain range
Modern bathroom
Full bath with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Threlkeld, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
alisonjun...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect position, beautiful views”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

this cottage provided good, clean accommodation, there was a warm welcome. first impression from the outside was unexciting, then we walked into the living room and - wow! What a view, straight up St Johns in the vale.
Easy parking, walks straight from the door.
Dog friendly, excellant pub in the village for a meal .
Cottage was well equiped for self catering.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwatson20...
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Fantastic, Fanctastic, FANTASTIC”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a find, the view out of the lounge was to die for. The bungalow was well equipped and the bed was so comfortable, we had the best 3 nights sleep for a long time. Everything was of a high standard and we enjoyed relaxing on the comfortable sofas, taking in that wonderful view. Val gave us a warm welcome and showed us around, a nice touch. The location is amazing, nice and quiet and just far enough out to be away from the hustle and bustle but only a short ride if you needed anything. Walks from the front door were amazing and my husband enjoyed jumping on his mountain bike and getting straight out into the country, how he got up that hill at 7.30 in a morning I'll never know!
The only downside, we wish we'd booked if for longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We glad you enjoyed your stay with us, & yes getting up that hill is a challenge anytime of the day!!. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We booked this cottage for Xmas week and have just returned .To say it was fantastic is an understatement.We visit the lakes frequently and stay all over but this little place in threlkeld was a gem.The views were stunning very clean and comfortable and the decor and furniture has all just recently been updated.We had a dog and yes the cream carpets could have been a issue but we washed him off and also took old towels to put down in entrance hall.We will definetly return in the new year and I would recommend this property to anyone..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you next year. All the best for 2017. The Sunley family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillHowes
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and good value”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for four nights in late September.

The accommodation is in an gorgeous location with stunning views from the lounge and main bedroom. There is also a patio (I think shared but no one else used it while we were there) which you can sit out on to enjoy the views if the weather is warm enough.

Threlkeld is an excellent base for walking. We hiked/climbed up Blencathra straight from the accommodation. Threlkeld itself it a pretty little village, with one good pub serving excellent food and another not so great but more of a drinkers pub.

Kitchen and bathroom had all you would need. The bed in the main bedroom was very large and comfortable. Did not use the other bed so cannot comment on that.

Only one down side was there was quite a loud noise in the main bedroom when the water or hot water is used in one of the adjoining apartments. If they could sort that this would place would more-or-less perfect. However, it was not expensive accommodation so you cannot expect perfection. This place is very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views out the back
Liked least: The noise from the hot water/water tank
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2016
Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will take on board the noise issue and have a look at what we can do over the wi get break. Thanks again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed you stay with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy H
North Ferriby
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room with a view!”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was lovely. Amazing view. I sat in the living room & looked watched the sun set. The view was spectacular - too much to take in.
The location was great. We even ventured up Blencathre - a lovely walk by a stream.
Valerie was very welcoming + we loved our stay.
We really hope to go back.Even our dog had a wonderful time.
Thanks Valerie x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy L
Burlington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable comfort with amazing views!”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed 4 nights at Sunnyside Cottage at the Guest Bungalows in Threlkeld. Super easy to findicate. Close to the M6 and only 4 miles from Keswick, 3 miles from Castlerigg stone circle. Only 1 bath, but a cozy living room, 2 bedrooms, a washer and dryer, and a fabulous patio! Everything you need for a stay in the northern Lakes. Convenient for touring or hiking with a great pub (the Sally) just down the hill in the village.Valerie and Rachael couldn't have been more helpful.We hope to stay there again! Thanks!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing