We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Several excellent evenings here”

Horse & Farrier Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Threlkeld
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Several excellent evenings here”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were staying in Threlkeld and this was our usual evening stop. Beautiful views of the hills from the garden above the car park and the ales were very good. The food is of good quality and the desserts are to die for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveW321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    121
    35
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a wonderful, welcoming place the Horse and Farrier is!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I recenlty stayed at the Horse and Farrier for a couple of nights for my 40th and my Dad's 75th birthdays. We had a truly outstanding time and the level of hospitality was absolutely brilliant! The food was excellent, the ambience warm and inviting and the whole place looked great with all the Christmas decorations out. The bedrooms were lovely and cosy, probably the biggest bed I've ever slept in. And Jools and the staff (special mention to Keith for his laughter and going the extra mile for us - he became an extended member of our party!) could not do enough for us. I will definitely be going back many times in the future! Go in, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Doggie day out”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Called at this pub after walking from Keswick with our dog. Had a great 2 course lunch for only £7.50. Our dog was welcome & the pub had a nice friendly atmosphere. We will definitely do this walk & lunch again, would recommend to anyone

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fussyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top prices, Average food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We ordered what we were told was a great choice, the price was a little overboard for what the meals actually were, the service was great though

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank clemdec99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing country pub”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I spent a lovely weekend at this pub staying in their holiday let just over the road. We ate here on the Friday and Saturday, and the food was great on both occasions. Breakfast was also fab with plenty of choice.
The pub is really cosy with great open fires. It is also dog friendly.
However, the best thing about the pub is the staff. Never have I been made to feel so welcome and the owner was absolutely lovely. They couldn't do enough for us.
I would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimma2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse & Farrier Inn also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Horse & Farrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing