We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub, food, drink, service and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salutation Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Threlkeld
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salutation Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Threlkeld B&B and Inns
Staffordshire Uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pub, food, drink, service and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited for a bite to eat one evening in July. The pub has a great feeling about it. Friendly and inviting. Dan, the very professional bar man, head waiter, etc etc and his young, efficient blond lady colleague made us very welcome and served us excellently. When we arrived the bar was quite busy but Dan kept everyone served and happy. A great selection of cask ales and a premium lager are available and are very all well kept. We opted for pizzas which were very obviously freshly home made and deliciously prepared by the two chefs. Fantastic. The pub has a very relaxed, friendly ambience, helped by the great background music. Stop searching and just pop in for a great experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Revisited "the Sally" recently and got the suprise of my life.
Its got a new landlord who has made a major difference.
The set out has changed by putting the pool table in the back room making the restaurant much bigger. New tables and chairs make the place look really smart. The new menu is good and there is an extensive specials board.
The young guy behind the bar is very pleasent and very busy. On the 2 nights I went in he was serving at the bar, taking food orders at the table, bringing food out and clearing the table afterwards. Food quality and portions excellent and good value.
It's good to see a nice pub revived with a mix of local and holiday customers.
Keep up the good work......you deserve to make this place a success

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I went for a bar meal on Wednesday and was not disappointed. Pub looked inviting and well cared for and the food was spot on. Good Choice of meals on menu all at reasonable prices. I sat outside to enjoy the sun and scenery, both spot on. Bar service very efficient and friendly. Only small criticism is that some of the outdoor furniture needs repaired or replaced other than that, full marks. I look forward to trying some of the other fresh food dishes on offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProvincialOrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I went for a meal Saturday 18 th may
I was welcomed by a very friendly bar man he was more than happy to help me and my husband we ordered drinks and then sat down for a meal I ordered the lamb cobbler with herb scones and my husband ordered a pizza (which you could tell that all of the food was homemade and the selection of vegetables was fantastic)
Good value for money
More than worth it
We have taken a Boucher for accommodation and will be booking later on in the summer
Thank you for making our night special

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently spent a weekend in the cottage at the Salutation Inn. Accommodation was excellent and very comfortable, especially the bedrooms (extra large kingsize bed and jacuzzi bath!). We had breakfast every morning at the Horse and Farrier and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had two young children with us and were given a very warm welcome and were well looked after.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareW561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

A party of six of us stayed here just this weekend. Two couples stayed in main pub and one just down the road at the Salutation Inn. Accommodation was good, clean. Both pubs were welcoming and are owned by the same couple. Will be visiting again!

Room Tip: Room 4 in the guest house was large with small shower room. On ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaSavageGrainge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just got home to Norfolk after a lads walking weekend in the lakes and felt I should share with everyone our experience of the Salutation Inn and Horse and Farrier. We found the staff extremely friendly and really went out of their way to make sure we had a great weekend (cheers Lucy, Mike, Kathryn et al!). The food was very good (I had the slow roasted pork belly and the shoulder of lamb- both were delicious) and they had a great selection of local beers (and good Guinness- most importantly!). I've noticed a few reviews where people have complained about having to eat across the road from the guesthouse, but we found this to be a positive thing- we ate in The Horse and Farrier and drank in the Salutation Inn- both nice pubs so it was good to spend time in them both- really cant see that as a negative! Great walks to Blencathra in close proximity and Helvellyn if you're feeling fit enough!! Lastly, the landlady was an absolute diamond- She really made us feel welcome and tried her best to look after us! Cracking weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Threlkeld hotels
0.0 mi away
Horse & Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Inn
#1 of 4 in Threlkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.0 mi away
The Bungalows Guest House
The Bungalows Guest House
#3 of 4 in Threlkeld
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Inn

Property: Salutation Inn
Address: Threlkeld, Keswick CA12 4SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Threlkeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Threlkeld
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Salutation Inn Threlkeld, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing