We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Majestic
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sakon Nakhon
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This large older style 3 star hotel is best for location. The large standard room has fridge, desk, TV, is carpeted, and with breakfast buffet included. Efficient check-in [even late at night as Nok Air has only one flight to Sakon Nakhon from Don Mueang airport, BKK, leaving at night]. A/C room is clean, bright, with street views. Comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet, in the hotels Orangina Cafe, was good consisting of typical Thai dishes of different stir-fry vegetables with chicken, pork, Vietnamese sausages, stir-fry fish, Thai fried rice, chicken rice porridge with many selections of spices, sauces, noodle stir-fry, fresh local fruits. Western section has corn-flakes, milk, coffee [real good], juices [especially the pandan, melon juices, so refreshing and different in the early morning], omelettes, salad bar, selection of fresh breads, butter, jams. The buffet spread is very adequate and enjoyable. If not included in room price, breakfast is 100Thb/pp - well worth it. Watch in comfort, the busy main street go by from the restaurant or just outside this cafe is a hotel kiosk serving many kinds of drinks - coffee, teas, shakes, frozen fruit juices, to enjoy at outdoor tables. Location is great - just opposite the night/day market where you can shop and also try the many other Thai foods cheaply. Walk to shopping centres - Big C, Expo Plaza, Nevada Multiple and 7-11 just across the hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

Further away is the Orawan Vietnamese Cuisine restaurant - 0818232499, a "surprising place" as it is very modern, clean, A/C, serves superb Vietnamese foods to eat in or outside tables by the road. Recommended is the Viet sausage with salad platter - amazing tastes.This place also sells different types of Thai/Viet "snack foods", and local wines, sweets, which is well worth a try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OverTheMoon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 55 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

This Hotel offers excellent value. The rooms are spacious and clean and the location is very good. My bed was comfortable, the a/c was working very well so was the fridge. Spacious bathroom with hot water. Buffet breakfast was included with my room and it had a decent choice of food.The accommodation options are very limited in Sakon Nakhon and this Hotel although not a 4 or 5 star provides what is required: A good room, comfortable bed, good service and location. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are really keen on having Wi-Fi available (strong signal) then try to get a room close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustinPowers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I've been visiting sakon nakhon for the last 13 years and in my opinion this is the best hotel in the city, others may be a little cheaper but I think overall the standard of the rooms and the location make the m.j majestic the best option available, walking distance from the night market and the big c supermarket , excellent parking and free wi-fi and a pick up device from the airport for 100 baht per person very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chakphim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Generally speaking, Sakhon Nakhon is a destination for accidental tourists, rather than a destination in itself. If you're looking for a clean, reasonably-priced hotel, this is a safe bet. It lacks some charm and luxury amenities, which would probably be out-of-place in a city like this anyway. Nevertheless, we found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, and the 2 rooms we got were very clean, with fresh linens, pillows and towels. The amenities are sparse, but again that shouldn't be a surprise. The breakfast buffet was weighted toward Asian food, but it appeared fresh and none of us got 'tong sia' after eating there! Our visit was in March, and just like everywhere, there were lots of mosquitos in the lobby, room, and breakfast area.

Provincial capitals like this can be very charming because of the opportunity to see local culture up close, and this hotel's proximity to the night market was a big plus. Not only was there an abundance of tasty food (including a stall to the west of the hotel, near the street corner, which sold the most delicious mixed-fruit and carrot (!) smoothie I've ever had), and some typical stalls selling clothes, hair clips, fruit, etc. It wasn't noisy or seedy in the slightest, and it was fun to amble around for a while.

We looked at prices on Agoda, but got a slightly better deal by asking about the price in person. The value was good, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonbonmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is my first time to Sakon Nahkon and this hotel is very comfortable with warm friendly staff, always greeting you. Rooms are clean, have everything you need, probably more 3 star standard to home in Australia but really good.

Only thing I don't like is the pillows, too big and hard.

Apart from that very happy

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank PaulDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

MJ Majestic is across the street from the food market and 200m from Big C and the gaudy night market which seem to be the cause of the rest of the city's evening demise. Although it was Sunday night, the original downtown area was mostly deserted and shuttered.

MJ has 2 blocks both which seem to have been recently refurbished. In one, the simple rooms, shower only, are b800. In the block with the reception rooms are B1200 and are more comfortably furnished (& flat TV) and have tubs. Room 503, like most rear facing rooms had a view of a factory roof which was noisy in the rain. The refurbished bathroom was very disappointing as, although with 'new bath', the water system was old. The first flow was brown and it would have taken a long, long time to fill the tub. The shower was also a disappointment as it provided 3 or 4 tiny shards of water. Seemingly no QC after the building works?

Breakfast was included, simple but OK.

Room Tip: front facing rooms may be better but check traffic noise. Also chceck faucet if you want a bsoak and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sh_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were suprised to find such a good room at a good price when the biggest festival of the year was on in Sakon Nakhon. Good clean room and all facilities were of a good standard. Can`t believe the receptionist remembered me after I had inquired there about three months before and she spoke good English.

Hotel is centrally located and has a good carpark which had easy access to the hotel. Breakfast was good but mainly Asian which was no problem for either of us. When we stay in Sakon Nakhon we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulandnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sakon Nakhon hotels
0.6 mi away
@Sakon Hotel
@Sakon Hotel
#1 of 10 in Sakon Nakhon
34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hop Inn Sakon Nakhon
Hop Inn Sakon Nakhon
#4 of 10 in Sakon Nakhon
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dusit Hotel
Dusit Hotel
#2 of 10 in Sakon Nakhon
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PC Grand Palace
PC Grand Palace
#6 of 10 in Sakon Nakhon
3 reviews
4.0 mi away
Color Ville Resort
Color Ville Resort
#2 of 16 in Sakon Nakhon
8 reviews
0.8 mi away
Honghub @ Sakon
Honghub @ Sakon
#3 of 18 in Sakon Nakhon
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic

Address: 399 Moo 2 Koo Muang Road | Tart Cherng Choom, Sakon Nakhon 47000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sakon Nakhon Province > Sakon Nakhon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Sakon Nakhon
Price Range: $22 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Majestic 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mj Majestic Hotel Sakon Nakhon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing