We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with quirky servcie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawkham
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly with quirky servcie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice staff - but be prepared to wait for a drink in the bar or to have to order breakfast 3 times. Rooms are small and comfortable - but motorway is close by and Brands Hatch next door. So plenty of engine noise.
Tidy gym and random shaped and shallow pool.

OK for overnight but ......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views following your recent stay at Brandshatch Place Hotel. I was pleased to note that the staff were friendly and you found the hotel good value, however please accept my apologies for the slow service you encountered at the bar and the confusion with your breakfast order. I will be sure to share your feedback with the Food & Beverage Team to ensure that we rectify these areas moving forward.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    164
    69
    42
    27
See reviews for
93
215
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My first visit to this Hand picked hotel and my first visit alone, as my husband was away on Business. I was a little bit nervous about being on my own, but did not have to worry when i walked into reception the lady behind the desk immediately made me feel at ease.She took me to the spa and introduced me to the receptionist there. What a lovely afternoon i had so relaxing and everyone was wonderful. Thank you all !!!!!!!! my evening meal was delicious and my room was great. I would also like to thank the receptionist who was working in the afternoon and in the evening she was brilliant. Loved it that she remembered my name whenever i came into the reception area.Will be booking again soon and im bringing my sister next time so look forward to coming back in October
With best wishes Mrs Carol Binsted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJBCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Carol, thank you so much for sharing your experience of Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa on Trip Advisor. I was so pleased to read that we put you at ease and you could relax and enjoy your stay with us, the team will be delighted with your feedback.

We all look forward to seeing you again next month.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and having stayed at another Handpicked Hotel the day before we chose this location so that we could enjoy the spa. On arrival to the hotel we had a superb welcome and check in. The lady on reception was extremely polite and helpful. The orangery in the spa is a very welcome place to sit and enjoy refreshments, together with the relaxing lounge for guests to chill in peace and quiet was very welcoming. We had a couples full body massage and whilst they were adequate I just feel that the spa lacks ambience and appeal. There is no smell of oils burning any where or gentle lighting it is all very clinical and cold looking. We stayed in room 21 and what a big disappointment this was. The hotel has wonderful grounds to enjoy, hopefully from your room, however, this was not the case from our room. It was a small window that overlooked dustbins and the delivery area. We were constantly disturbed by the delivery of wine, bottles being emptied into the bins cars coming and going, vehicles being washed by a pressure hose and staff chatting loudly outside the window. We could not relax at all and as it was one of the hottest days of September we had no choice but to have the window open as the room is not air conditioned. The noise from the nearby motorway droned constantly in the background. We had a very bad nights sleep due to car doors slamming etc and this was mad worse by the delivery of the dustmen at 7.00 am to empty three large bins - we gave up by this point. The TV in the room is in the most ridiculous place on the wall and you really cannot see it unless you sit on the floor in front to the TV. Unfortunately the service in the restaurant was not up to standard. We were constantly rushed through our evening meal and it really felt like we had to be out of the restaurant so that staff could set up for breakfast and go home. We were served our wine once by staff, the rest of the time we refilled our own glasses. Compliments must go to the chef as our meal was outstanding, cooked to an extremely high quality and well presented. Despite different staff at breakfast the service was still below standard. We had to hunt for the juice and serve ourselves and our plates were not removed before our cooked breakfast was brought along which left us and staff in an embarrassing situation of juggling with crockery etc. If I am honest because we had booked an all inclusive deal of dinner, bed and breakfast it felt like that from staff. We were constantly reminded of additional costs of things should we wish to upgrade - which as regular visitors to Handpicked hotels we know. Included in the deal was a bottle of champagne which was not in our room on arrival and we had to ring down to reception to request it. I think, in fairness, we were very unlucky with the allocation of our room and I would urge guests to ask for rooms at the back of the hotel and if you are allocated room 21 ask for another room !!!! You do not need to take toiletries or hairdryer as these are all provided for you. On check out the lady on reception was apologetic and did take of the cost of our bottle of wine at dinner, however, as welcome as this was unfortunately we will not choose to return to this hotel as we feel it is below standard for the Handpicked chain and there are better ones to choose from.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 21 and ask for a room at the back of the hotel. No need to pack toiletries or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisylouHerneBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment following your recent stay at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa. I was really pleased to note that you were made to feel so welcome when you arrived, and that you thought the food was outstanding. Conversely I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your bedroom and the service you encountered in the restaurant, please accept my apologies for this.

I will be sure to address your feedback with the Food & Beverage Manager in order to rectify the service issues you encountered and to contact the delivery contractors as they should not be delivering prior to 8am. I will also look at the positioning of the TV in the room and an adjusting wall bracket to enhance the viewing area in the room where required.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a 1 night stay with my fiancee. Good quality room, very comfortable bed. Excellent spa facilities & good standard gym. Food was unbelievable - dinner & breakfast. Staff were very polite & helpful. Only minus is the noise from the M20. Would stay again. :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the very best
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night courtesy of the daughters. Good value; the £169 bought bed, breakfast, evening meal and multiple trips to an excellent spa. The room was large, bed comfortable, shower room reasonable with all the extras you would expect from a higher than middle ranking establishment.

Staff were attentive and remembered our names (nice touch). The dinner tried to position itself in the 1980s with small, nay, tiny servings of tasty food. Breakfast choice was reassuringly wide with some excellent local produce in the English department.

The spa's pool was just the ticket and did the right things for the wife. Outside, acres of woodland wih nicely marked pathways added a distraction.

The big disappointment, however, was the hotel's position right next to Brands Hatch raceway and the M20 whose drone was audible throughout the night.

Who in their right mind would build a late Georgian county house next to a motorway?

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa.

I am sorry that the positioning of the hotel was a disappointment to you, unfortunately the motorway and race circuit were built after the Georgian manor house, however we are currently reviewing secondary glazing in the relevant parts of the hotel to help reduce noise where appropiate.

All the very best
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the spa and afternoon tea for a birthday recently and were very impressed. Our group had vegans, vegetarians and gluten free. We would go here again due to the way our groups dietary needs were met. We had a great day, thank you to the staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks indeed for your wonderful review and score, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and the spa with us.

Chef will be pleased to note that we catered for your guests dietary needs and that you had a great day. All the very best and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were booked in here for one night when Chilston Park couldn't honour our booking. This hotel is at the end of a wooded drive and is set high overlooking the valley with a south facing aspect. There is ample parking. The building is very well presented and decorated in a modern style. All the staff were helpful, and attentive, and we had a good room at the end of the building. Our bedroom was well equipped, well decorated and comfortable, as was our bathroom.
We found time for a swim. The pool is quite shallow, but of a good size, and warm. Changing rooms are standard male/female with a 'pound in the slot' lockers.
The bar area is quite small but well presented with a nice cozy ambiance, where we looked at the dinner menu. The dining room comprises two large rooms joined at the centre and with many mirrors around the walls. The atmosphere is refined and calming. Dinner was very good, and a high quality, except for my wife's main course. She chose the chicken suet pie, which came less than perfectly cooked, and with a burnt bottom. Perhaps she should have sent it back. I chose the lamb, and this was excellent. We slept well, although as others have said, the M20 is quite loud, even overnight at times, but this doesn't bother us. Breakfast is best described as leisurely and relaxed. If you're in a hurry, get down early. We were asked for our order before we had seen a menu, there wasn't one on the table. The toast didn't arrive without a reminder, and there were no preserves on our table. Similar issues arose on the tables either side. So there was a pervading air of disorganisation, despite the best efforts of the waiting staff. This didn't bother us as we were not in a rush to get off. The food was very good, and the full english as as good as any. So, slightly quirky, but a very enjoyable stay overall. This makes scoring service and breakfast quite difficult!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Oxby, General Manager at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review following your recent stay at Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa.

I am pleased that overall you had a very good stay with us, and it was a shame that Chilston Park Hotel could not accommodate you at the time due to unforseen circumstances.

I am sorry that you found the breakfast service a little disorganised, something that I will be addressing with the food & beverage service team, however it was pleasing to note that you really enjoyed the cooked breakfast. I do wish that you did make us aware at the time regarding your wifes evening main course, where we could have rectified it immediately, and again I was pleased to read that you found the lamb main course to be excellent.

I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Regards
Andrew Oxby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fawkham
5.3 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
0.8 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
21.8 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
21.4 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
19.8 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa

Property: Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa
Address: Brands Hatch Road, Fawkham DA3 8NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Fawkham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fawkham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This sophisticated Georgian mansion, built in 1806, is the perfect venue for weddings as well as meetings, events and private dining. Thirty eight beautifully furnished rooms offer all the latest modern amenities - and when you have finished resting, you are welcome to drop in at the Health Club and Spa, a great place to work out, relax or unwind. Despite its rural location, it is within easy reach of major motorways and London, as well as Gatwick and Heathrow airports, the south coast and the Channel Tunnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brandshatch Place Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brandshatch Place Fawkham
Hotel Brandshatch Place
Brand Hatch Hotel Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing