We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
really well run "locals" pub

enjoyed several visits to this pub which is very clean, well managed and has very friendly staff... read more

Reviewed March 1, 2017
TastravellerDevon
,
Devon
Great meal in the bar

I had one of the best ever chicken parmys at Mackeys Hotel in Latrobe last week. Available in the... read more

Reviewed September 26, 2016
Wendy C
,
Launceston, Australia
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
5
8
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
8
4
4
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2018

All were happy with their generous meal... good choice and prices... friendly staff and service was good... nice pub..!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Kez S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

The locals know how to buy one and get one meal free, just go to the bottle shop, buy a bottle of wine etc, then you get a receipt and meal voucher.

This makes the 25A.00UD for a parma and 24.00AUD for Gummy Sharks reasonable value at 12.50AUD per meal, I believe that’s all they are worth, the Hawaiian Parma was good, the fish was awful. Family atmosphere but probably better value at somewhere like Bon Thai in Devonport. Where the food is always fresh and service impeccable.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank deepseadiverandpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

We visited Mackeys on Mothers Day and were under no illusion it would be busy and we would have to wait; especially being a large group of 9 as the restaurant was full but the time and service shown was just unacceptable. When we ordered our meals the lady at the bar was quite rushed and very rude; almost aggressive and unapproachable. We then waited an hour and twenty minutes for our meals with no apology or acknowledgement of it being so long. We then overheard the staff passive-aggressively arguing with each other at the bar. Poor service all around with average meals.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017

enjoyed several visits to this pub which is very clean, well managed and has very friendly staff ... the bistro is popular as is the gaming room - lots of space in the sports bar too

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank TastravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

I had one of the best ever chicken parmys at Mackeys Hotel in Latrobe last week. Available in the bar for $15, beautiful crispy crumb (and not overcooked as seems to happen so often), very moist chicken and plenty of cheese, great fries and a nice little salad. Didn't think to take a photo until it was too late! 9 1/2 !!
One of the group had the T-bone steak for $10, with their Tuesday special, and was also impressed. The roast roll for $8 got a thumbs up too. Definitely worth dropping by if you're in the area.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews