We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Assissippi Wedding Weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Russell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Russell
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Assissippi Wedding Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We attended a wedding that was happening at Assissippi Ski Resort and we stayed at the Russell Inn. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was quite comfortable and affordable. We felt the restaurant was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Russell Inn; we appreciate your time to post a review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
55
23
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Russell Inn this past weekend as my son was playing hockey there in a tournament. The room came out to $174 with tax which was outrageous for the quality of the room. Yes, it was a fair size, but there were no bells and whistles here. The room was very cold and did not seem to warm up until we called maintenance and they brought us two portable heaters.
The food was 'OK', but the prices were far too expensive. They gave us 2 $5 coupons that could be used for breakfast, but rather than doing this, why aren't the prices just lower. Almost $12 for a strawberry belgian waffle is ridiculous!
Also, the staff at the front desk should review the privacy policy. I saw someone ask for the opposing team's hockey coach's room number and they gave it to them. This is private information and should NOT be shared. I actually told the front staff this as well.
I feel sorry for the skiers and snow boarders who stay there for the weekend, because this place is an absolute rip off and unfortunately there is no were else in the area that is decent enough to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your review; we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to correct our errors and to discuss/clarify all other concerns.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us this past weekend and we have reviewed your comments and have spoken to staff regarding your complaints.

The rooms were discounted for the hockey tournament and rates were quoted in the email you would have received from us at the time the team blocking was made. Our rates for standard rooms are $116, one and two rooms suites are $164 and trundle rooms are $159. You were in a trundle type room and received the discounted rate the tournament received. We are sorry that there wasn’t a standard room available when you booked.

Were you able to speak with a manager during your stay? We sincerely apologize for the heat not working well in your room there should have been some discount for this. No question we are in error here. Please contact us so we can make this right.

The breakfast coupons are offered towards the cost of your breakfast and are not intended to cover the cost of breakfast.

The matter of the privacy policy has been looked in to and we have corrected this issue, it was a misunderstanding in information and we sincerely apologize to all guests for this incident.

Yes, we do have a large number of skiers and snowboarders stay with us using the Sleep & Ski Packages, which heavily discounts the rooms and offers a number of meal vouchers. These packages are very popular with our winter guests who stay with us while enjoying the fun at Asessippi.

We would appreciate you contacting us, 1.800.665.0678 at your earliest convenience to further discuss this matter. We value our guests and when we are in error, we do everything we can to make things right. We look forward to hearing from you and again thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct the errors. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Russell inn alot. I think im going to start going elsewhere. The rooms are overpriced and the food is wildly expensive for the poor quality. The breakfast voucher is a joke as a bagel with cream cheese is more than 5 dollars. The exact same item is less at Tim Hortens. They have signs down the highways claiming they have gormet food and 50% off rooms on sundays. I have never once goten 50% off my room and I have stayed there on half a dozen sundays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property.
We have tried to contact you to discuss your review, however, we have not received a response to date.

Upon review of your guest history with us, we see that you have in fact received the 50% off rack rate for your Sunday stays with us. Your other stays as our guest fell on week days in which you received corporate rates in both a standard room as well as a two room suite.

We value our relationships with our customers and we always make matters right when given the opportunity. We regret that you did not discuss this matter with us in person and we would appreciate you contacting us to discuss this matter further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The whole weekend went off without a glitch. The rooms were different sizes- just great for the different size families we had. The kids enjoyed the pools and the water slides. Chef Wes did a terrific job for the dinner and brunch (selection for both we well received). The banner was welcomed but not expected. We had the same banquet room 10 years ago for my son’s wedding party. We had family in from Saskatchewan who brought in some of their instruments – played for us and sang songs- my 4 year old grandson played a harmonica along with them. Many pictures were taken and stories told.

Wanda- thank you for your assistance in organizing this function with me. We will be back.



Wilbert

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was a pleasure working with you; we appreciate your return visit with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a week of driving the prairie, we spent three nights at the Russell in while attending a family reunion in Roblin. This was by far the cleanest hotel we stayed in for the entire trip. The rooms were spacious and accommodating. The restaurant food was better than average and the location was very good. Our only complaint was a mix up in trying to not have our room serviced during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rihintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hi there and thank you for the great review! We appreciate the time you took to post.

It sounds like the "no housekeeping service" was worked out? We apologize for any misunderstandings on our part.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Alberta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Russell Inn after a long trip from Thunder Bay. The reception was wonderful and also included a "treat" bag for our family pet. This was the start of a wonderful friendship as the room was very pleasant, clean and actually had two chairs which is unusual in many places we have stayed. After a very quiet evening and sound sleep we went to the restaurant for a really great breakfast in a cheery and spotless environment. Bluntly put - : it was great experience and we will certainly stop there on our next trip through the prairies. Additionally there was a special room rate that saved us at least 30 dollars over the comparable rates at other hotels. There is a pool, slide and workout room and also a great patio with at least three BBQ's. Also, if you have the time, take a trip to the downtown core. It is well worth the effort. Thanks for making our day!!

Room Tip: Access is provided from both interior and exterior which makes loading and unloading very easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to submit a property review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Our summer rates promotion is on and we are happy you were able to take advantage of it!
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

...It was along the way. We drove by the Russell Inn heading west and stopped next door for some gas. The exterior of the motel was eye catching with its new aluminum siding and little peaked roofs over each door. On the hotel site, is a restaurant with a Pizza Hut as an add on as well as a pub. Sharing the same large lot, there is also a gas station, convenience store, and a beer and wine store. The suites were convenient with a separate living room and sleeping room. Good value. There is a pool and games room, tiny gym and a laundry centre. Even has a big deck outside at the back with patio sets and bbqs. The bed was comfy and the AC quiet and efficient. A word of caution - there is a municipal airport across the field from the Inn. When we stayed there, they were spraying the fields. Lots of airport noise from dawn to dusk!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and away from Hwy. 16 would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanie68, Manager at The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a property review; we greatly appreciate your time and comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do apologize that the noise from the airport was bothersome...that rarely happens! Ooops!
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 83 Hwy 16, Russell, Manitoba R0J 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Russell
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban amenities wrapped in rural hospitality! The Russell Inn features 96 rooms and suites, a pool and waterslide, family restaurant and Kristie's Neighbourhood Pub. Other conveniences include a C-Store on property as well as Subway, Pizza Hut & Tim Hortons. The Russell Inn is located only 15 minutes from Asessippi Ski Resort and is the perfect place for your rural get-away! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Russell Inn Hotel & Conference Centre Manitoba, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing