We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great location, great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a nice relaxing break in the great hospitality provided George and Janet. Burmese cats and Hannah the dog added to the family friendly vibe. The view across the creek and access to the beach were a bonus - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

As soon as we arrived at our destination we felt very welcome. The accommodation was perfect with everything that you require, plus more. Lovely view and quality furnishings. Well done George & Janet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We called on the off chance for a one night stay after seeing the roadside sign saying luxury accommodation and were relieved it is true to description. The upstairs 1 bedroom unit was immaculate, with personal touches in terms of good linen, toiletries, pantry goods and an unexpected first day breakfast that made us feel very welcome guests rather than just another commercial transaction. The property is very private in a quiet cul de sac of up market homes, but you walk 30 seconds directly out the front to the beach. With no light disturbing you from other properties, you can leave the bedroom curtains open to watch the sea and stars and be woken gently by the dawn. Janet and George are welcoming and gentle hosts, keen to chat if you are, but astute judges of when to give you space. They go out of their way to care for you - I stupidly left my bag with cellphone in the unit when we left, and Janet deduced we would likely stop for coffee at Mangounui, where George appeared with the bag before I even realised I didn't have it. This will be our first choice to stay if we return to the region - it was the icing on top of a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniseedWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you are looking for a sunny, quiet, private, comfortable spot this is for you. Magnificent views looking at the sea through the pohutakawas. Welcoming and friendly hosts who have thought of every little detail to make your stay particularly relaxing. Stayed three nights but could've easily stayed all week!! Thanks again George, we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesslay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Perfect location and friendly hosts. We only stayed a short while, but this place is wonderful. Saying "just like home" is a cliche, but the attention to detail shown by Janet & George is second-to-none and makes this place as comfortable as can be from the moment you arrive. We've stayed at some famous and remarkable hotels around the world, but combine this location, view, hosts and amenities and you have somewhere truly world-class.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Beautiful setting for a weekend away. Picturesque beach views from the hill top near by. Recommend a sunset picnic from up at the pa. Luxury where it counts most and lovely hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed shere for 3 nights and wished we had booked to stay longer. We are in NZ for a month and this was the most relaxing spot yet. Perfect deck looked out across to the each and a perfect setting for a glass of wine each day at golden hour. 5 km walks on beach (back and forth) were a daily highlight. Lots to do nearby with great shops and restaurants either a short walk or a short drive away. The apartment is all you could ask for - has no cooktop or oven - but the microwave and the deep frypan do the job (we used frypan to boil new potatoes and it worked fine!) hosts were wonderful, attentive and respectful. Couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suite has a deck and is only steps to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxmtimesharenews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.3 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
1.6 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beachfront Suites

Property: Coopers Beachfront Suites
Address: 18 Bayside Drive, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coopers Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury Beachfront self-contained apartments on un-crowded, un-spoiled Doubtless Bay in Northern New Zealand. American owners maintain international standards. Great base for exploring Cape Reinga, Kauri forests and beautiful beaches. Free Wi-Fi, provisions for continental breakfast first morning. Excellent local restaurants, gift shops and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopers Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing