We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations on all counts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I was immediately taken by the charming tree-framed view towards the beach whose rolling waves lulled us to sleep. Very friendly welcome and it seemed our every possible need had been provided for from a welcoming fruit basket to beachchairs. We spent a wonderful evening sitting on the beach with a bottle of wine and takeout food and couldn't have been happier!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtinaWons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

Superb 5 days at Coopers Beachfront Suites. Perfect location with a stunning beach on the doorstep. 5km run each morning along pohutukawa-fringed beach followed by a relaxing swim in the sea. Interesting Maori pa sites immediately adjacent, and just a couple of minutes' drive to beautiful and historic Mangonui fishing village. Great location for cycling, walking and exploring the Far North. Janet and George were welcoming and knowledgable hosts, and their delightful 'westie' dog and burmese cats were an added bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Coopers Beachfront Suites. George and Janet were terrific. Even with a bit of rain, there is tons to do outside: the beaches (of course), nature walks, photography, climbing over rocks and more. We wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you, George and Janet, for sharing your wonderful place with us. We had a magnificent time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed two nights here while touring northland, I swam in the sea, it was great, the beach is lovely. George and Janet were extremely hospitable hosts, and provided more in the way of breakfast items than we expected, OJ, bread, jams, milk & basket of fruit, thank you! Plus toiletries in the bathroom.
There is a vacant section between the property and beach but your own walkway down steps to a creek which runs into the sea, great photo opportunities with the huge flowering pohutukawas lining the beach frontage. For elderly or disabled persons, these steps are unsuitable but there is another paved beach access one house away.
I took my deckchair out onto the vacant section with my camera and Janet kindly surprised me with a glass of wine to complement the setting.
Suggestions were offered on eateries in the area which was appreciated.
The reason I have rated VG rather than excellent is due to the word 'luxury' on the web page, therefore my expectations were a little higher. The building is showing signs of age now but is immaculately clean and well presented. We were in the lower suite and you can hear the guests above walking (someone was up at 3am), but I am a very light sleeper.
Also, I chose this property partly because it reads on web page "not suitable for children". When we stayed there was a family of four above us, but the young children were well-behaved so no problem.
I left my bikini draped on the fan when we left and Janet phoned me (but we were out of coverage) and then kindly posted it to me. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs suite for a better view, if you are able to do a flight of stairs ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our second stay at Coopers Beachfront Suites, and we are reluctant to leave. The apt is equipped with every amenity possible. Sunny rooms with a view to pahutakawas and the beach- so close we can hear the waves all day & night. Hosts George & Janet are lovely, & proud to share their bit of heaven. Thank you for pure peace & relaxation!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlabadarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We have just returned home to the UK having stayed at 28 different places in our 2 months exploration of New Zealand and I am pleased to report that Janet & George's Beachfront Suite is top of our list. It was so good we extended our stay to 5 nights. We were in the upstairs suite which had great views and was furnished to a very high standard. A superb location to relax in luxury with direct access to the beach and to explore the Far North. Our hosts were unobtrusive yet available to help and assist on request.

Margaret & Bob

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Fall asleep with the gentle sounds of the sea and awaken to beautiful views of the bay and beach from every window and the balcony. Be walking, swimming or sitting on the beach in moments. Perhaps the best beachcombing and shell collecting anywhere. Gorgeous, quiet, and private. The suite is well decorated, furnished, and stocked. Friendly hosts Janet and George are a wealth of information. We booked four nights and decided to stay five and wished we had stayed longer. This is a wonderful place to stay but additionally makes a perfect location for visiting all the Northland treasures conveniently.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.6 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.2 mi away
Sanctuary in the Cove
Sanctuary in the Cove
#4 of 4 in Coopers Beach
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopers Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopers Beachfront Suites

Address: 18 Bayside Drive, Coopers Beach, Mangonui, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range: $122 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coopers Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two luxury Beachfront self-contained apartments on un-crowded, un-spoiled Doubtless Bay in Northern New Zealand. American owners maintain international standards. Great base for exploring Cape Reinga, Kauri forests and beautiful beaches. Free Wi-Fi, provisions for continental breakfast first morning. Excellent local restaurants, gift shops and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Coopers Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing