We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay, we can’t wait to go back.”
Review of Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay, we can’t wait to go back.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We’ve found our new favourite place!! Beach Lodge and Coopers Beach are outstanding!! Our 2 bedroom unit was fantastic, pleasantly decorated, immaculately clean and very well equipped. With views across Doubtless Bay from the deck, the lounge and the bedrooms it was difficult to drag ourselves away to do anything but sit back, relax and enjoy our time here. We wandered down the stairs to the beach and dipped our toes in the sea, strolled along the beach and took many, many photo’s, this is a beautiful place. Margaret is a wonderful host with a wealth of local information, we followed her recommendations for local restaurants, which were excellent, and were guided by her local knowledge with regards our onward journey. Beach Lodge is a fantastic place to stay, we all loved our stay and can’t wait to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here over a number of years and it rates as our favourite holiday destination. The location is superb, the beach stunning, the accommodation excellent and very comfortable with beautiful views over the bay. Margaret, the owner and host is outstanding. She is attentive without being intrusive - very helpful with any travel, holiday, restaurant bookings or tips. The number of guests who return, as indicated in the Visitors Book, confirms the enjoyment of the Beach Lodge experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My Boyfriend and I cannot say enough about our stay here. We are recommending it to everyone we know! Quiet and peaceful beachfront with beach access just steps away from our unit. Quaint little cottage setting and everything we could need from kitchen supplies to kayaks, boogie boards, beach towels and laundry faculties. Truly a home away from home (but a much more luxurious one) Beautiful deck overlooking coopers beach where we had breakfast lunch and dinner and the design of the property gave you complete privacy on your patio from your neighbours. You can tell this place is warmly loved and looked after, it showed. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else on our next visit to Northland. Absolutely Spectacular.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room the setting is just so spectacular. we had unit # 3 and just loved it. It ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P1danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

An excellent beach front location, outstanding self contained accommodation (everything has been thought of), good quality shops & restaurants nearby. Wifi and laundry facilities really first class. The best part is Margaret the host, where nothing is too much trouble. Of our 28 stops in NZ, this was the best - very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A and L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2014

What an amazing place that is! We have stayed at the Beach Lodge twice now and everytime we stayed there we have really enjoyed it. The place is very clean, has the most stunning views of the sea, fully serviced and Margaret is a very friendly and welcoming host. We'll be back again and recommend to all our friemds and family.
Thank you Margaret!
Jenny

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Well appointed apartments on a beautiful beachfront. There are steps straight down to the golden sandy beach and gorgeous views from the rooms. The apartment was very clean with good facilities including high pressure shower and comfortable deck furniture. The owner is lovely and very interesting. Beach towels, boogie boards and laundry services are all provided free of charge. Wonderful spot, really worth spending a few relaxing days at!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karatiara91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We needed a break away from the busy Auckland scene both having been travelling and needing time together and chill out - well this fitted the bill to perfection - we have the very gorgeous recently refurbished Sunset Cottage which was simply divine - balcony sitting out amongst the pohutakawas enjoying the sound of the waves on the beach, watching people below walking by on the beach and just relaxing with each other - Margaret has done a wonderful job and a great property for everyone to enjoy - we shall definitely be back and will book a winter weekend as can only just imagine how special it will be to watch a storm pass across the bay and you are tucked up in the trees watching the world go by.

Room Tip: Definitely request Sunset Cottage/Apartment - perfect for 2 people - very private and superb fit out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
11.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
1.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Property: Beach Lodge
Address: PO Box 190, Mangonui | Far North 0557, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing