We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach comfort :)”
Review of Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coopers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“On the beach comfort :)”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Margaret is a fabulous host - really friendly and helpful.
Really comfortable accommodation, right on the beach. Wake to the view through mature Pohutakawa trees and the sound of waves right off your private balcony.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
49
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Kindest, warmest, most heartfelt reception ever! The property is perfectly appointed, has the best TV and Wi-Fi in New Zealand (if you care - which you shouldn't when you're here), and is absolutely immaculate. I had 5 blissful days here, and I can't thank Margaret enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed three nights at Beach Lodge recently. We found it extremely difficult to leave. Who would want to leave this brilliant beach front position overlooking a safe 2 km white sandy beach lined with shady Pohutakawa trees, which at rush hour, may have 20 people on it? The room was spacious, very well appointed, with two seperate bedrooms, a wonderful large deck with extremely comfortable outdoor furniture, free wi fi, two televisions and excellent cable TV coverage. We enjoyed the famous Mangonui fish and chips (which lived up to their reputation)and Thai food from the local restaurants and there was a choice of good cafes in the area. There are so many different beach options to visit in the vicinity, but my favourite is definitely Coopers Beach as it has more shelter. Plus there's lots to see and do while you're there (boating, fishing etc), but we just wanted to relax for a few days. Local amenities (supermarket etc), are close to the accommodation but once you are on the beach you feel you are miles from anywhere. Going to sleep with the sound of the sea so close was so relaxing. Margaret is a wonderful host, extremely welcoming and friendly. Some of the other beachfront motels looked tired and dated. This is definitely a very special representation of what New Zealand has to offer independent travellers without any pretention - just a very personal authentic experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked the Beach Lodge as an ideal starting point for our Northland exploration. We then found out, that the place alone is already worth a great holiday. The lodge is directly at the fantastic beach and the lodge is perfect in every aspect.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Bongartz_1der1_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

On arrival at Beach Lodge we were greeted in a friendly, welcoming manner by Margaret who showed us where to park and took us to our unit. When we stepped through the entry door of our accommodation at Beach lodge our reaction was WOW! The decor was fresh with blue, white and timber. The kitchen, main bedroom and bathroom are on the entry level with stairs going up to a lovely attic room with 2 single beds.We stepped out on to the balcony complete with comfortable outdoor furniture to take in the view which was just lovely.Absolute beachfront, the sand and the waves were so close and it was just a short walk down to the beach. It was so nice to just sit and relax on the balcony with the calming sound of the waves on the shore.
We had unit 4 which was down the end. We were very happy with the very well equipped kitchen, the comfortable beds and pillows that were just the right height and the cleanliness of everything.
Coopers Beach is a great beach to walk on and you can use kayaks provided by Beach Lodge to paddle around on the water. There are only a few shops in Coopers Beach including a Four Square supermarket and a fish shop. Coopers Beach and Beach Lodge is definitely a great place to stay to explore the Doubtless Bay area of Northland, New Zealand.

Room Tip: Unit 4 is down the end and only has one unit on the other side of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

During our NZ trip in Dec 2012 we stayed at many Tripadvisor top rated places. Beach Lodge was clearly the winner! The rooms are very well designed/comfortable and come with a kitchen that has everything you will ever need...far more than the normal rental kitchen. There is a spacious deck with comfortable furniture where you can relax and enjoy the fabulous view which is directly onto a beautiful beach. There are also kayaks that you can borrow

However the icing on the cake is the owner, Margaret, who is a wonderful host and will make your stay very memorable. Margaret, thank you for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and have the same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterS1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were up in Coopers Beach for Christmas and were lucky enough stay at Beach Lodge - a recommendation from a Kiwi cousin who knew the owner. The place is lovely - a great location overlooking the beach, really well appointed cottages and in Margaret Morrison one of the best hostesses in New Zealand. Despite not brilliant weather we had a wonderful time - the highlight of which was a long and jolly Christmas lunch with Margaret and her nephew.
Moss - you gave us a Christmas we won't forget in a hurry and which now sets the benchmark for our family - many many thanks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
1.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
1.3 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
1.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Lodge

Property: Beach Lodge
Address: PO Box 190, Mangonui | Far North 0557, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing