We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Prior to making a booking I looked at previous reviews which all said what a great place to stay. They certainly weren't wrong. We had a family wedding in Mangonui and booked 3 units for 3 and 4 nights. The location, layout and cleanliness of the units were superb. We thoroughly enjoyed the time spent together with family, bbq's on the lawn, swimming in the sea, flying kites, picking tua tuas, and not to mention the beautiful spas overlooking the sea. Mary and Alan were fantastic hosts right from the moment we arrived until sadly the holiday came to an end. We will certainly return one day and have no hesitation in promoting this beautiful place. Thank you Mary and Alan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Guest Relations Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi sorry about the late response. We were thrilled to host you with the family wedding. We still talk about the lovely time you all had here and were able to bring your family back for the evening bar-b-q. I am sure we will see some of your family back.

kind regards
Mary & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
91
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here in November 2014 with our 15 month old daughter and it was absolutely wonderful! We arrived late in the evening and our hosts were so generous bringing us a big basket of food (cheese, crackers, yogurt, bread and fruit) and wine to help us settle in that night and for breakfast in the morning. It was exactly the sort of hospitality that NZ is famous for. The apartment was terrific, and we were provided with a porta-cot and high chair (plus some lovely little books, buckets and spade etc) for our daughter. With a baby, the self-contained apartment had everything we needed (although no bath - we made do with the laundry sink though and it was perfect). The view is amazing and the location fabulous for a relaxing beach holiday. We would recommend By the Bay Beachfront Apartments without any hesitation and can't wait to go back very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be wonderful it is a lovely peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Guest Relations Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for those kind words and it was our pleasure to have you to stay with your gorgeous wee girl. Welcome back anytime to By The Bay Beachfront Apartments
kind regards
Mary & Alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband I stayed here for a few nights away after our wedding, and we were more than happy with our choice. Alan and Mary were so hospitable and welcoming. The three bed apartment was clean, modern, spacious, and very well-equipped. And you can't beat the view, so stunning! We look forward to returning at some stage in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kol
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went there for long weekend with my family and everyone absolutely loved it. Excellent rooms, fantastic views , awesome location and very very charming hosts. I am already looking forward to visit by the bay beachfront apartment sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayanKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spacious, clean apartment with lovely views over the beach and headland. We only had one night there unfortunately as it would have been nice to have had more time to enjoy the beach (which was right there at our doorstep), the kayak, and hot tub (situated looking over the beach). Great setting at a peaceful end of Coopers Beach. Close to Mangonui and shops. Very comfy beds. The lighting in the living area and TV reception weren't the best but we weren't there long enough for it to be a problem - (we did forget to mention these on our departure).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

All the ingredients to make a great stay.
Views, close to the beach....try 50 mts
Very clean rooms and no funny smells.
Pillows great too.
Very hospitable hosts Mary and allan .
Look at the rest then come to the best!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The three bedroom apartment was immaculate!...it was warm and cosy and ideal for a family with children. We relaxed after a long drive after work and the place was kept warm for us.The views were spectacular and we wish we could have stayed a few days more to explore the area...the bay is wonderful and the service is great...Thank you for a memorable stay! definitely recommend to those who seek privacy and comfort with wonderful views of the bay and beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annchand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Property: By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing