We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Family Holiday Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here in November 2014 with our 15 month old daughter and it was absolutely wonderful! We arrived late in the evening and our hosts were so generous bringing us a big basket of food (cheese, crackers, yogurt, bread and fruit) and wine to help us settle in that night and for breakfast in the morning. It was exactly the sort of hospitality that NZ is famous for. The apartment was terrific, and we were provided with a porta-cot and high chair (plus some lovely little books, buckets and spade etc) for our daughter. With a baby, the self-contained apartment had everything we needed (although no bath - we made do with the laundry sink though and it was perfect). The view is amazing and the location fabulous for a relaxing beach holiday. We would recommend By the Bay Beachfront Apartments without any hesitation and can't wait to go back very soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms would be wonderful it is a lovely peaceful location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Guest Relations Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for those kind words and it was our pleasure to have you to stay with your gorgeous wee girl. Welcome back anytime to By The Bay Beachfront Apartments
kind regards
Mary & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 181 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband I stayed here for a few nights away after our wedding, and we were more than happy with our choice. Alan and Mary were so hospitable and welcoming. The three bed apartment was clean, modern, spacious, and very well-equipped. And you can't beat the view, so stunning! We look forward to returning at some stage in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went there for long weekend with my family and everyone absolutely loved it. Excellent rooms, fantastic views , awesome location and very very charming hosts. I am already looking forward to visit by the bay beachfront apartment sometime soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SayanKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spacious, clean apartment with lovely views over the beach and headland. We only had one night there unfortunately as it would have been nice to have had more time to enjoy the beach (which was right there at our doorstep), the kayak, and hot tub (situated looking over the beach). Great setting at a peaceful end of Coopers Beach. Close to Mangonui and shops. Very comfy beds. The lighting in the living area and TV reception weren't the best but we weren't there long enough for it to be a problem - (we did forget to mention these on our departure).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJandSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

All the ingredients to make a great stay.
Views, close to the beach....try 50 mts
Very clean rooms and no funny smells.
Pillows great too.
Very hospitable hosts Mary and allan .
Look at the rest then come to the best!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Richardrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The three bedroom apartment was immaculate!...it was warm and cosy and ideal for a family with children. We relaxed after a long drive after work and the place was kept warm for us.The views were spectacular and we wish we could have stayed a few days more to explore the area...the bay is wonderful and the service is great...Thank you for a memorable stay! definitely recommend to those who seek privacy and comfort with wonderful views of the bay and beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annchand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

With some bad luck, it was wet and occasionally stormy during our three night winter stay at 'By the Bay', our first visit to Doubtless Bay. It proved to be a good spot for local touring, and on our second day we drove to Awanui to join a Sand Safaris bus trip to Cape Reinga (q.v.).
'Malindi' is the two-bedroom apartment above the Studio at the far end of the complex.
It's got most items that travellers these days need. It does not have a computer work station, so if you're re-charging, you have to use the dining table. There's a hot tub with a view over the beach.
The managers were really cordial and helpful from pre-booking to check-out.
We've told them our concerns over TV reception, lighting and kitchen ventilation rules. It must be a fabulous place in the summer.
Locally, Cooper Beach shops have everything one needs and it's only a short drive East to the other shops and Post Office at Mangonui.
We also really appreciated the special "three nights for the-price of two" deal. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_rua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
San Marino Motor Lodge
San Marino Motor Lodge
#8 of 9 in Mangonui
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range: $106 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing