We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Luxury by the beach”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom apartment. The room was perfect with an amazing view of the beach. The manager of by the bay apartments was very friendly and helpful. Our overall experience was excellent, I would definitely recommend this accommodation to others and will be back for longer next time.

The apartment also has a beauty therapy room offering fantastic massages while you listen to the waves crashing (very relaxing).

There is free use of kayaks, life jackets and spa.

A very pleasant stay... Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona F, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at By the Bay and hopefully you can come back and stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
91
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We returned to Doubtless Bay for our 31st wedding anniversary, this time to more luxurious accomodation. 'By the Bay' was just perfect for us. The view over the bay, the waterfront access, a choice of restaurants just round the corner or self catering in the apartment - there was everything we were looking for. The apartment TV and wi-fi were modern - a tech-head like me was in his element. Fiona was a perfect hostess. If we lived closer we'd be back more often than every 31 years.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merry-Heart56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is nice to receive good reviews like yours. I am glad you enjoyed your visit back to Doubtless Bay 31 years later. Lets hope we see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Thank you so much for making our honeymoon that extra bit special.
this was a great place to stay, service is excellent with lots of attention to detail. great location - BEACH FRONT. loved having the beach 10 seconds away, spa 2 secs, use of kayaks, surfboards, boogie boards etc, great local advice, friendly service, great massage... the list is endless. we will be back for sure! love this place and would recommend highly.
Thanks Fiona and By The Bay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPW888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hey guys thanks for a great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon at By the Bay and hope it was as memorable as the wedding day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

They let us check in early and they gave a a nice room at a great price. The front desk staff treated us like a four star hotel would treat you. The housekeeping staff were excellent too. Breakfast was good also. Great location!!

Room Tip: Rooms without a view are fine since you are walking distance to view the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for giving us an excellent review. We take pride in offering our guests the best service and glad that you enjoyed your visit to By the Bay. We look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

It's perfectly located with a few steps to the beach. The rooms are beautifully appointed with every thing you need. We stayed as a 'mature' family and my mother really enjoyed the paddle in the water, while the rest of us needed the relaxation time. The massage just topped off the perfect stay. It was a great place to see the top of NZ as a Oz traveller and wind down at the same time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at By the Bay.
It was lovely to meet your family and we hope you come back again soon.
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great spot away from it all and the apartment had everything you could need. The spa right on the beach topped it off. Would love to have used the Kayaks etc next time but the weather wasn't the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We are glad you enjoyed you stay at By the Bay despite the weather.
Hopefully you can come again when the weather is better and take the kayaks out.
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great 3 nights despite the weather - prime location on the beach, spacious 2 bedroom apartment, lavender and fresh flowers, very clean, private deck, fully equipped, even a coffee machine, Mangonui is a lovely seaside village, friendly locals, meal at Thai Chef restaurant was delicious and of course had to have fish and chips from the iconic Mangonui shop also very nice, massage at the in-house spa was wonderful,very aromatic and relaxing, outdoor hot tub fantastic even in a gale !!!! - my man was also impressed despite the weather ruling out the half day fishing - we could have stayed longer - will return. We were fortunate to take advantage of the stay 3 pay for 2 spring special - great value.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit despite the weather.
Hopefully next time you come the weather will be kinder. Great to hear that the massage in our on site Day Spa was a winner. Regards, Fiona (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
131 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Property: By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing