We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great spot away from it all and the apartment had everything you could need. The spa right on the beach topped it off. Would love to have used the Kayaks etc next time but the weather wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
We are glad you enjoyed you stay at By the Bay despite the weather.
Hopefully you can come again when the weather is better and take the kayaks out.
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great 3 nights despite the weather - prime location on the beach, spacious 2 bedroom apartment, lavender and fresh flowers, very clean, private deck, fully equipped, even a coffee machine, Mangonui is a lovely seaside village, friendly locals, meal at Thai Chef restaurant was delicious and of course had to have fish and chips from the iconic Mangonui shop also very nice, massage at the in-house spa was wonderful,very aromatic and relaxing, outdoor hot tub fantastic even in a gale !!!! - my man was also impressed despite the weather ruling out the half day fishing - we could have stayed longer - will return. We were fortunate to take advantage of the stay 3 pay for 2 spring special - great value.

Room Tip: All the rooms had a view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona2244FF, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit despite the weather.
Hopefully next time you come the weather will be kinder. Great to hear that the massage in our on site Day Spa was a winner. Regards, Fiona (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely Fab
Sunshine beach spa
Very clean wonderful service
Girls weekend package dont know should i tell cause its fab. buzz fizz on the balcony and sitting in the spa
Beautiful bathroom products
fully equipped kitchen
60 tv stations
coffee machine the list is endless
Unwind and relax

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishkiwi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona F, Manager at By the Bay Beachfront Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for the raving review. Loved having you here and glad you enjoyed your "pampering sessions" Please tell your friends and come back again soon. Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night only (should have stayed longer and booked in earlier had I known the quality)... Wonderful place set in the wonderful scenery of Coopers Beach and the Mangonui harbour. Our apartment was fully equipped with all the modern con's which is really lovely when you are wanting to enjoy your holiday...
The staff Fiona is pleasant and welcoming and always has a smile, highly recommend this place to rest and chill out if your wanting to do so...
Thanks heaps Fiona for a wonderful stay :) will definitely see you again in the new year when I take my next break...

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views and a wonderful sunset to admire on the balcony :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and without doubt had the best experience in NZ yet. The apartment was exeptionally clean and tidy with great amenities and the welcome we received could not have been friendlier.

The highlights for us were the location (overlooking Coopers Beach), the hot tub (also overlooking the beach) and the use of the kayaks.

A wonderful trip...we will be back!

Room Tip: The Maldini was superb!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Refreshing ocean Hot spa Sounds of birds and waves Great stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Recently had a couple of nights staying at By the Bay. The location is superb and Fiona was extremely helpful and always at hand. We ran out of time to use the kayaks and step down to the beach but had a relaxing spa and enjoying takeaways on the deck with superb sunsets. Excellent standard of cleanliness. Highly recommended for a relaxing stay with great views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Golden Sand Beachfront Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range: $109 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing