We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU WANT R & R THIS IS THE PLACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night only (should have stayed longer and booked in earlier had I known the quality)... Wonderful place set in the wonderful scenery of Coopers Beach and the Mangonui harbour. Our apartment was fully equipped with all the modern con's which is really lovely when you are wanting to enjoy your holiday...
The staff Fiona is pleasant and welcoming and always has a smile, highly recommend this place to rest and chill out if your wanting to do so...
Thanks heaps Fiona for a wonderful stay :) will definitely see you again in the new year when I take my next break...

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views and a wonderful sunset to admire on the balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 180 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and without doubt had the best experience in NZ yet. The apartment was exeptionally clean and tidy with great amenities and the welcome we received could not have been friendlier.

The highlights for us were the location (overlooking Coopers Beach), the hot tub (also overlooking the beach) and the use of the kayaks.

A wonderful trip...we will be back!

Room Tip: The Maldini was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcrombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Refreshing ocean Hot spa Sounds of birds and waves Great stay

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Recently had a couple of nights staying at By the Bay. The location is superb and Fiona was extremely helpful and always at hand. We ran out of time to use the kayaks and step down to the beach but had a relaxing spa and enjoying takeaways on the deck with superb sunsets. Excellent standard of cleanliness. Highly recommended for a relaxing stay with great views.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Located right on the beach, all apartments have elevated sea view. We have been here 2 times and stayed in 2 different apartments, the standard was the same: very clean, top class appliances and excellent furniture. The kitchen is much better than our one at home :)
There are a couple of kayaks for people interested in a leisure paddle or fishing, we went with the double one to Mangonui (about 3 km ) for a coffee.
Excellent beach at your door steep with fine sand in a protected harbor, great for kids. Also the warmer climate of far north helped as enjoy a swim in late April.
Helpful, five star manager Fiona will ensure your stay there is smooth and provide you with useful information about the place and area.
Tip: Try the sea view from the spa with a glass of wine at dusk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were lucky enough to fall across By the Bay with the help of the lovely lady from the lotto store in Mangonui. There were six of us...parents and four children (17 to 21). By the Bay was the perfect family location. Quiet, beach front access and use of canoes and kayaks... not to mention the lovely Fiona lending my hubbie her surf caster! The views were spectacular and the apartment we all stayed in was impeccably clean and well equipped with its own laundry facility. Spa pool overlooking the beach was a bonus. We will definitely be returning to see Fiona and Cleo (the four legged boss!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ange107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at By the Bay in the Willawong apartment, which we were upgraded to because no other rooms were free.

I think it's the best room, we saw two of the others. It was impeccably clean, beds were comfortable and warm, games, books, an abundance of towels for bathroom and beach. There was an abundance of everything, plates, cutlery, pots and pans. All very good quality, they even provided paper towels, glad wrap and tin foil, Apartment was literally home away from home, as others have said, you want for nothing. We had a balcony off our room and also one off the living area. Outdoor furniture was useful for eating with a beach view, just thinking of brings back fond feelings.

The view is breath taking, the ocean, the sound of the waves, it was magic.

On top of all of that, the manager is a lovely lady who is very friendly.

The beach access makes you feel like royalty and my kids loved the use of the boards and gear in the large shed full of things to use in the water.

The waves at the beach were fun for the kids and the water was very shallow and warm.

A perfect spot to get away from Auckland and the drive up was a lovely look at the rustic-ness of the Far North.

The decks aren't private, but we had lovely people around us so that didn't matter to us.

I miss this place and have rebooked for Xmas!!!

p.s. I do NOT recommend the Monganui Fish and Chips - totally over rated, seafood was not fresh. Go to the Fish and Chip shop by the 4 square and get battered scallops and mussles. A lot better value for money.

Room Tip: Willawong great for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFDJ UP FAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coopers Beach
0.5 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
San Marino Motor Lodge
San Marino Motor Lodge
#8 of 9 in Mangonui
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Bay Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Bay Beachfront Apartments

Address: 16 Braemar Avenue, Coopers Beach, Mangonui 0420, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui > Coopers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Coopers Beach
Price Range: $106 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By the Bay Beachfront Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments is absolute oceanfront setting with 3 large self contained apartments and 1self contained studio, can sleep up to 20 guests in total. Private access to the beach. Continental or cooked breakfasts available. Wifi, Cable TV and DVDs. Spa pool overlooking ocean and kayaks for guests to use. BBQs in a garden setting. You will think you are in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your By the Bay Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing